We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Tybee Island Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tybee Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Van Horn Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a perfectly lovely Memorial Day Weekend! Absolutely LOVED Tybee Island Inn and it was made all the more special by Lloyd and Gary's personal attention to every guests wants/needs. We tried to bring Gary home with us (he makes a mean breakfast and butter pecan cake!) ... Will definitely tell everyone this is the place to stay... the beach was a five minute walk away .. the room was charming and clean. Thanks again, guys for a delightful time... can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    46
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
38
206
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riceboro, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was my first stay in a B&B..and I loved it. The owners were very friendly and pleasant. They also were very familiar with their surroundings, with useful suggestions on where to eat, shop, visit ect. We had a short, 4 minutes or less, walk to the beach. We could of drove, but too easy to just walk. And the beach was not crowded, very pleasant. I really enjoyed breakfast, what a way to start a day. The property was beautiful, just like you would expect a southern home to look like, big oaks and lots of foliage, very well maintained. I would stay at this inn again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We LOVED Tybee Island Inn. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The location was perfect for beach access. Breakfast was unique and delicious. Our room was bigger and more deluxe than we expected. We will be going back.
One more note: Staff was great in checking with us for food allergies.

Room Tip: The Captain's Quarters are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crandall, GA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Last month we spent another 7 nights at Tybee Island Inn. This was our fifth stay in almost 3 years and it never gets old. we make reservations with Lloyd well in advance and it's as simple as sending an email. He replies with a confirmation and we're good to go. We always book the Flamingo Room because we travel with 4 tiny Chihuahuas and this is their only pet friendly room. The room is small, but fine for us. There is a narrow spiral staircase leading to the bathroom so be advised if you have a bad back or knees. Plus, this room has it's own private parking and entrance with a small porch and garden for the dogs to enjoy. They also include our dog's names on the welcome sign at the front door, which makes anyone travelling with their dogs feel welcome. This time, Lloyd called us on our way down to advise us that he wasn't going to be there to greet us when we arrived, but the new innkeeper, Gary would be.
First let me tell you that the inn is by far the prettiest place on the island. The gardens are covered by moss hanging from the huge oaks overhead, It's a cool spot on a warm day, quiet, peaceful and beautiful.
Now let me tell you about Gary. We were travelling with our older, ailing Chihuahua, Blossom. We arrived on Saturday afternoon. Before breakfast the next morning, my husband went upstairs to ask Gary for a raw egg for Blossom. He was happy to whip one up for her and send it down with my husband. The next morning, I stepped out on the porch to go ask for another egg for her, and was so surprised to find a tray with a coffee pot, cups and an egg for Blossom sitting on the table outside our room! Not only were we surprised, it touched our hearts that we didn't have to ask, but Gary did this on his own. He did it every morning we were there!!! What a thoughtful, unselfish thing to do! We can't thank him enough for this. On another occasion when we thought we had locked our keys in the car, Gary was on the phone calling for help, but luckily we found the keys before his call was connected. Gary made it a point to visit with us, and our dogs and we enjoyed an afternoon in the gazebo with his Mother and Father who was visiting at the time. Gary is one of a kind and Tybee Island Inn is lucky to have him. Thank you Gary for all you did for us, and especially Blossom. Unfortunately Blossom passed away one week after we arrived home, so our next visit will be bittersweet, but we will be back. The hospitality here is beyond compare. Visiting Tybee Island Inn is like visiting with family. We worry about nothing when we're here. There cannot be another staff like Lloyd, Gary and Julie anywhere.
Gary and Julie's breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed them in the dining room or on the sun porch each morning. There was usually so much of it, I couldn't finish my plate. The afternoon snacks were just as delicious.
Beach Tip: If you're travelling with your dogs, they are not allowed on Tybee Island Beach. But you can take a scenic 45 minute drive over to Hilton Head, SC and take your dogs to Folly Field Beach or another dog friendly beach there.
Restaurant Tip: We have eaten at almost every establishment on Tybee, but on this vacation we are recommending, MacElwee's, Coco's Sunset Grill, Marlin Monroe's (see my reviews for each) and Bernie's Oyster House near the pier. If you are going toward Savannah, try Troy Mediterranean on Wilmington Island. All these restaurants had great food and exceptional service so we can't recommend just one. You'll have to try them all and judge for yourself but the Bloody Marys are the best at Coco's and the steamed crab legs and shrimp are the best at MacElwee's.
Lloyd, Gary and Julie go above and beyond for us, so there is no reason to stay anywhere else. Thank you so much for all you do for us. We'll see you again in a few months.

Room Tip: Flamingo is the only pet friendly room. Plus it's on the back side of the house so it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted by the friendliest innkeeper and a promise of a wonderful time and great breakfasts. Within 300 yds of the beach. Fabulous location in a neighborhood not on a main road. The grounds are beautiful and several degrees cooler beneath the flora and fauna. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the sea cabin room. It is along the side of the house and the bedroom, sitting room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Tybee Island is incredible and the Tybee Island Inn is an even better way to experience it! The Inn Keeper, is an incredibly friendly and helpful individual and not to forget an outstanding chef. The Flamingo Room was just what my wife and I needed, it had an outside patio with two rocking chairs and a huge porch swing. We spent a lot of time either just relaxing in that patio area or on the beach, which is just a very short walk away! If you have never experienced Tybee Island, you are missing out!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I chose a short visit to Tybee Island and Savannah to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, and, although the weather didn't cooperate, we had a wonderful time. After passing through the lovely front courtyard, we were welcomed to our room and given a short tour of the commons area, where the most delightful peach cobbler and ice cream were waiting for us. We made ourselves at home in the Mermaid Room which was tastefully decorated with that very theme in mind. We then took a three-minute walk down a lovely paved street to the boardwalk which led us to the beach. The blue "beach carpet" was rolled out to greet us and the little wooden two-person swing invited us to sit for a few minutes and enjoy the sounds of the ocean. Fortunately, the rain stopped just long enough for us to savor these beach moments. We loved having a newly-added bathroom all to ourselves, and we had a very comfortable night's rest. We awoke to the smell of fresh coffee and applewood bacon cooking in the kitchen. When we sat down to breakfast with the other guests, we felt so at ease. Breakfast included bananas foster French toast with a mixed berry compote, applewood bacon, mixed citrus juice, and all the fresh coffee you could ever want. It was delicious! The historic building turned B & B added to the ambiance. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: The Mermaid room was close to the commons area, but we were never disturbed. The bathroom was spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Address: 24 Van Horn Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Captain, Savannah Beach and Coast Bird with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tybee Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.