We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do you describe WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Tybee Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tybee Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Van Horn Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“How do you describe WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The moment my husband and I entered the stunningly beautiful Savannah courtyard of the Tybee Island Inn with its fantastic live oak and Spanish moss, we felt we'd traveled beyond Time and Space to a special place, and we certainly had The inn is like something from a different era, and it envelopes you with a sense of welcome and wellbeing. Our room was spacious, very clean, very comfortable, with a very large bed where we slept better than we have in years. The house has so many comfy spaces and thoughtful touches. There is a reading area with lots of books, maps, and old, interesting photos. A room off the kitchen has coffee, tea, snacks, and a refrigerator for guests, complete with ice cream. You can live on the front porch with its gazebo, swing, tables and chairs. We would have early morning coffee there before a pleasant walk to the beach to collect seashells and listen to the surf, cries of gulls, and watch pelicans skim the surface of the sea looking for a meal. It's a great place to jog, swim, or simply soak up some sun. Getting back to the inn, the owners, Cathy and Lloyd Kilday, represent the best in gracious hospitality, and they are a wealth of information about the island, history, wine and food. They are truly a Renaissance couple. As for the food---absolutely delicious! One example: our last morning, Cathy made scrumptious crab cakes with perfectly poached eggs benedict perched on top, hash browns, blueberry muffins, a mixed fruit cup, along with fresh coffee and juice. Your palate will be pampered at Tybee Island Inn, believe me. The island itself also has numerous restaurants, serving everything from steaks and seafood right off the boat, to nachos and pizza slices the size of Rhode Island. And you can get around Tybee Island in modified golf cart taxis for a few dollars per person. We never got back in our car after we arrived until the morning we left. And we were certainly in no hurry. Our entire stay was nothing short of wonderful. Thank-you Cathy and Lloyd, thank-you Tybee Island Inn, and thank-you Julie, innkeeper/cook/baker par excellence. As well as a nice person. I'm giving this review a five-star rating only because I can't give it six.

Room Tip: They are all good at Tybee Island Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    47
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
38
209
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Tybee Island Inn for our 1st anniversary and it was nothing short of magnificent. The staff and owners were very friendly and accommodating. The Inn is beautiful with gorgeous gardens and in a wonderful location. Restaurants and the beach are just a short 5-10 minute walk.

Erik and Stephanie Brendel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Tony & I went for our 3rd Anniversary and had the most relaxing time. The hospitality was fantastic and we couldn't wait for our 9am call time for breakfast. Gary is a fabulous chef and his personality was a lot of fun. Lloyd made sure we knew what attractions and events were going on near us so we wouldn't miss anything. At Tybee Island Inn we arrived as guests and left with new friends. That's a priceless experience anywhere you go. We can't wait to go back, even just to sit on the porch swing and relax.

Room Tip: Mermaid room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We are local to Savannah and wanted a quick getaway. After going through all the details with the owner on the phone, he said kids were not allowed due to another past guest’s child at the age of 7 writing on the sheets with a pen? I guess one bad apple ruins the bunch on Tybee. It would be nice to have that printed somewhere to save everyones time.Very unfortunate considering there are A LOT of parents that have very well behaved children and want to spend$ locally. Oh well, we will book elsewhere. It’s pretty said, because Tybee has the image that Savannahians don’t care to stay local and maybe little things like a set of sheets gives this opinion.

Room Tip: Make sure you discuss who will be traveling when booking.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LloydTybeeIsland, Owner at Tybee Island Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We gladly accept children over 7 at Tybee Island Inn. This has always been our published policy and it is appreciated by the majority of our guests who come to the Inn for an adult getaway. A 2 star review from someone who has never even been to our inn and who based their rating solely on a disagreement with our long standing policy is unwarranted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this B&B for our 20th wedding anniversary. Staff was wonderful and the breakfast was amazing. The grounds are so pretty and inviting. Easy access to the bench and local restaurants. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a most pleasant stay at the Tybee Island Inn over the Memorial Day week-end. Lloyd and Kathy are a class act - and Gary. . . don't get me started about his yummy cooking!! Each breakfast was made from scratch, and totally delicious. He also had a "little something" each afternoon for the guests (cake, brownies, etc.) - all were wonderful. The Savannah Room is at the back of the main level with immediate access to the back door - and was very cozy and comfortable. Nice bed, big-screen t.v., (but who wants to watch t.v. when you have the whole beach just a 5-minute stroll down the street), and comfortable bathroom. They provide beach chairs, beach hats and beach towels - everything you would need. We will definitely stay here again and are already looking foward to a future stay!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are up a pretty long staircase, so if you aren't good with stairs or don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautiful B&B and Gary is a wonderful cook so good in fact we only had to eat one other time during the day. He gave us some good places to eat and we loved it. Gary and Lloyd made our stay very special enjoyed our history lesson's. Thanks guys. We have shared this with our friends. Just sorry we had to return to the real world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Address: 24 Van Horn Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Captain, Savannah Beach and Coast Bird with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tybee Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.