We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Plaza Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited Tybee Island on an off-season weekend and stayed one night at the Ocean Plaza. Great location, especially for a short stay. The hotel is located just across a narrow parking lot from the Atlantic, very near the pier and next door to The Breakfast Club, a popular Tybee Island restaurant. The hotel restaurant was closed for renovations during our visit. Generally, our room in the south wing of the hotel was comfortable and clean and offered a mini-fridge and coffee maker but no microwave. The decor in our room and in the common areas was a bit dated, and the common areas (especially in and around the elevators) needed some cleaning. Hotel staff members were friendly and helpful. New owners and management are working to update and upgrade the accommodations, so this lackluster review might be very different a year from now.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you pointing out that the hotel is clean, has a friendly/caring staff and a GREAT location. We are currently installing large flat screens in all our guest rooms. Later this week or next we will be installing microwaves. This off season we will be completing "Phase One" of a three year remodeling program. I genuinely believe that you will be impressed with all our improvements. Please consider coming back in 2015 and see how far we've come.

Thanks for vacationing on Tybee. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently returned from our first visit to Tybee Island. We had planned to stay in Savannah the entire time, however, a tour guide on one of the local trolleys recommended that we check out the Ocean Plaza! It turned out to be a great recommendation! It is currently the off-season on Tybee Island so we jumped at the opportunity to get a discounted top floor room overlooking both the beach and ocean. The ocean views were great! It was worth paying a little extra for an oceanfront room! The resort was working on expanding their beach while we were there and we enjoyed watching the process. The resort's restaurant was closed for remodeling so we ate at the nearby "Crab Shack" and "AJ's" and would recommend both - great seafood and fun, casual atmospheres! We also enjoyed visiting several of Tybee's shops and a few of their bars (all within a short walking distance from the resort). The hotel has new owners, who appear to be very proactive in terms of doing things to enhance the overall look of the resort (we were impressed)! We plan on staying at the resort again next year, for another getaway! If you are thinking of visiting the Savannah area, you really should plan to spend a few nights at the Ocean Plaza!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for vacationing on Tybee, staying with us and taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I'm so happy the tour guide recommended Tybee and our hotel to you. There is no doubt that upgrading to an ocean view room is well worth the additional dollars. The view from our 3rd and 4th floor rooms is simply spectacular. The beach expansion project has just concluded. We already had an amazing beach, but now it is world-class. Our restaurant is slated to re-open in February. I apologize for it being closed, but it was a necessary step in the process of improving the hotel. I love AJ's Dockside and the Crabshack. Both offer great dining, professional service and wonderful sunsets.

We will continue to make improvements to the hotel. This week we are installing new flat screen TVs and next week our focus will be on new microwaves in every guestroom. We hope to see you in 2015 to share our progress.

Happy Holidays and safe travels from your friends on Tybee Island.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I drove up to Tybee Island for a short weekend getaway from Jacksonville, Florida. We had a great stay at the Ocean Plaza--it was exactly what we were looking for. The service was great, the rooms were clean, the wifi worked well and the location was amazing. To wake up and sit on the balcony to watch the sun rise was really something special. We especially loved the fact that the pier is a short and easy walk, making for some really cool photos and people watching! One last highlight was the diner around the corner that we enjoyed a really great breakfast at right before we hit the road.

Overall, it was a great stay. The general manager, Brett, was really personable and explained to us there would be renovations done throughout the winter. I can't wait to return to see the changes and enjoy yet another lovely stay at this resort!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
It was so nice meeting you and your boyfriend! You make a great couple. I'm glad the two of you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. As you pointed out, the hotel's location is nearly perfect. For those guests that are up early, the sunrise from our ocean facing rooms is absolutely amazing. It is a short walk to the pier, shops, restaurants and nightlife. I apologize for our restaurant being closed. We are currently remodeling it and expect to open in February. Please consider coming back in 2015, we would love to see you again and to share our improvements. By the way, great photos!!! Thanks for sharing them on TripAdvisor.

We will look forward to your next visit. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this resort for two nights with my girlfriend and it was really cool. It's everything you would expect from a hotel : warm welcome, friendly and helpful staff, clean room, great location (beach, restaurants...).

I definitely recommend this hotel if you want to go to Tybee island !
Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us. We've only owned the hotel since July 31st and have been working around the clock making improvements. We are in the process of remodeling the hotel. Currently, we are implementing "Phase One" of a three year improvement plan. The end result promises to be a wonderful full service hotel. Our restaurant is closed currently to be remodeled and is expected to open in February. We hope you will come back in 2015 to experience all our improvements.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms could use updating, but for free parking, being beachside, and within walking distance, it's honestly worth it! Just don't mind the bit of sand in the carpet. I don't particularly recommend their restaurant for dinner but beeakfast was great

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We've only owned the hotel since July 31st and have been working around the clock making improvements. This coming off season we will be addressing a lot of areas to ensure your next stay is exceptional. Our ultimate goal is to be a "great hotel" that could be located on a mountain, the inner city or on a beach. We recognize what needs to be done and are diligently working to make improvements in all areas.

We will look forward to your next visit. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights for Halloween. The resort was great. Management was professional and courteous. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The view from the balcony was the best!! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us over Halloween and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the view from our hotel. We have officially started our remodeling of the hotel. This coming week we will be receiving microwaves and huge flat screen TVs for all 208 guestrooms. We can't wait to share our improvements with you.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here twice and really enjoy both Tybee Island and this property. It is dated, but it is clean and the staff are great. You can walk over to the beach (which is beautiful) the pier and the little shops at Tybee. The room is clean, and has a refrigerator and an older television with cable. The wi-fi is free and works great. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Of course, the ocean side is great but it costs more. I have stayed on both sides and found both qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your repeated patronage and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you had another enjoyable stay and can't wait to share our improvements with you on your next visit. We are installing new flat screen televisions shortly. Once that is completed, we will move on to improving our bathrooms, adding microwaves, all new bedding package, remodeling the corridors and painting the exterior. We have some additional improvements planned, but I'll keep those a secret until your next visit.

Thanks again for staying with us and posting such a nice review on TripAdvisor. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Plaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Address: 1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Plaza Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort features 208 hotel rooms with easy beach access. Many upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion.The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. It was also voted Best Beach Destination by readers of Georgia Magazine. We also offer banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Plaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.