We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Beach Bar & Grill

North Beach Bar & Grill
33 Meddin Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-786-4442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 44 restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Douglasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love this place, we always eat here when we are on the island. I love the atmosphere, especially at night. This is a place you go to when you have time to spare and want a really, really great meal. The service is excellent but the kitchen is slow.. I mean 2 hours slow. Your server will let you know before you order The grilled Mahi is to dye for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    179
    119
    36
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best of Tybee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Perfect in every way. Although our food arrived in a fine amount of time, my sense was that it should be slow just for the sake of authenticity - it is a restaurant on a beach, not New York City. The food really shines. I had a brisket sandwich with red beans and rice as the side - someone at this restaurant loves food and can really cook! Beer selection was varied, good, and all bottled. I will return to this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Now this is therapy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to relax with the ocean breeze in your face enjoying great cocktails, wonderful service and good food, then North Beach Bar & Grill will not disappoint. The owner, George, will probably be sitting at the bar watching over his team making sure that the food that arrives at your table is food that he is proud of...and he is serious! Whether you sit indoors and enjoy the bahamian feel of simplicity or the spacious outdoor patio with walk up outdoor bar, prepare to relax!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent Food, slow service. Worth the wait if you aren't in a hurry. Friendly staff
. Good music and atmosphere

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food on Tybee, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

...make sure you bring some time, kitchen is slow. But certainly worth while! Had several items of the menue to include home made chips and salsa, beer battered fish bites, chicken wings, fish taco and $2 Red Stripes. All of it was excellent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.