We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to enjoy a weekend getaway at Beachside Colony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill

Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill
404 Butler Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-786-4745
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 44 restaurants in Tybee Island
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great way to enjoy a weekend getaway at Beachside Colony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

While visiting Tybee we stayed at Beachside Colony and ate at Marlin Monroe's several times. They not only have great food, but you are able to enjoy the best view of the beach while dining. This kept bringing us back for more. Great live music and a wonderful way to wind down at the end of the day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, General Manager at Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill. I am glad that you enjoyed dining with us in the dunes. I hope we see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    46
    47
    26
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“walk off the beach for a cocktail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

THis is a fun beach bar and resturant right on Tybee beach. I had a prosecco and my husband had a really good Bloody Mary. WE only had appetizers, but they were good, and Sunday aafternoon music was a nice touch. My only complait was the server, he looked bored or maybe stoned, I'm not sure, but the female waitress was quick, and the place was full of locals. Go, it's fun

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, General Manager at Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write such positive comments about your experience at Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill. We LOVE our Sunday Bloody Mary Bar and glad you enjoyed them as well. Hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little place on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great food, great service, great view, Ate there several times during recent trip to Savannah. Fun place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, General Manager at Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank your for writing such a great review for Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill. We are always excited to hear from our guests! Come by and see us on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pirates Fest Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I ate/drank here several times during my stay at Tybee Island. The staff treated me like I was "somebody". They are ALL great. Greatest Bloody Mary Bar IN THE WORLD on Sunday and live music on the deck on the dunes. Stay at Beachside Colony and you are less than 100 yards from Marlin Monroe's.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, General Manager at Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
I really enjoyed reading your review about Marlin Monroe's. We LOVE hosting our Sunday Bloody Mary Bar and so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. Mike Moody is our Live Music on Sunday and he's one of our local Fave's. Thank you for joining us at Pirate's Fest and hope you are able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved the service, drinks and food (recommend the Fish Tacos) with a ramp right to the beach for a nice walk after dinner. A tad pricey but was expected as is with most seafood places. Check it out for a nice laid back experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia B, General Manager at Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for writing such an awesome review of Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill. Fish Tacos are one of my Favorites, the Grouper is so fresh and tender! I hope you visit us on your next trip to Tybee Island, Ga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Monroe's Surfside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.