We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun evening, with good food to boot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Beach Bar & Grill

North Beach Bar & Grill
33 Meddin Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-786-4442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Asheville NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fun evening, with good food to boot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

One of the best spots for local color, this restaurant has had the same management for over 20 years. The food is very good, made even better by the dining experience....and if George is on site, be certain to visit with him (you can't miss him). The chef is skilled in some unusual dish, so don't be afraid to try the goat, elk or lamb (depending on what's on the menu. Portions are large, so come hungry...and if it isn't too busy, see if Jody is working. She's a terrific server and a very interesting lady....and save room for dessert.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    134
    40
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

So glad we took our travel agent's advise and ate here. The service was excellant, drinks were cold and the food was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blustry Day but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stopped in on a cool, windy Monday for lunch and had one of the best hoagie sandwiches I've ever had. The bread tasted homemade and the fish was a large piece of Cod. I tried the red beans and rice as a substitute and while good, they needed to be warmer. Atmosphere was beach casual and the wait staff were friendly and accommodating. I'd definitely go back, but wouldn't pay the extra fee to sub the beans and rice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybee island, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A delightful dinner at the beach on Tybee Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My former roommate from college on the West Coast came to town unexpectedly with his friend. We wanted to take them out to a casual place with great food and of course, thought of North Beach Grill. My wife and I are vegan and our guests are not. No problem, the restaurant always has a vegan plate of the day it can fix which is delicious. The tab was very reasonable, $20 per person for the two local fish dinners and $14 for the vegan plates. I also had a Caesar salad for $6. This is a gem and we are fortunate to have great food, friendly waitstaff who are knowledgeable about the items they are serving. The setting is funky, being in the middle of Ft. Screven on the north end of the island with views of the sand dunes during daylight hours.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our lunch at the North Beach. It looks like one of those pop in off the beach places where you might find a hot dog and nachos but NOT SO... The food was really good and well prepared. The drinks were good and stout, and the service was excellent. We found out later that the two owners, Big George and little George, also cater a lot of upscale events. The two any sex bathrooms were a little confusing, but part of the charm of the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.