We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boy Scouts loved Fort Pulaski!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Pulaski National Monument

Fort Pulaski National Monument
Fort Pulaski Rd, Tybee Island, GA 31410-0757
912 786 5787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Tybee Island
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Military Bases/ Facilities, Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fort, built in 1829, offers historical tours.
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Boy Scouts loved Fort Pulaski!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Troop 26 visited Savannah over MLK wknd in Jan.'13. (see my other reviews on Old Fort Jackson, Tybee Island Lighthouse, Savannah Ghost Walk and Mighty Eighth Air Force Museum). They shoot cannons most every day so make sure you're there before noon! Our boys had a great time exploring the fort and taking pictures. The fort is well-preserved and very interesting and the museum is also very nice with a short movie to watch while you wait for your tour. You'll need at least two hours if you take a guided tour. We also hiked through the woods to see the lonely little Cockspur Lighthouse. We're scouts, of course we're going to hike! We spent several hours there--more than we budgeted for, so take your time and enjoy it all. You pay at the gate when you go in.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    255
    33
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rincon, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day with History and Magic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Decided to take a ride to see something different then the typical tourist traps. The park is so very well maintained with the nicest park rangers. No areas that are closed and you can see all the historically areas and experience all the magnificence of the age. Such a hidden jewel of the South.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We took the tour offered by a National Park ranger. Learned a lot about the fort construction and the civil war.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Historic Fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fort Pulaski is in great condition and is definitely a must-see if you are staying on the island. We arrived just as the guided tour was starting so we decided to tag along. Our tour guide knew a lot about the history of the fort, but the things he didn't know he just sped right on over and kept moving along with the story. It was actually quite entertaining and we got a few laughs out of it. It was amazing to see the different rooms of the fort and to learn what each one was used for. In some rooms they have it set up like it was back in the day which gives a nice visual. If you climb the stairs to the top you can get some pretty great views and even see nearby South Carolina. Make sure you stop by the cemetery before you leave. Oh, and don't walk along the water. According to our tour guide they sometimes have gators swim in moat and they have been known to come out of the water after people (a little scary).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a great fort to visit and one I had never heard of.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would highly recommend you take the tour and time to visit this National treasure. There is a musket firing after noon and I think other times. Great guided tours in a beautiful setting and the main fort is hidden behind dirt mounds, make sure you visit this fort.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Pulaski National Monument also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Fort Pulaski National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Pulaski National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.