We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tybee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tybee to your Saves list
Hotel Tybee
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Strand Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328 (Formerly Ocean Plaza Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Not very clean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I think it's a stretch calling this a Hotel. One of the elevators were down on a holiday weekend. The carpet in the elevator was dirty the entire weekend. Wi-fi would only work occassionaly. Oceanfront with a view of the parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    49
    30
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
61
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great Location. Parking lot away from ocean beach. Right near main drag for bars and Restaurants. Definitely stay on the ocean side of the hotel unless you want to look at a parking lot. Construction going on so very noisy. Rooms are damp even with air condition turned up. Must be an A/C thing. Beds and service very good. Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Pick Ocean Side Room second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Took a quick Monday- Wednesday beach trip that was perfect! Hotel was clean, friendly and quiet! Beach is a quick walk and restaurants as well as shopping all within walking distance. The hotel restaurant had a great breakfast buffet and ate dinner there one night- excellent! Will certainly be returning!

Room Tip: 4th floor ensures quiet night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So of course I read the reviews for the hotel but being in a hurry I failed to follow my own golden rule; that is to disregard reviewers with only 1 review. In the first 10 reviews, there are 7 single reviewers and this is always suspicious. Right from the start I will tell you that the hotel is over rated in its current state.

We booked a 2nd floor room on the beach side for two nights and paid good money for it. I had read in the reviews that the hotel was under renovation but that does not excuse the up keep and condition of the room we were in.

The room was clean however there were some issues in the room. There is mildew growing along the edge of the wall and ceilings and it looks like it was painted over. The curtain to the balcony had some unknown black matter on it that we were scared to touch, the balcony door did not seal properly because it is out of alignment, the door to the room was not sealed good nor did it close completely by itself and there was the big ole bug squashed on the wall. I understand that the rooms are old but this does not mean they have to be un-maintained.

The good things about the room were; nice view from the balcony, friendly and helpful staff, sheets and linen were clean, the bed was okay.

Would I stay there again, but not unless I was guaranteed a renovated room.

A helpful Navigation Hint: If you follow your GPS to the hotel it will lead you down 15th Street and into the public parking area. The actual entrance to the hotel is between 14th and 15th street. There is a standalone building for checking in.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a decent view but the 3rd and 4th would be the best of course seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had such a great time at Hotel Tybee. It was nice to get our room early because I've been there all day and was exhausted. The staff were really nice. The scene was great. The room was comfortable. I plan on coming back soon.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. I'll certainly pass your praise along to my team members. I'm glad they were able to get you checked-in early. For the benefit of future guests that may read this review/response, we do our absolute best to get our guests registered as early as possible. During peak periods we often don't get the rooms turned over until between 3 - 4pm. Guests that arrive earlier in the day are issued parking passes, given access to our pools and can use the registration building's bathroom to change. Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you for years to come.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel is alright. They are doing a lot of work to improve the rooms and i think it will be a great place. However their "beachfront" view is obstructed by a public parking lot. All you hear is cars honking their horns and drunken fights in the parking lot. If you stay here dont spend the extra money on beachfront. Just stay on the backside. Its more quiet.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for staying with us over Memorial Day weekend. The kick off to the summer season on Tybee Island has officially begun. I'm sorry the beachfront view didn't meet or exceed your expectations. The parking lot is normally not an issue for our guests. Especially for guests staying on our third or fourth floor rooms. The first and second floor rooms can be impacted more by the parking lot especially on holiday weekends. In most cases the parking lot empties out by dinner time and allows for all our guests to have a relaxing night. I hope you will come back during a non-holiday period and experience a much more relaxing visit.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I have been coming here for years and am so happy to see all the improvements. The hotels new name and remodeling have been needed for so long. The new beds are amazing and the ocean view is worth paying a premium. The staff goes out of there way to make sure we had a great vacation and the room was super clean. We love this hotel, beach and local scene. We are coming back in August when the crowds start to thin out.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for visiting Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your repeated patronage. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed all our improvements. We have been working around the clock since purchasing the hotel last year. Our guests are raving about our new bedding and how comfortable it is.

We will look forward to seeing you in August. Thank you again for allowing us to serve you. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tybee

Address: 1401 Strand Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328 (Formerly Ocean Plaza Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tybee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL TYBEE (formally Ocean Plaza Beach Resort) features 208 hotel rooms with easy beach access. Upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion.The HOTEL TYBEE is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. We also offer banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tybee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tybee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.