We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Beach Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Plaza Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Roswell, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Typical Beach Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The good: The staff at the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort gets 5-stars. Very accommodating, friendly & helpful. The location of the hotel is quite good - a short walk to the sandy beach of Tybee Island with several restaurants and shops all within walking distance of the hotel.

The not-so-good: Understand that the word "resort" is used quite loosely. Not sure what year this hotel was built, but my guess would be the 1960's. It's a rather generic hotel, typical for a beach hotel...and if you're looking for a 5-star experience at a 2.5 star price, this certainly is not the answer (then again, does that exist anywhere?). Hotel was clean but things looked quite dated...not sure what year the beds were last replaced, but the ones in our room look like they had been there quite awhile.

In the final analysis, you get what you pay for. Would I stay there again? Sure, as long as the price is right and your expectations are in-line.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We appreciate you visiting Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. The hotel was purchased on July 31st and we have been working around the clock making improvements. This winter season we will be remodeling and improving many aspects of the hotel. Thank you for recognizing the great team we have at the Ocean Plaza. They are absolutely incredible.

I hope you will plan to revisit us in the spring or summer of 2015. I think you will really enjoy the progress we've made. Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
niagara falls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Beach Plaza Nov. 9 for two nights. We really find Tybee island very relaxing. We enjoy the quiet of the island in the off season as they say Tybee Time. Chrystal was great at check and John helping reserve on the phone. Hope to return in the winter. As we head back to Florida. We drove into Savannah for the day then back to the island for drinks and dinner within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We can't thank you enough for allowing us to host your "Tybee Time" and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for recognizing the hard work and dedication of my team members. I'm blessed to have an amazing group of caring individuals at this hotel. We have just started the remodeling process. We can't wait to share our improvements with you.

Hope you have a great winter! We'll see you soon...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A local laughed when I told them I was staying here. But apparently, the Ocean Plaza is under new management and undergoing renovations. I found the "new" Ocean Plaza to be clean, quiet, comfortable, up-to-date and friendly. The linens and towels were plush and clean and obviously new. My king-sized bed was comfy. I could lay in my bed and watch the waves crash on the beach. And I was steps from the beach itself and the Tybee Island Pier.

I was also within walking distance of tons of restaurants and shops. (Be sure to check out "The Breakfast Club" next door! O.M.G!) Thankfully, Tybee Island is still warmly and comfortably southern shabby! Seriously, I could not have been happier.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We really appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I LOVED your story about the local resident...thank you for sharing it with me personally. We recognized at the time we purchased the hotel that it needed significant improvements. We also recognized that it had developed a poor reputation. We have made huge strides in the right direction both with the hotel itself, the staff and improving our reputation. One employee recently shared with me, "I love coming to work and can't believe how far we've come in such a short time." Honestly, the improvements across the board have been nothing short of amazing. I am blessed to have the best group of caring hospitality professionals that I've ever had the pleasure to work with. This week we have officially started our off-season remodeling program. I have no doubt that you will be incredibly impressed with our efforts over the next few months. Please plan a return visit in 2015. Thanks again for the great review. It is really appreciated.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Mo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were older but nice and clean. The owner says a remodel is in progress. I would bring your own pillows until this place is revamped, they need better pillows. Be aware the hotel restaurant is also closed for the remodel. There are two nice restaurants in easy walking distance. The Breakfast club and the Sunrise Restaurant. We had breakfast at the Sunrise. The breakfast was very good and affordable, 15 dollars for 2 folks with drinks.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for acknowledging that the guest rooms are clean and well maintained. Since purchasing the hotel on July 31st my team and I have been working diligently making improvements. As part of our "Phase One" remodeling of the hotel, we will be drastically improving our beds. In addition, we will be ordering all new pillows. Each bed will offer a combination of both firm and soft pillows. I apologize that our restaurant was closed, but it is a necessary step to upgrading the overall guest experience. Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you. We hope you will come back in 2015 and experience our improvements.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Burke, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent last weekend at the Ocean Plaza and couldn't have had a better time. The view of the ocean from the 4th floor can't be beat. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the towels and bedding appeared to be new. All the staff were super friendly too. It's obvious that the new owners are working hard to improve the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for vacationing on Tybee Island, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Since purchasing the hotel on July 31st my team and I have been working around the clock improving housekeeping and maintenance. Next week we start our "Phase One" of our extensive remodeling program. We are incredibly excited for the future of our hotel. Please consider a return visit in the Spring or Summer of 2015 to experience our improvements.

Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blasdell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for a last minute vacation and was not disappointed! The rooms were clean, the towels plentiful and the location was great! We had ocean view rooms and could sit out on the balcony and had a gorgeous view of the ocean. We didn't need to drive to go anywhere (unless of course we wanted to). There were plenty of restaurants and shops right within walking distance. The pier was just steps from this hotel as well as the area with all of the bars and restaurants. I can't say enough about this hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely get the ocean view, it's worth the extra money. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We really appreciate you vacationing on Tybee Island and taking time to post a review of your stay. As you mentioned, our location is borderline "ideal". We are literally steps away from the ocean and offer breathtaking views from our 3rd and 4th floor rooms. There is nothing better than waking up, enjoying coffee on your private balcony and watching dolphins swim up and down the beach. We've only owned the hotel since July 31st and have been working around the clock making improvements. Next week we kick off our remodeling program. Please consider "liking" our facebook page where we will be posting regular updates on our progress. We would love to share our improvements with you in 2015.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are dated but clean. Needs some upgrades which the manager said were on the way. A flat screen tv would have been nice. The wifi connection is like watching grass grow. At times, smoke signals would have been quicker. We were on the 4th floor and had a great view. Problem.
Only one elevator goes to the 4th floor and guess what? Yep, it broke. Had to walk down one flight of stair and take that elevator. Wasn't a problem until time to load up and leave.
On the plus side, many shops and restaurants are within walking distance which is good because anywhere you park in the city, you have to pay for parking.
I would probably stay there again but only on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrettLoehr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We cannot thank you enough for vacationing on Tybee Island, staying at our hotel and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize for the elevator breaking down. The rooms tower you were staying in was originally built as a three story structure. When the forth floor was added, they added a second elevator but kept the original elevator only going to the third floor. Since purchasing the hotel on July 31st we have been addressing maintenance and housekeeping throughout the hotel. This was the first time the elevator has gone down and does not appear to be a chronic issue. Our other rooms tower has two elevators that both reach the fourth floor. I'm glad you enjoyed our stunning views and proximity to all the local restaurants, bars and shops. We will be replacing all the TVs in the hotel with new flat screens. In addition we will be enhancing our channel lineup and providing HD channels. I was tickled to read that despite the elevator issue that you would come back. Please plan a visit in the spring or summer of 2015 after we complete "Phase One" of our three year improvement plan.

Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Plaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Address: 1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Plaza Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort features 208 hotel rooms with easy beach access. Many upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion.The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. It was also voted Best Beach Destination by readers of Georgia Magazine. We also offer banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Plaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.