We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken sandwich around!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Beach Bar & Grill

North Beach Bar & Grill
33 Meddin Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-786-4442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Best chicken sandwich around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 NEW

We came for a late lunch and there weren't many people. Our server wasn't the friendliest, but all the other staff was super nice! The food here was FANTASTIC! Real, delicious food. The fries are amazing. We got the BBQ sandwich and grilled chicken sandwich. Both were to die for!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    149
    46
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic bar and grill for the whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Great people, great food. I recommend this for anyone. Their specials are amazing...and you can't skip dessert!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balitmore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Dive bar with good food and fun atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

a fun slightly off the beaten track in Tybee location make this a good choice for lunch. Food is surprisingly good based on the first look at the place. I would guess it's packed in beach weather months, but still pulls a decent crowd in the cold weather. If you're looking for fancy this isn't the place, but if your looking for good fish sandwich and pulled pork give it a try. Added bonus is a walk on the beach after is right across the parking lot. Bathrooms could be cleaner.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious, Unusual Menu + Great Ambiance On The Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I can't tell if they work hard to make this place fabulous, or if it just is all by itself because they are doing what they naturally do best. It would be easy to walk past it and I almost did - wouldn't have that been a mistake! It's across the street from the Lighthouse, next to the fort. Fun, colorful outdoor seating (Yes, 70 degrees on the Sunday after Thanksgiving - fabulous). The birds chirping with an occasional skirmish make for some fun nature watching as well. Servers concerned about your experience from start to finish. I had only 30 mins left on my parking after a really long 90 minute stroll along one of the best beaches in the world (if you like solitude and calm beauty) so I grabbed a burger + sweet potato fries. Now, let's be clear. When he said, "Are you okay with the honey, cinnamon with balsamic vinegar drizzled over your sweet potato fries?" I was like, who does that? I said, "Is it delicious?" He said, "yes." I suggested we go for it. YUM!!! I'd go back and order those alone, but that might seem odd. Really, really good. Prices are reasonable - good food, good service, good prices... and on the beach? Sit back and let the sea breezes remind you that it is good to be alive.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous seafood. Great beachside atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

We ate here twice on our stay in tybee. The seafood was so fresh and lovely. Our server knew his stuff and also gave us great advice on visiting the local forts.
It has a cool laid back vibe Of a beach bar with cute lights. So does the social but the food and service here was much better.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.