We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road side Shrimp/Barbecue shack” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerald's Pig & Shrimp

Gerald's Pig & Shrimp
1115 U.S. Hwy 80 E, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786-4227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Come as you are, bring the family...eat, drink and be merry. Gerald’s Pig and Shrimp is a casual outdoor dining establishment, backdropped with towering shade trees and located across the road from Tybee Island’s sprawling salt-water marshes. The brick patio is housed in an open air structure, a 14’ high pole barn fabricated with reclaimed materials, beautifully landscaped and decked out with an array of eclectic eye-candy. We specialize in slow-smoked meats pork, ribs and brisket, as well, fresh, Wild Georgia shrimp, fried, boiled or sauteed. All our sauces and marinades are made in house. We use fresh herbs from our side garden. We offer daily specials, dinners, sandwiches, appetizers and local beer, wine and sangria. We’re pet friendly as long as they’re friendly and on a leash and have free parking on property.We strive to ensure our guests’ experience is top-notch by providing fresh, tasty, high quality fare at a reasonable price, in a relaxed atmosphere with exceptional customer service.Planning an event? We also cater, offering choices of Southern Style Comfort Food, Bar-B-Que, Whole Pig-Roast, Oyster Roasts, Low Country Boil, site location, and entertainment.
Smithfield RI
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Road side Shrimp/Barbecue shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Road side beach shack as you cross the bridge to Tybee Island. We enjoyed the beer, local shrimp and pork barbecue. The owner Gerald is a character very friendly and well worth listening to him tell stories.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    96
    45
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hapeville, Georgia
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed on Tybee Island this past weekend to support my brother and a friend in the Rock-n-Roll Marathon. We stopped at Gerald's for lunch on a whim. The service was very friendly. Loved the open air building. (Thankfully, it was a nice day!) And we really loved the food! We had the "for 2" special with a little of everything. We weren't really that hungry, but we ordered it anyway...and...we ate it all! We would definitely recommend and definitely go back. Thanks!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Visit, great conversation !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Started with Cucumber Salad and Tybee stew, moved in to the "special" boiled peel n eat shrimp. We didn't come up for air until the pork and brisket were gone, the fried shrimp had disappeared, the corn on the cob was a thing of the past and every last kernel of fried okra was eaten. Both the pork and the beef brisket were flavorful , the shrimp was sweet and delicious ( both boiled and fried) and the fried okra was terrific! Our waiter was wonderful, anticipated our needs, and went out of his way to help us. Granted, we are locals, but it was our first trip to this establishment. We also enjoyed watching the brides as they went in and out of the wedding chapel across the street (a great, unobstructed view if you are a people watcher). Gerald stands on his own . Truly a "taste" of Tybee at its best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Fried Shrimp Fried Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I just stopped by Gerald's Pig and Shrimp on Tybee to snack on a fried shrimp appetizer and cold Corona. The shrimp were fresh and great. When folks are in from out of town we take them there as well. It's very informal, open air, small, good for conversation. Cole slaw is home made, with fresh ground pepper (you can tell the difference). I have eaten Gerald's BBQ as well, and it's great, but when I am on Tybee and want FRIED SHRIMP it's Gerald's. And let's just say it, when you are on Tybee you want Ga. caught fresh FRIED SHRIMP....... It's Tybee ! ! !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Summer over but still open long weekends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Looks like they will be staying open Fri, Sat, Sun and maybe Thur during the off season! Yea! Great spot for lunch or dinner...even if you are solo, seating at the bar for local conversation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerald's Pig & Shrimp also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Gerald's Pig & Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerald's Pig & Shrimp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.