We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great oysters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bernie's Oyster House

Bernie's Oyster House
13 tybrisa st, Tybee Island, GA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 44 restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Great oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were at Bernie's on Saturday and we had the time of our life.... We had ordered a bucket of raw oysters and even though it was packed the bartender, Chad, had showed us how to shuck them and he was a show in himself.. Funny and entertaining.... Would recommend this place to anyone

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    55
    60
    29
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went during a visit for the Pirate's Festival. I get that they were busy. But when three tables sat down after us and ate and left, before we even got our food, we started to be concerned. The food was cold when it came out, we never got drinks we ordered. And when part of our order was not ready we canceled it. Well 10 minutes later it arrives to the table and the waitress says it's on the house. Of course it was on the bill, when we tried to talk to the very rude and unprofessional manager, he treated us as if we had done something wrong. It's called "customer service" look it up...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrayville, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Love it, great service & food was good...cold beer may not look like much on the outside but it's really a great little place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite dive on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Bernie's is oyster heaven: outdoor seating, a live band on the weekends, Bloody Marys in Mason jars, great wings, delectable hushpuppies, yummy nachos, and the occasional bucket-of-oysters-and-pitcher-of-beer-for-$25 special. Located on Tybrsia a few steps from the pier, it's the perfect place to load up on lunch between dips in the ocean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“shrimp delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The bloody marys are awesome and so is the steamed shrimp. One of the best hamburgers and fries I've had.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernie's Oyster House also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast

Been to Bernie's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernie's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.