We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality for Pet Lovers (and other recommendations)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tybee Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tybee Island Inn to your Saves list
Tybee Island Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Van Horn Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Crandall, GA
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality for Pet Lovers (and other recommendations)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We just stayed another 7 nights at Tybee Island Inn and had another wonderful time! This was our 4th stay in 2 years. Upon arrival you are greeted with beautiful garden and enchanting moss covered oaks, like walking into a fairy tale. The Inn was immaculate as always, as were the guest rooms. Lloyd has done some great things with the Flamingo Room (our usual room), by adding a larger TV and adding a dresser to the foot of the bed. This is a small room with a narrow spiral staircase going up to the bathroom so if you have a bad back or knees, this room might not be your best choice, however it is the only pet friendly room they have. If you have your pets travelling with you, it's convenient to open the door and let them play in the fenced in garden just off the covered porch area. There are also 2 rocking chairs and a porch swing for you to enjoy along with the private entrance.
A different, delicious breakfast was served each morning and the 3pm desserts that were put out for your convenience was mouth watering! Our favorite of Julie's breakfast was the casserole made with bread. (We send our love and best wishes out to Kathy). We were also surprised when Julie added our dog's names to the welcome sign on the front porch! Nice touch to know that they were welcomed too.
We made it a point on this trip to eat somewhere different for lunch and dinner every day. Tybee Island boasts some great restaurants, Sundae Cafe, The Rock House Bar & Grill, Spanky's Beachside, AJ's and more. For an entirely different experience, check out North Beach Bar and Grill and try the seaweed calamari salad. The Crab Shack is a popular joint and even though we hadn't heard anything good about it, we decided to try it against our better judgement. We didn't like it at all, but we prefer more than boiled shrimp sprinkled with Old Bay seasoning.
Savannah is a short 20 minute drive away and it is beautiful at night. One late evening we were enjoying a walk around Colonial Park Cemetary and accidentally bumped into a ghost tour guide who told us some interesting facts about the cemetary and the best spots to set the Ghost radar off. For dinner in Savannah, we recommend the 17Hundred90 Inn, which might be considered a bit pricey for some but is well worth it. The Casbah Moroccan was a new and delightful experience for us as well, with a short walk to Leopold's Ice Cream afterwards. Belford's in City Market let us sit on the patio with the dogs for lunch (which was great) and they even brought the dogs a bowl of water without our asking them to. The dogs were welcomed in all the art galleries in City Market and on River Street. We also enjoyed Monterey Square with them both in the afternoons and evenings. Savannah being very pet friendly is a plus for us when travelling with our 4 tiny Chihuahuas. Savannah is never boring and there is always something to do. Don't miss Bonaventure Cemetary! Laurel Grove Cemetary is also interesting.
Since Tybee Island doesn't have a pet friendly beach designated, we drove an hour away to Folly Filed, SC where our little ones enjoyed playing on the beach for the first time. The beach was clean and well kept. It was a pleasant drive over so it didn't seem like we were driving that far. We highly recommend this beach for 4 legged fun in the sun!
Staying at Tybee Island Inn is like visiting family for us. Lloyd always has everything ready and we don't have to worry about a thing while we're there. We even got yo meet Sammy the Poodle on this trip! We're still in touch with friends we've made on our previous visits there. To Lloyd, thanks for your hospitality, we appreciate all you do for us. Making reservations with Lloyd is easy and any phone calls or emails are promptly responded to. The staff there is amazing at making everything perfect for us and we hope to see you again in a few months (if not sooner). Thanks for a wonderful stay! Lisa & Bruce, Blossom, Sebastian, Napoleon and Idabell

Room Tip: The Flamingo Room is small with a narrow spiral staircase leading to the bathroom. Might be hard on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    48
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
40
216
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I spent a quick night here in the Dolphin room. We loved it! Lloyd was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was wonderful- great bedding, nice TV with HBO, nice patio where we enjoyed a bottle of champagne to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. We had a fabulous time- we didn't want to leave. The gardens upon entry to the Inn are incredibly beautiful, and the food was good as well, not to mention having ice cream and cake for the guests for an afternoon treat! Every detail was attended to. A charming and eclectic little place. We would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, so it was quite private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What an incredibly relaxing vacation! From the delicious breakfasts to the attractive, comfortable rooms you just can't find a nicer place to stay on Tybee. The hosts & staff are friendly and eager to make your stay wonderful.

The Dophin Room where we stayed was charming & comfortable. From the moment you pull into the parking area you can feel the stress fall away. The deep porch with it's old-fashioned swing and comfortable rocking chairs overlooks a charming 'yard' that features a number of seating & lounging areas centered by a splashing fountain.

The Inn is an attractive mix of old & new. The Victorian structure is lovely and beautifully decorated with a comfortable blend of antiques and modern comfort.

This is the second year we have stayed here and we're already planning another stay.

Room Tip: Our room was located in the rear of the 2nd story and was very quiet & secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had such a great visit! The inn was wonderfully located within a short walk to the beach and a lot of excellent restaurants. It was also an easy, straight drive to Savannah. We are not typically the type to stay in small inns or bed and breakfasts, but were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was delicious, our room was clean, and the whole environment was peaceful and relaxing! We stayed in the Lighthouse Room with 4 adults - it was a bit snug, but still comfortable. Great room for a family!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at this charming inn! We have stayed at over a dozen bed and breakfast inns, and this one is our new favorite! We stayed in the Savannah Beach room, which has a very comfortable king size bed and a jacuzzi tub! Breakfast each morning was fantastic. We had an egg casserole and sausage with blueberry muffins the first day and a wonderful croissant french toast, bacon and a fruit and yogurt parfait the second day. The beach is just a short walk away. When you return in the afternoon there are delicious treats waiting. A chocolate pie the first day and a strawberry cake the second! We had a wonderful time and met some great people. Thank you Lloyd and Kathy, you have a magic touch! We can't wait to stay with you again!

Geoff and Kim

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Thank you Lloyd, Kathy and staff for making our stay a wonderful experience. It was just what we needed after a long time taking care of my mother-in-law my wife really needed this. You went the extra mile. We'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

This place was adorable and oh so comfortable, great bed and very nice room. The innkeeper and his morning chef, her name escapes me but what a fabulous place to spend some quiet peaceful time, easy walk to the cool beach! I really like the courtyard, the beautiful mossy oaks and the cool historic building. Great size space, and of course a wonderful bathroom in our suite!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tybee Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tybee Island Inn

Address: 24 Van Horn Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tybee Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty minutes from Savannah, a several minute stroll from the beach and two blocks from the Tybee lighthouse, Tybee Island Inn captures the beach casual essence of Tybee with style. Sleep Your Seashore Fantasy in king and queen guest rooms inspired by the sea- Mermaid, Dolphin, Lighthouse, Sea Captain, Savannah Beach and Coast Bird with private baths, air conditioning and cable TV. Other amenities include private decks, gardens, gazebo and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Tybee Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tybee Island Hotel Tybee Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tybee Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.