We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum

Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum
Meddin Dr, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 5801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Tybee Island
Type: Lighthouses, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century lighthouse has been converted into a history museum.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place! The staff are great and the buildings and lighthouse are awesome! I was able to rent the lighthouse for two hours and actually proposed to my girlfriend at the top (she said yes)! Thanks to Vikki Nelson for helping make our visit one of the best ever!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    272
    71
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrific View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the top of the lighthouse, the view is incredible. The museum was impressive and the volunteers were very informed. Wish there had been a refreshment stand.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tybee Island Lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I toured the lighthouse with my 2 boys and thought it was very cool. There are wasps at the top, though, so don't go if you're allergic. The wasps didn't bother us, but we knew they were there. It was still worth the hike up the 178 steps. For the admission price, you also get admission to a museum that has history about Tybee Island. It was very interesting. The area was quite cute. I definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, MO
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“beautifully restored lighthouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We did not visit the museum or climb the lighthouse, but we did stroll the grounds to enjoy the views! This is a beautifully restored lighthouse. There is no fee to walk the grounds. Nice gift shop with friendly folks too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tybee Island Lighthouse Musuem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit here. Friendly staff. Be prepared to climb 178 steps if you are thinking of going up the lighthouse...we are still sore two days later. Haha. You can walk the beach after - which we did.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tybee Island Lighthouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.