We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vicki's on Tybee

Vicki's on Tybee
1105 U.S. Highway 80, Tybee Island, GA
+1 912-786-9869
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 44 restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Now featuring Steam Pot and Low Country Boil platters for one, two or four! Offering Choice Steaks and a variety of Seafood dishes, including Fried and Boiled, Burgers, Wraps and Sandwiches. Full bar with frozen specialty drinks, wine, craft and domestic beer. Happy Hour Monday through Thursday 5-7 p.M.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were later getting there and were the only ones there not a good sign. The steaks were just OK and I didn't like paying seperately for side items that should come with the meal. Over priced for what it was. But the food was ok

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    31
    17
    15
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Skip Vicki's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My family and I visited Vicki's on Sunday evening. We got there around 6:30 pm and there was only one other couple in the restaurant. I too thought this should be an indication of the quality but we stayed anyway. Let me preface this by saying I have worked in food service on and off for the past 25 years in various positions. The hostess was very nice and properly dressed. The dining area of the restaurant was inviting and clean. The location is excellent as you see it almost as soon as you enter the island. Our waitress was pleasant but not very attentive. The time between placing our order and receiving our food was extremely long taking almost 45 minutes which was absurd in a restaurant that only had two other guests. My husband and mother ordered one of Vicki's signatures dishes of shrimp and grits. The grits weren't fully cooked and had a flavor of starch. The vegetables were mushy and no longer held any color, the shrimp had no flavor and the broth was bland with an underlying hint of grease. My mother couldn't eat it and sadly for the first time in her life sent something back in a restaurant. My husband ate it but he can eat anything. My aunt ordered the fried shrimp as did I and she also ordered a salad. The fried shrimp was good and cooked properly. The salad however was wilted and old looking. My niece and nephew split and order of the pound of steamed shrimp and it appeared as if they received way more than a pound. Their shrimp was flavorful and cooked well. We got two orders of fried okra and onion rings for the table and both were good. The prices and the fact that the sides were ala carte were disappointing. I have never been in a family restaurant that does ala carte, that is normally reserved for fine dining. Needless to say, I would not recommend Vicki's to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, KY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointing....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

While we were a bit late eating dinner (8:30ish), we were the only ones in the restaurant which should perhaps have been a warning. I have given this place an "average" because my husbands food (shrimp boil) was good. However, I had the Shrimp & Grits, and it was just barely edible. It is one of my favorite dishes so I was very disappointed.
I must say though, that our waiter was very, very nice and attentive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The food was sub-par. The cocktails were TERRIBLE. The service was slow and inept, but the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not how I wanted to remember Tybee Island”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

For our last night on Tybee Island we wanted to try something local instead of the resort restaurant. What a mistake. We were the only people in the place so the service was not a problem. The food on the other hand was not. I ordered the surf and turf which was to be a ribeye and lobster tail. What I did receive was a strip steak and lobster tail that was beyond inedible. Our server did say the mistake was hers for the steak and did not charge me for it, which was nice. The lobster tail on the other hand was so tough I could not get any meat out of the shell. I told the waitress and she said the cook said it is a muscle so of course it is going to be tough. I was shocked. I have had lobster a million times and NEVER had someone tell me it is supposed to be tough. He either does not know how to cook lobster or pulled a tail out of a plastic kids toy bin. Even though I did not eat it I was charged for it. It is an ala carte menu so you pay extra for your sides. My last dinner on Tybee Island was coleslaw. My name is Vicki too and I took a picture under the sign to commemorate our trip but I was too ashamed to post it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicki's on Tybee also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast

Been to Vicki's on Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vicki's on Tybee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.