We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tybee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tybee to your Saves list
Hotel Tybee
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Strand Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328 (Formerly Ocean Plaza Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had such a great time at Hotel Tybee. It was nice to get our room early because I've been there all day and was exhausted. The staff were really nice. The scene was great. The room was comfortable. I plan on coming back soon.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. I'll certainly pass your praise along to my team members. I'm glad they were able to get you checked-in early. For the benefit of future guests that may read this review/response, we do our absolute best to get our guests registered as early as possible. During peak periods we often don't get the rooms turned over until between 3 - 4pm. Guests that arrive earlier in the day are issued parking passes, given access to our pools and can use the registration building's bathroom to change. Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you. We hope to see you for years to come.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
59
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is alright. They are doing a lot of work to improve the rooms and i think it will be a great place. However their "beachfront" view is obstructed by a public parking lot. All you hear is cars honking their horns and drunken fights in the parking lot. If you stay here dont spend the extra money on beachfront. Just stay on the backside. Its more quiet.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for staying with us over Memorial Day weekend. The kick off to the summer season on Tybee Island has officially begun. I'm sorry the beachfront view didn't meet or exceed your expectations. The parking lot is normally not an issue for our guests. Especially for guests staying on our third or fourth floor rooms. The first and second floor rooms can be impacted more by the parking lot especially on holiday weekends. In most cases the parking lot empties out by dinner time and allows for all our guests to have a relaxing night. I hope you will come back during a non-holiday period and experience a much more relaxing visit.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have been coming here for years and am so happy to see all the improvements. The hotels new name and remodeling have been needed for so long. The new beds are amazing and the ocean view is worth paying a premium. The staff goes out of there way to make sure we had a great vacation and the room was super clean. We love this hotel, beach and local scene. We are coming back in August when the crowds start to thin out.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for visiting Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your repeated patronage. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed all our improvements. We have been working around the clock since purchasing the hotel last year. Our guests are raving about our new bedding and how comfortable it is.

We will look forward to seeing you in August. Thank you again for allowing us to serve you. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grant park, il
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a great location on Tybee. It is being remodeled right now so nothing is perfect yet. The remodeled room is very nice with crisp white linens and towels. We stayed 2 nights. No one came to clean our room on the second day but when we brought it to the attention of the staff it was taken care of. Desirae at the front desk was very kind and let us check out the room before commiting to the stay.
There is a very nice restaurant on the premises overlooking the beach. It is called AJs. We had dinner and breakfast there. It was very good.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We appreciate you vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for recognizing one of our new "rising stars" on our front desk. Dezirae is a wonderful addition to our team. I'm glad you enjoyed our location, restaurant and appreciate all your patience with our remodeling efforts. We will complete all our remodeling by the end of June. Please plan to come back later this summer to experience all our progress.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Summit, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Property is in the midst of a remodel. No toilet paper holder in the bathroom and no safety bars on the shower/tub. Large parking lot between the hotel and the beach. Slow internet. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. If the Do Not Disturb sign is out when housekeeping comes by they don't come back to clean the room later. You have to make a request to get the room cleaned or get fresh towels. Beach was trashy and crowded. Hotel staff was sympathetic but the problems were outside of their control.

Room Tip: To get a beach view you have to be on a higher floor. View from ground floor is of the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I would like to thank you for visiting Tybee Island and giving us the opportunity to serve you. On behalf of my entire team I would like to apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. We purchased the hotel last year at the end of the summer. Since then we have been working around the clock making a improvements to the hotel. I am very sorry your toilet paper holder hadn't been installed in your remodeled bathroom. The shipment of holders was delayed and our newly remodeled bathrooms just had them installed a week ago. Over the next month our new bathroom mirrors will arrive and complete the bathroom remodeling process. Since your visit, we have installed a state-of-the-art wifi system. It has virtually eliminated any connectivity issues and our guests are thrilled (so are we). As you mentioned, there is a very thin 100+ foot wide parking lot between the hotel and the beach. Our housekeepers are trained to respect Do Not Disturb signs and to go back through in the early afternoon to see if they have been removed. We also hang a door hanger stating that we tried to service your room, respected your Do Not Disturb request and that amenities/towels are available via the front desk. You mentioned ocean views from the hotel and I think it is very important to guest to understand that we offer breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean from our 3rd and 4th floors. The second floor rooms provide guests with a view of the parking lot, dunes and partial ocean views. The first floor oceanside rooms literally look out on the parking area and have no ocean view. As a result, we do not charge a premium for them except during holidays or events with fireworks in front of the hotel.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. I genuinely believe we could make up for this most recent experience...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swainsboro, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I visit Tybee a few times a year. Our current stay at Hotel Tybee (formerly Ocean Plaza) was relaxing and enjoyable. We were greeted with true southern hospitality by the staff John and Amanda looking rather sharp in their new blue island attire! The staff takes their time and answers each guest questions individually to the point of being your personal tour guide and restaurant reviewer!
I could see many great improvements on the property with more in progress. The staff goes out of their way to ensure progress does not interfere with a pleasant stay.
The hallways new carpet sure brighten up the walk to our room! We had a king partial ocean view room that actually had a nice view! The room had a new flat sceen tv and stylish bathroom vanity. The hotel pool has been newly painted and updated with it's own outside Tiki bar! Hotel Tybee is beach front and just a short walk to the restaurants, Science Center and the pier. There is a restaurant and bar on the property, Aj's Beachside that has great food and the best inside view of the ocean you will find on Tybee!
I hope you all enjoy your stay as much as we did and remember as you cross the bridge coming in you are on Tybee time where you leave your cares behind and life goes at a much slower laid back pace! BH

Room Tip: Third floor and some second floor has the best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for visiting Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recognizing the hotel's team members, John and Amanda. They make a great duo on the hotel's front desk. Amanda's only been with us for just over a week and is already one of the family. The new uniforms are a hit and are not nearly as stuffy as what we wore as the Ocean Plaza. I'm glad you enjoyed our location, restaurant and the amazing view of the ocean. We hope to serve you for years to come.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The renovations are great. My wife and I stayed in late April for our anniversary and the hotel and staff were great and the beach was fantastic. Was also within walking distance to many places. We also visited the lounge and enjoyed the view. we look forward to returning again soon.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Hotel Tybee, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you recognizing the hard work and dedication of my team members. They are absolutely wonderful. I'm also glad that you loved our proximity to the beach and local attractions. Like "they" say...location, location, location. We can't thank you enough for your patience during our remodeling efforts. We have been blessed to host so many caring and understanding guests. Across the board, our guests have been willing to put up with dust, debris and noise while we improve the hotel. Thankfully, it is almost completed. We are so close to the finish line that we can taste it. All but one contractor is scheduled to be done by next week and will be moving on. They too have been amazing group to work with and deserve huge praise for the quantity and quality of their work.

We will look forward to seeing you again in the future. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tybee

Address: 1401 Strand Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328 (Formerly Ocean Plaza Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tybee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL TYBEE (formally Ocean Plaza Beach Resort) features 208 hotel rooms with easy beach access. Upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion.The HOTEL TYBEE is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. We also offer banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tybee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tybee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.