We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Pulaski National Monument

Fort Pulaski National Monument
Fort Pulaski Rd, Tybee Island, GA 31410-0757
912 786 5787
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Tybee Island
Type: Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Military Bases/ Facilities, Historic Walking Areas
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This fort, built in 1829, offers historical tours.
IVA, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Need to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Been to Savannah and Tibee Island several times and would not take the time to stop. Big mistake!!! Well worth the money (only $5/ person).

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    210
    31
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I like a good, historic military fortress as much as the next guy, and Civil War locations in particular, but Fort Pulaski was really outstanding. The architecture is more than impressive, the grounds and setting beautiful and immaculate, and the story behind its rise and fall gripping.

Excellent guided tours by National Park pros, or wander on your own. They have a nice little theater with an excellent short movie that tells you all you need to know about its history. The brickwork is awesome; the many cannons like silent sentinels.

One of the best, and cheapest, attractions around this area, and one of the better historic military sites I have seen in my travels along the east coast of the good 'ol USA. Second only to Gettysburg.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experience history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Take a walk on the upper deck and look away to Tybee like the Confederates did as they beheld the cannonballs coming their way. Take time to walk around the exterior and see a shell still stuck in the exterior wall.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A LOVELY TIME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

A cool cloudy day set the stage for a wonderful tour by a confederately dressed older gentleman who could easily have been a history prof. He made the tour real and left us both wanting more. A great place to understand our history. We also stayed for the musket firing demo which made the whole visit memorable. We can only be glad that we have preserved places like this in our country so all generations can enjoy it( although some kids on this tour were more interested in texting and seemed bored).

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Informative, Relaxing and Fun Afternoon for Teens and Adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Fort Pulaski is an easy drive from both Tybee Island and Savannah. It would be boring for smaller children, but is perfect for teens and adults. I recommend also doing a walking tour of Savannah, hearing about the Union Forces occupation of Savannah and the ensuing river blockade to gain an appreciation of the significance of Fort Pulaski, as well as hearing about the great things General Pulaski did for the Colonial Forces during the Revolutionary War. The fort it very well maintained, has a peaceful sense about it and was pleasant to walk around in and informative. at the same time

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Pulaski National Monument also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Fort Pulaski National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Pulaski National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fort Pulaski National Monument to your Saves list