We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; okay everything else.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ocean Plaza Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ocean Plaza Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Tybee Island
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location; okay everything else.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We got married on Tybee, and most of our guests as well as ourselves stayed here. The hotel, overall, was nice but nothing fancy. Being right on the beach was great and we sprung for the Oceanside room, which was worth it to me. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, and the food was okay. Everyone who worked here was super friendly, and the rooms were clean.
One side note is that having so many different people staying here we noticed some inconsistencies in the rooms: some had flat screens, some didn't... That kind of thing. We also had some kids come in on our last night here and could hear them running up and down the halls.
Overall, our experience was good, and we'd stay here again. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    105
    107
    100
    109
See reviews for
167
178
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am thrown off by the name "resort". I enjoyed my stay but there is nothing that indicates that you are staying at a resort. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and security officers were there at night. The access to the beach was very convenient. There are two pools on the property but I spent my time at the beach and sight seeing in Savannah. There was a pool bar but I never saw it opened during my stay. The air conditioner unit was noisy but it wasn't a deal breaker. I will stay at this hotel when I return to Tybee Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Well this is my second time to Tybee island and wanted to try a new location for a good price. Your right on the beach with a view or not. Unfortunately you have to pay more for the view. I didn't care cause I knew I could walk outside and the beach was there. The room was spacious and clean but I always bring my own supplies. Lol. Not a fan of the restaurants there. Rather drive downtown. I would definitely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff was great and really nice, BUT the hotel was not NOT!! Outdated, like stepping back into the 70's. In our room the you could not walk barefoot on the carpet because if you did the bottom of your feet would turn black. The bathroom floor was icky to walk on, we had to place a towel in there to stand on. The Dolphin Reef resturant that is in the hotel was just as bad if not worse!! We had to wait an hour to get our food, and when we did it wasn't fit to eat. The fish smelled bad, was scared to eat it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastman, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Oceanfront Plaza is a great, family-friendly resort. We were there for a short stay but had a great time. The beach is easily accessible and there were 2 pools. We only used the one behind the registration, but the other one looked just as good. The pool bar was not opened at all during our stay which was a little disappointing, but we still had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been going to Ocean Plaza in Tybee Island for years and always choose this hotel because it is comfortable and is right on the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful also. I will always choose this hotel when visiting Tybee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is dated and in desperate need of a major overhaul. Hire a decorator!! We had one incident where the police were out in force in the parking lot/hotel as a result of one of the guest....not sure what that was about.

That said it is in a beautiful location....be sure to get your room on the 3rd floor or above and on the beach side.

Room Tip: Third floor or above, beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Plaza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Ocean Plaza Beach Hotel
Ocean Plaza Beach
Hotel Ocean Plaza Beach
Address: 1401 Strand, (Oceanfront at 15th Street), Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Plaza Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort features 215 hotel rooms, suites, and luxury condos with easy beach access. Many upper level rooms offer a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean and the Tybee Pier & Pavilion.The Ocean Plaza Beach Resort is located just steps away from miles of white sandy beaches, rolling sand dunes, and the Atlantic Ocean. Tybee Island is a land rich in natural beauty and American history that is 20 minutes East of Historic Downtown Savannah. It is secluded from the rest of the world by picturesque Romerly Marsh. Tybee Island was recently designated America's Healthiest Beach by Health Magazine. It was also voted Best Beach Destination by readers of Georgia Magazine.Enjoy breathtaking views from the award winning Dolphin Reef Restaurant & Lounge. We offer full service banquet/conference facilities to accommodate any event from 10-200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Plaza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Plaza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.