We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Meeting Place for locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tybee Island Social Club

Tybee Island Social Club
1311 Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9761
912-472-4044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 49 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Island Meeting Place for locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I met her grade school and neighborhood friend for lunch now living on the island. For lunch there was only 2-3 tables filled-the establishment is full during the evenings according to our friend. The evening's entertainment was setting up as well. The menu has a Southeastern island flare with seafood in combination with Southern cooking. We each had variations of crab cakes-both excellent and recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    106
    36
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Meet Good Friends for Lunch or Dinner!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have eaten here about half a dozen times & the fun factor was always high!
They are not known for their service. After all, it is the beach; however, 45 minutes to wait for
a salad w/ grilled shrimp & fish tacos is unacceptable. The tortillas have always been on the greasy side and blotting them w/ a napkin is helpful. Fish tostada is tastier. The ceviche is fair.
The ingredients just don't scream fresh. The crab cakes are fair. Competition for tasty seafood menus in this coastal area of Savannah and Tybee is daunting. Consider this dining experience as very casual, very fun, and very fair.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fair Prices, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a group of 6 dining at the Social Club and had a great experience. The waitress was prompt and attendant without being annoying. There's a fine line and she knows just where it is. I had the Biiggie Smalls (a burrito) and thoroughly enjoyed it after a day of walking the area and climbing the lighthouse. Several in the party had tacos, served in a pita instead of a shell. Everyone was delighted with their meals and we left room for dessert. The chocolate bacon brownie was quite good though my wife thought there was too much chocolate. I disagree as there can never be too much chocolate!

The night we were there, a Thursday, it was pick your own table. They also had music provided by two fellows on guitar. They were good and entertaining.

We will definitely return upon our next visit to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really cool and unique atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Unique experience! Really enjoy the food, music and the vibe! Really enjoy the gourmet tacos! Great artwork and decor!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great foodand great music..........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Tybee has a new jewel. Pleased with our guacamole and burritos. Service was a tad slow but we were on vacation. Owner came over to our table and it was a Saturday nite. Music made it a happy occasion. Will return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Social Club also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tybee Island Social Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.