We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Plaza Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Powder Springs, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean and Comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel this past weekend. The room was LARGE, clean and comfy. upon check in we were greeted by Reid. Super nice manager who listened to me babel, asked some good questions and listened to the answers. My girl friend and I were there for a little get away from life and children. With out asking he made sure to move us to the north tower away from all children... THANK YOU REID! The room was fully stocked plenty of towels, soaps, had we needed anything I am sure the staff would have done what ever to fulfill our needs.

We will be back thank you to you and your staff for a great night!

Room Tip: Talk with Reid
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Decided to stay on Tybee for one night. Chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings. Friendly, helpful staff. We picked 3rd floor, ocean facing room with a balcony. The room was very nice - loved the new color scheme - bed very comfortable - great pillows! We slept like rocks, which may have been from walking in the crisp, clear air. Great location - walked across the street for lunch at Sting Ray. We are very much beach in the wintertime people and this worked really well for us. Will be interested in trying the new A.J.'s restaurant when it opens at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for using TripAdvisor when choosing our hotel. We are glad you stayed with us and that you enjoyed your visit to Tybee Island. I really appreciate you mentioning the quality service that my team members deliver. They are a great group of caring professionals. We are so excited for "A-J's Beachside Restaurant and Bar" to open. The A-J's team will be spending the next month completing their remodeling plans. I anticipate them opening sometime in March. The addition of such a great restaurant to the hotel is something I know our guests will love for years to come.

Thank you again for the great review! Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't know why this hotel is called a resort because it is not. The only thing included in the cost is the parking. The hotel was clean and smelled acceptable. The staff was friendly. The pool on the grounds was never opened. I love the convenience to the beach. Which is amazing as I am a photographer and I had an engagement session on the beach. The beach is literally out of the back door. The beach goers got loud as they were coming back from partying but it wasn't a deal breaker. There was a lite amount of sand on the floor due to the traffic to and from the beach. There is an over-priced restaurant attached to the restaurant. I think it is called the Ocean Reef. The food was horrible. The bus stop that takes you to downtown Savannah is within walking distance. Overall all the hotel was ok nothing great. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and taking time to post a review online. I noticed that you stayed with us in July of 2014. Please know that the hotel was purchased on July 31st by a very caring and professional group of investors. Our company operates more than 30 award-winning hotels up and down the east coast. We appreciate all our TripAdvisor reviews, but yours is important to all of us on so many levels. I'd like to use this opportunity to address a lot of your concerns/observations and share our new direction with all the readers of TripAdvisor. Since purchasing the hotel my team and I have been working around the clock making improvements. Our #1 focus was on cleanliness and improving the maintenance at the hotel. Through hard work and dedication our team has turned the hotel around. The hotel went from #7 on TripAdvisor to #1 over the past 6 months. You mentioned the property is in no way shape or form a "resort". We couldn't agree with you more if we tried and will be addressing that issue in the months to come. I felt it was important to share our progress since purchasing the hotel. To date we have installed new large flat screen TVs, upgraded to HD cable signal, refinished all 208 bath tubs, replaced the bright goods in every bathroom, purchased microwaves, put on new roofs, and upgraded the hotel's boilers. One of the most exciting improvements occurred just this past week. We leased out our restaurant to Tybee's famous and incredibly popular "A-J's Dockside". Now Tybee will be proud to offer two amazing A-J's restaurants. Our new restaurant is named "A-J's Beachside" and is expected to re-open in March. In addition to all our accomplishments, we plan on the following improvements being completed by the end of 2015:
- install curved shower rods
- provide new soft seating
- both pools will be refinished
- new pillows and bedding
- increased bandwidth and all new high speed access
We are not stopping there! We have more exciting changes and improvements planned that I'm sure you will enjoy. Please plan a repeat visit this coming summer and experience all our improvements.

Hope to see you soon! Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is right on the beach. My wife and I went there out of season in October and the weather was great. Rooms are ok. Only complaint is about the breakfast, which is good but not great. Perhaps more fruit variety and better costumer service. Also, it is easy to go to Savannah for a city tour. Overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Request ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We really appreciate you staying with us and then taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. October is a great time to visit Tybee Island. The summer crowds have thinned out, but the beach and ocean water is still more than warm enough to enjoy. Since your stay, we have closed our restaurant for remodeling. It is slated to reopen in February or March. My team and I are very excited for the new restaurant to open. Please plan to come back in 2015 and experience all our improvements.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here right after Christmas. We were not aware that the restaurant was closed which was disappointing. However, there is a grocery store close by where we were able to pick up some items to get us through the evening and the nearby Sunrise Restaurant for breakfast. The room was basic but clean. The view from the oceanfront balcony was beautiful and access to the beach couldn't be simpler. Check-in was quick and pleasant. No complaints. Be sure to park where the front desk person directs you as the lot directly in front of the beach is city-run and there is a fee to park there.

Room Tip: Take the beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for visiting Tybee Island, staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. Our restaurant is slated to reopen in February or March. When it does...we expect it will be better than ever. By next week, I anticipate having a "big announcement" that our loyal guests will be thrilled to hear. It will be on TripAdvisor and our other social media channels. Be sure to "stay tuned"!!! Since purchasing the hotel in July, we have been addressing cleanliness and maintenance at the hotel. Our team has made HUGE strides. We hope you will come back this coming summer and experience our off-season improvements.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gave an overnight stay as a Xmas gift for our son who was visiting the area. He enjoyed and really liked it. Management was great in helping us make this possible, and really seem to want to make positive changes. Look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for allowing us to host your son while on military leave. I'm glad he enjoyed his visit to Tybee Island. On behalf of my entire team, we salute and appreciate your son's service to our country. In the future, please don't hesitate to reach out to me to book his visit. I'll ensure that he receives some additional upgrades/perks at no additional charge.

We really appreciate you taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Until next time...safe travels to you and your son.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While there is clearly more work to be done at Ocean Plaza, we had a very pleasant stay for New Year's Eve. We had a great view of the fireworks from our balcony and our room was clean and comfortable. It's not luxurious,but it is pleasant and certainly a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for the oceanview -- even on the second floor you have a clear view of the water and the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
HAPPY NEW YEAR! Thank you so much for spending the holiday with us and ringing in 2015 on Tybee Island! It was a GREAT fireworks display and really fun time at the hotel. Our guests enjoyed celebrating at the local restaurants and bars. Next year you will be able to enjoy our new restaurant and lounge. We are as you state "a work in progress". The week prior to your arrival we installed all new flat screen televisions and refinished all the hotel's tubs. Soon our new microwaves will be installed. Each week we are taking steps to improve the property and our guests experience. The truth is...we are only in phase one of a 2-3 year long remodeling program. The final product promises to be something really special.

Please plan on coming back this summer and experiencing our improvements. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Plaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Address: 1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Plaza Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort features 208 hotel rooms with easy beach access. Many upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion.The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. It was also voted Best Beach Destination by readers of Georgia Magazine. We also offer banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Plaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.