We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely slow service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Beach Bar & Grill

North Beach Bar & Grill
33 Meddin Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-786-4442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 44 restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Yes, the food was pretty good (sweet potato fries, not so much). However, after almost 50 minutes of waiting for our food - anything would have tasted good. Had to go and ask for drink refills (after 30 min. of waiting). The server was apologetic when we did see him.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NBBG, Owner at North Beach Bar & Grill, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We regret that service did not meet your expectations or our standards and will address the issue with our staff. As owners, we emphasize customer service and it's disappointing, but important, to know when we fall short. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention so that we can take appropriate action.

It's difficult to address your complaint about the wait time without having more information about the day/time of your visit. We're not a fast food restaurant and our menu and signs advise guests that everything is prepared from scratch and to be prepared for a wait during busy times. Reducing the wait time for food has been a priority, and we're doing everything we can without compromising the quality of our food.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you'll try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    179
    119
    36
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jax, FL
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Casual/ beach front dining/ top chef quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped here, thinking we'd have some shrimp, and were surprised by the variety of salads, sandwiches, and fish dishes to choose from. We sat outside on a deck, by the water, and enjoyed a relaxed setting while wiring on the food. The waiters were friendly and helpful. When our meals came we were surprised by how great they tasted. Not just good, but exceptional. Totally inexpert end for a beach hole in the wall grill! Loved being surprised.

Top choices: the blackened , grilled fish sandwich with red beans and rice....hubby's choice. I had a light, but satisfying grilled chicken tortilla salad with a light citrus dressing. Delicious! We will definitely visit again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely mess (in the best way possible)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Go in an chill. Really - just relax. Sit down at the available table and chill. Be prepared to wait. But don't get your panties in the bunch. The waiter will bring you a drink and will get your order. Enjoy your drink and... Riiiiiight - chill :) They have great food., but while you are waiting do some people watching. I don't know what mad genius they have running the kitchen, but the food is out of this world. I ordered grilled veggie sandwich and it was absolutely amazing! Veggies were actually grilled - not "we'll pour a ton of grease on the grill for flavor" grilled, but real honest to goodness grilled. Peppers, onions, squash, zucchini - all fresh and full of flavor. Mozarella was pronounced but not overpowering. And pesto sauce - oh my goodness! That sauce alone deserves an award! Sweet potato fries - don't know what kind of sauce they poured over, but it was a perfect compliment. All waiters are running around like crazy, people are going in and out - lovely mess :) The bottom line - if you are looking for "fast food" this is not the place for you. If you are looking for "formal dining" this is not the place for you. You have to throw on a pair of shorts and a t-shirt, and perhaps a pair of your favorite flip-flops. Go in, relax and enjoy. The food is totally worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Deliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile


Wow, this place threw me for a loop. We did not expect the food to be anywhere near a good as it was. The jerk pork and chicken dishes are amazing--juicy and ridiculously flavorful. They had a shrimp/crawfish/andouille sausage and grits with creamy sauce as a special and it was outstanding. Do not let the beach shack appearance fool you. Go here for some cold beer and top notch food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“APPEARANCE: weathered FOOD: excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband says the reason they can have such good food is because they don't spend any $$$ on the appearance of this little bar and grill! Seriously, it looks very weathered and old with a small screened porch eating area inside and a much larger deck area outside. Also 2 bars: One in and one out. Easy boardwalk stroll to the Atlantic. We shared a crab cake sandwich with sweet potato fries- both VERY good. The mayo in the sandwich was spiced with pepper and maybe something else- nice touch. Also good Southern sweet tea, which we do not always get, even in the South. Service was a little slow in the beginning but friendly.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to North Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.