We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay on Tybee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dunes Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Dunes Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Eighty Eight, KY
1 review
“Another great stay on Tybee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have been going to Tybee for many years now and this is the second time we stayed here for our week long get-away. This year even better than last year. They have remodeled the rooms in the rear building and they are really nice especially the bathrooms with the large tiled shower. The very nice pool was also redone this year. Rooms and property are clean and well maintained. Pride in ownership shows as you will see the owner's family and employees all day cleaning and tidying up. When Joy is at the front desk you can be assured of top level service - and a good cup of coffee! ;) There is a one block walk to the beach and if you can tolerate this you will save 50-70% on a room here. Don't forget your bikes as Tybee was voted one of the most bike friendly towns in the US (we didn't start the car till we were to leave the island this year). Don't forget to go to North Beach Grill several times while visiting. See ya'll next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Each visit is better than the last—that's what we like to hear! Thanks for making us a part of your getaways. We can't wait to welcome you back next year!

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    95
    59
    23
    30
See reviews for
103
99
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We needed a pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island and were not disappointed with the Dunes Inn. It was the off season, they charge $35 one time fee for the stay, and the room rate was an amazing $60/night. The rooms were first floor with tile floors which was really convenient for walking the dog. There are plenty of places to walk the dog that are safe after dark. Dogs arent allowed on the beach but there are sidewalks near the dunes that you can walk the dogs on. The lobby of this place probably needs a little updating and the aquarium desperately needs cleaning but this is a great place to stay when visiting with your pet

Room Tip: You can request smoke free rooms. I didn't realize many places on the island still allow smokin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We're glad that you and your pooch enjoyed your stay, Terri! Thanks for the kind words, and for your suggestions. We hope your next stay is even better than the last!

Cheers,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed two weeks at The Dunes Inn, the first week was great, nice staff, clean room. Then we moved to the back for a bigger room, still, a nice room, everything was good, The only problem we had was being woke up at 5am by nieghbors making a big rucus, and by the local drunks, one which tried to approach me when I stepped outside, which my husband was quick to stop. We alerted the front desk, but was told there wasnt much they could do. Was planning on staying another week, but changed our mind after that. All in all, nice plce, clean rooms, the lady at the lobby, Joy, was very sweet and was always ready to help make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: If you go down for Pirate Fest, upstairs is best. If you get a room in the back, or in the annex, ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I'm sorry to hear about this incident, Michele. While our courses of action are quite limited, I apologize if you felt we were dismissive during our conversation. That aside, it seems that the rest of your stay was lovely, and I hope you'll consider visiting us next time you need to get away. Until then, thanks for your feedback. -Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a great time. Joy was so helpful to us you need more like her. I needed a coffee maker i took one it didn't work Joy gave me onemore it work just fine,thank you Joy! But everyone was so nice. We will be back THANK YOU,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Yes, Joy certainly is one of a kind! She's going to be thrilled to hear that you felt at home with us, Donna. Thanks for sharing that, and keep us in mind next time you need a vacation!

Warm regards,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our happy experience with the Dunes Inn started when I made our reservations. It was the first time my husband and I traveled to the area. Joy answered all my questions and explained how nice Tybee Island is. We were also surprised how Pet Friendly they are as we decided to bring our dog at the last minute. The hotel room was spacious and clean and Joy was quick with information for us. We just got back to Maryland and we are already planning our vacation on Tybee Island for next year. Thanks Joy for all your help!! We hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We can't blame you for wanting to plan your trip already! It's so nice to know that y'all loved every minute of your trip. Thanks for sharing that with your fellow travelers, and give us a call when you're ready to book! :)

All the best,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a great 7 days there! Joy and Diane made sure that our needs were met. Our room was nice and always clean. Just wish that we could've gotten the 4th night free like across the road!!!! Or a weekly rate instead of nightly rate?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Good suggestions! We'll keep that in mind for our future guests, but until then, thanks for the fantastic review. Hope to welcome you back next time you need a little sunshine!

Cheers,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'm from Savannah, born and raised, but whenever I visit, I like to stay at Tybee. The Dunes is my favorite spot because it's reasonably priced, the rooms are clean, and it's close to everything. This last trip I took down there a couple of weeks ago was no different. Diane was helpful at the front desk, the room was in perfect condition, and the price was reasonable. The place was full, so it looks like other people are discovering what I've known all along. I've stayed at other places on Tybee, and I always come back to the Dunes. The only way I would stay somewhere else is if I had a house down there...but that's a different story altogether :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay P, General Manager at Dunes Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We're proud to be your home away from home here in Tybee! Thanks so much for coming back to us year after year, and for sharing your story with fellow travelers. We can't wait to see you again next year—or sooner!

Take care,
Sanjay Patel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Inn & Suites

Address: 1409 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With pleasant relaxation being our specialty at Dunes Inn & Suites, we are a family owned business dedicated to providing our guests with the most comfortable accommodations possible at an affordable price. The only pet friendly hotel on Tybee Island, here you can enjoy luxurious, spacious rooms with a variety of features to accommodate your needs and budget.We feature a total of 54 luxurious rooms including poolside kitchenette rooms, nice big 2 bedroom apartments, annex rooms, and more.We are located on beautiful Tybee Island, Georgia approximately 100 yards from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Inn And Suites
Dunes Hotel Tybee Island
Dunes Motel Tybee Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.