We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the professional pics fool you” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Plaza Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Don't let the professional pics fool you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I looked at the professional pics after staying there and was shocked. Those nice pics were NOT the hotel we stayed at. We stayed at a dirty crap hole. View from restaurant was nice, as was the location, but a dirty bathroom with hair and mold and carpet I didn't even want to walk barefoot on were not. Pool was closed the whole time and I ended up going to walmart to buy my own sheets to sleep on. Will NEVER stay here again. Yuck

Room Tip: Choose a Tybee cottage instead of a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

For the price I was a little disappointed. Rooms seem dated. The rooms were dirty (booked two of them). Had to call housekeeping due to the tub being filthy and housekeeping didn't even touch behind the headboards and all the layers of cobwebs.

Location to the ocean is perfect.

Dolphin Reef restaurant was good as far as the food. The breakfast staff seemed like guests are an inconvience.

I hope the little things improve for them but likely will not visit their location again.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPBR Management T, Owner at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. I apologize for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. We purchased the Ocean Plaza Beach Resort on July 31st. My team members and I have been working around the clock to improve the hotel. Please know that we recognize the need for remodeling the guestrooms and bathrooms. We have designers arriving next week. We will be implementing their plans over the next few months. I'm glad you liked our location and food. We are working with our restaurant team members on the importance of offering quality service consistently. I will be reviewing your post personally with the breakfast team. I genuinely hope that you will re-consider staying with us in the future. We are dedicated to earning back your business. Thank you again for the opportunity to serve you.

Safe travels,
Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This property is a short walk across a small parking walk, up the boardwalk to go over pretty dunes and you're on the clean, lovely beach of Tybee Island! We went to check in and realized we had booked the night before by mistake. The very accommodating front desk worker quickly changed my reservation to the current day with no attitude, no extra charge and no problem at all! Wonderful! He said the property has new owners who plan a total renovation. The existing facilities and rooms could use a little refresh so this place will only go up, up, up! The location is super and all that is currently there is clean and well-maintained. Staff is very accommodating. There are local shops, restaurants, activities and beautiful water there on Tybee with Savannah just 30 minutes away with much to do and see. This is a great place for an over night stay or a longer vacation! Can't wait to come back! Many thanks for a nice stay!

Room Tip: Try to view the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We just had our daughter's wedding at Tybee and this was a hotel,on the beach. There is a parking lot between you and the beach but this resort is in great shape; very accommodating. There's not a lot of night life on Tybee for younger people; but lots of fun relaxing places for the boomers! The hotel is a great family location.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPBR Management T, Owner at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We cannot thank you enough for letting us host your daughter's wedding. I'm so happy that everything went well. WE ABSOLUTELY LOVE WEDDINGS! My team gets so excited about hosting family celebrations. Since purchasing the hotel, I remain amazed at what an incredible team I inherited. They are hands down the hardest working and most caring group of professionals that I've ever been affiliated with. Please let your daughter know that we would be honored if she would come back to celebrate her first anniversary with us. Thank you again for the opportunity to be part of your family's special day.

Hope to see you again. Until next time...safe travels!

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about this hotel was the parking was free, so you can park your car with no worries and walk to the beach in a few short steps, walk to great food in a few short steps. All the tourist shopping is right next to the hotel. The pier is right at the hotel. And the view from the Dolphin Reef Restaurant is amazing! We went there for drinks and watched the sunset. It was beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPBR Management T, Owner at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for staying with us and posting a review on TripAdvisor. I cannot begin to tell you how many guests share with me their "love" of our ample parking lot. Personally, I absolutely love vacations that don't include driving. I like to get to my destination and relax. When I decide to go somewhere, I lean toward a taxi or preferably by foot. The Ocean Plaza has the absolute perfect location for vacationers that share similar interests. The beach, nightlife and shopping are all in easy walking distance.

We can't wait to see you again in the future. Until then...safe travels!

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just returned from staying there spent time watching renovations that are still being done. Great location. Great staff and service. Can't wait till we go again so I can see what more they have completed. Shops pier and places to eat within two minutes walking beach close as in a public parking all between room and beach. Keep up the great work ocean plaza.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPBR Management T, Owner at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We really appreciate you visiting Tybee and staying with us. Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience. The improvements that are currently underway are really just setting the stage for what is to come. We are so excited for the real dust to start flying. We will regularly be updating our Facebook page with updates. Please feel free to "like" us on Facebook and become an official fan of ours. We cannot wait to share the improvements with you.

Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a weekend get away. Based on the reviews I had read this is a property going through renovation. It did feel outdated however I had no concerns with cleanliness. The location is in the middle of everything in Tybee so you never have to get in your car again until it's time to leave. This is a great little town and if you're looking for a 2 or 3 day escape from Atlanta this is a decent hotel for the trip. If you're staying longer get one of the many vacation rentals on the island but this is a perfect place to shower, sleep, and plan your next excursion. I look forward to seeing what the new management does with the place, we will be back.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPBR Management T, Owner at Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for visiting Tybee, staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are committed to providing an outstanding vacation value to all of our friends in Atlanta. We continue to finalize our remodeling plans for this winter. Some items are already in the works. Some are fun and exciting...others (new roofs) not so much so. Please like our Facebook page and follow our progress this winter.

Hope to see you again! Until next time...safe travels.

Brett
Owner/General Manager
bloehr@linchris.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Plaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Address: 1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Plaza Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort features 215 hotel rooms, suites, and luxury condos with easy beach access. Many upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion.The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. It was also voted Best Beach Destination by readers of Georgia Magazine.Enjoy breathtaking views from the award winning Dolphin Reef Restaurant & Lounge. We offer full service banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Plaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.