We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tybee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tybee to your Saves list
Hotel Tybee
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Strand Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328 (Formerly Ocean Plaza Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel seems to have potential, but right now it really uncoordinated. We arrived at night and we were deeply confused because the road sign says the name is Ocean Plaza. The registration is in a freestanding building. The numbers on the doors don't match numbers on the wall beside the doors. They are not flexible with check out times. When I asked for a late check out, I was told I could have 15 minutes. There is an ocean on one side, but there is public beach parking in between the hotel and the beach. The parking lot lights shine in all directions, obscuring the beach view after dark. The pool is very small and the hot tub does not work. However, there is a tiki bar and fun music. The room was big and clean, with a balcony. The worst feature of this hotel is the restaurant. Although one can feel that it once had glamour days, it is run down, and the food is like a mismatch of school cafeteria fare. Today they had spaghetti, rice, and dried out, canned corn or green beans. The salad bar had lettuce, olives, and little else. The gumbo looked like concealed, tan gravy. The best service provider in the hotel was the housekeeper. She was friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
61
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is under remodeling. Our room was clean. The construction is necessary so we just overlooked it. The staff was very nice. Great location near the beach, pier, restaurants and shopping. Good access to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, today
Thank you for visiting Tybee Island, staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and that your accommodations were clean. We really appreciate your patience with our remodeling efforts. The process is nearly complete and just in time for our summer season. The contractors are finishing up some final touches and will be leaving us until this coming winter season. Next week our new guest room drapery will be installed. The new drapery systems will be a HUGE improvement. Two weeks after that our new bathroom mirrors will be here and we will finally be done with our Phase One improvements.

We'll look forward to your next visit. Until then...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel has a great location. It's at the pier and one block from shops and food. They are renovating so it's a bit of a mess but you can't knock them for improving. The room was relatively clean. The bathroom was the only part that could have used an update. For the money I would stay here again with older kids that can shower instead of take a bath and wouldn't be crawling on the floor. They have a pool but it's not anything worth mentioning.

Room Tip: Choose beach front. We chose inland and got a nice view of a dumpster
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, today
We really appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for your patience while we remodel the hotel. Since purchasing the hotel last year on July 31st we have been working around the clock making improvements. We have been addressing the hotel's bathrooms. This year we focused our efforts on so many items that we only remodeled approximately 50 of our 208 bathrooms. We selectively chose the bathrooms that needed the most attention and are testing our new design in them. This coming winter season we anticipate remodeling the rest of our bathrooms.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. We will look forward to seeing you in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel is being renovated so there was some noise, but not too bad. Rooms were comfortable. Internet service was not great, but I was told this is being addressed. A storm knocked the restaurant out of commission for a couple of days, but when I was able to eat there the food & drinks were good, the service pleasant.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, today
Thank you for vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Since your visit in April, our remodeling process has continued at lightening speed. All of our noisy improvements have been completed. We have almost finished all the improvements in the public spaces. We followed through on our promise to upgrade our wireless system. We now offer one of the best systems money can buy. Shortly, we plan on significantly increasing our bandwidth. The combination of the new WiFi system and increased bandwidth will ensure all our guests are able to have significantly better connectivity.

Thank you for your patience with our improvements. We will look forward to seeing you in the future. Until then...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I think it's a stretch calling this a Hotel. One of the elevators were down on a holiday weekend. The carpet in the elevator was dirty the entire weekend. Wi-fi would only work occassionaly. Oceanfront with a view of the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPBR Management T, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for visiting Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. The hotel's corridor carpets have just been completely re-carpeted. Just two days before our Memorial Day Weekend, we removed tile from our elevators and carpeted them. I think the beach and parking lots lead to a lot of wear and tear in the elevators. We will work extracting them weekly or bi-weekly to ensure they stay clean. We did have an elevator stop working over the weekend. This is far from a common issue at the hotel. Unfortunately, elevators always seem to get temperamental on long holiday weekends. I've never understood it, but it has happened a lot during my career. Since your visit, the hotel's restaurant tenant has announced they will be leaving. As a result the restaurant will be closed starting on June 3rd. We plan to fill the vacancy as soon as possible. In the meantime...we have 14 restaurants and 10 bars all within a two block walk of the hotel.

We hope to see you again later this summer. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great Location. Parking lot away from ocean beach. Right near main drag for bars and Restaurants. Definitely stay on the ocean side of the hotel unless you want to look at a parking lot. Construction going on so very noisy. Rooms are damp even with air condition turned up. Must be an A/C thing. Beds and service very good. Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Pick Ocean Side Room second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPBR Management T, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. All our noisy remodeling is complete. I cannot apologize enough and at the same time thank you for your patience. It had to be done and the project ran much longer than any of us would have liked. We have some "touching up" to do, but it won't be noisy. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and my amazing team members. I'm truly blessed to have an incredible group of caring professionals to help run this wonderful hotel. Please be aware that since your visit our restaurant tenant has decided to leave. June 3rd will be the restaurant's last day in operation. We are diligently seeking a new restaurateur to take over the facility. We have our fingers crossed that this will occur quickly.

We will look forward to seeing you back. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Took a quick Monday- Wednesday beach trip that was perfect! Hotel was clean, friendly and quiet! Beach is a quick walk and restaurants as well as shopping all within walking distance. The hotel restaurant had a great breakfast buffet and ate dinner there one night- excellent! Will certainly be returning!

Room Tip: 4th floor ensures quiet night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPBR Management T, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for visiting Tybee, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for your patience while we finish "Phase One" of our three year improvement plan. Since your visit, our tenant in the restaurant has announced that they will be closing on June 3rd. We will be working around the clock to locate a new tenant for our restaurant and bar.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tybee

Address: 1401 Strand Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328 (Formerly Ocean Plaza Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tybee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL TYBEE (formally Ocean Plaza Beach Resort) features 208 hotel rooms with easy beach access. Upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion.The HOTEL TYBEE is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. We also offer banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tybee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tybee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.