We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stop after the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerald's Pig & Shrimp

Gerald's Pig & Shrimp
1115 U.S. Hwy 80 E, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786-4227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 44 restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Come as you are, bring the family...eat, drink and be merry. Gerald’s Pig and Shrimp is a casual outdoor dining establishment, backdropped with towering shade trees and located across the road from Tybee Island’s sprawling salt-water marshes. The brick patio is housed in an open air structure, a 14’ high pole barn fabricated with reclaimed materials, beautifully landscaped and decked out with an array of eclectic eye-candy. We specialize in slow-smoked meats pork, ribs and brisket, as well, fresh, Wild Georgia shrimp, fried, boiled or sauteed. All our sauces and marinades are made in house. We use fresh herbs from our side garden. We offer daily specials, dinners, sandwiches, appetizers and local beer, wine and sangria. We’re pet friendly as long as they’re friendly and on a leash and have free parking on property.We strive to ensure our guests’ experience is top-notch by providing fresh, tasty, high quality fare at a reasonable price, in a relaxed atmosphere with exceptional customer service.Planning an event? We also cater, offering choices of Southern Style Comfort Food, Bar-B-Que, Whole Pig-Roast, Oyster Roasts, Low Country Boil, site location, and entertainment.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A great place to stop after the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We went with a party of 8. We had to sit at two tables. They had a good variety of beer but no draft beer. The shrimp were very good and the prices were not too high for the area. The seating is all outside with some under a roof but open and a citronella candle was used for the bugs. Everyone enjoyed the food also. The place is kind of funkey and has a good beachside feel but not on the water.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    250
    92
    44
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We live in savannah and pass by this restaurant on the way to the beach. I "looked" like it might be a good place. Its all window dressing. the entire experience sucked....don't waste your time or money. Service was poor and slow. rude staff. food was marginal to poor. shrimp was no better than frozen out of the box. corn on cob .....I cant believe they tried to pass it off as food.
I try and give fair ratings, also taking into account bad days...but this experience was so bad. Tybee has some great places ....this is NOT one of them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“idiosynchratic but tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

not a huge menu but what they do (including a tender brisket) they do very well friendly extremely informal service check it out atmosphere tybee funky

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be Warned: Shrimp are served WHOLE (with heads and veins); BBQ Tasty; Quaint/Cozy; ALL Outdoor=Flies!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My 2 teenagers and I went to Gerald's on a Thursday night because my daughter wanted the "all you can eat" low country boil that was advertised. The atmosphere was very fitting for Tybee, comfortable and relaxed. We got there fairly early (5:30) to beat the crowd, which was a good thing as they filled up quickly. Our server, though super nice, made several mistakes (served us ribs and pork when we'd ordered just the pork, forgot my take-out order and had to make a new bill...), and though not his fault, told us that they didn't carry any sour cream or melted butter (for the shrimp) or lemons. The biggest surprise of all was the "wholeness" of the shrimp- we've eaten shrimp all over Savannah and the east coast and have never been served whole shrimp with a low country boil. Eyeballs were staring right up at us! When we asked about it, the waiter told us that just shows us how fresh it - straight from the ocean behind us. Also, there was little flavor/spice cooked into the food as there usually is with a LCBoil.
My son and I ended up with pork and ribs (and I just decided to eat it - though we'd ordered just the pork plate), and the pork was quite tasty and lean, tender. Ribs were fair.
Right after our plates were served, along came the flies. They were all over us, our food, plates; it was just disgusting. We asked the server if the flies are always this bad and he said that's what happens with an outdoor restaurant and seafood, with a little shrug of the shoulders and a smile. Wrong- we go to several other places in town and sit outside without flies attacking our food. We ate as quickly as possible and put a lot of it in to-go boxes so that we could escape those flies as fast as possible.
I would strongly suggest either adding several more fans or add screens or rollup/down "walls" that could be rolled down on rainy days or when bugs are really bad. The menu or waiters should also clearly state that the shrimp have all their body parts intact. It's possible that I will order take-out in the future but I will not return to eat in the establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island
1 review
“Wednesday Nite Blues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On Wed night Great Blues at Gerald's ! Cold Beer fabulous food , Cool breezes off the marsh . Fantastic !!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerald's Pig & Shrimp also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Gerald's Pig & Shrimp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerald's Pig & Shrimp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.