We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Desoto Beach Terraces, Tybee Island Georgia

Saved Save
You added Desoto Beach Terraces, Tybee Island Georgia to your Saves list.
3rd floor view
3rd floor terrace
Tybee Island
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DellaLoui...
Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Convenient to the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This is the second floor terrace which is one house away from the beach. The house in front impairs the view a bit but there is still plenty of sea view from the windows and deck. Being so close to the beach was great. It was nice to be able to quickly go back from the beach to get anything during the day. We also used the hotel pool which was heated and was very comfortable. The unit was spacious with two bedrooms with an additional day bed and trundle and two bathrooms. The only issue I had was the kitchen was a bit light on equipment and what was there didn’t work particularly well.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Proximity to the Beach
Liked least: Kitchen Utensils
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
1445gmdlb...
Longboat Key, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed on Tybee at the Desoto Terraces, top floor, 2 bedroom unit in July. The unit is fairly spacious, the view is nice, but looks over he roof top of the house in front which is directly on the beach. The vreanda/lanai is spacious, however, the furniture cusions are filthy and need replacing or a good cleaning. The two teak rockers were great, though cushions would be nice.. The living room furniture also needs serious cleaning. Furnishings are "beachy", however, on our first night the king bed in the master literally fell apart. Upon investigation, it had been "rigged" together previously. It was fixed the next afternoon. The wood/laminate floors are nice, but the rugs are filthy and fraying-we tripped over them several times. Stack washer/dryer is nice. Kitchen is open, but very basic. Soap, paper towels, etc were provided.
If you are view conscious, do not bother with the first or second floor units. There is a very small, slow elevator. It is literally about 3X3 feet. Took several slow trips to retrieve our gear.
The beach is OK, definitely nothing great. It was nice watching ships pass on the way to Savannah. Tybee itself is old, run down, and dirty. Restaurants are not great-and we love "seafood dives". It looked as though these places were re-burbished fairly recnetly, but have taken a beating since. Will not return to Tybee or The Terraces.

1 of 5 stars Value 2 of 5 stars Rooms
2 of 5 stars Location 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
1 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ztlkel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location with a great view on Tybee Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

A very short walk to the water. We had a beautiful view from every window. The front porch balcony is A great place to relax and enjoy the ocean as well. We spent our days in the ocean and had dinner out each night at the local restaurants. We were able to make our breakfast and lunch each day in the kitchen that had e everything we needed. Thank goodness for the washer & dryer, it was a lifesaver for all the towels and clothes we were using daily. The kids enjoyed our stay and it felt very safe and we were surrounded by families enjoying the same. We will be back...

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Short walk to the beach
Liked least: No problems at all
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$270
/ Night
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Desoto Properties
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing