We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, Affordable Place to Stay for Masters Tournament!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Columns Inn

Save Saved
You added White Columns Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Columns Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1890 Washington Road, Thomson, GA 30824   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Thomson
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect, Affordable Place to Stay for Masters Tournament!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the most affordable place we found to stay during the 2014 Masters Tournament. While it's nothing fancy, the White Columns Inn has everything you'd need: after all, if you're going to Augusta, you're not going to be spending ANY time at the hotel!

Staff: welcoming, friendly, and professional
Bathroom: roomy (though the tub did have some drainage issues)
Beds: comfortable
Room Overall: roomy and clean (a little older, but no big deal)
Parking Lot: well-lit
Commute to Augusta: around 30 minutes

If we ever got the chance to attend the Masters again, we'd stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
22
18
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a large parking lot that can accommodate buses, RVs and large trucks, if you get my drift.This hotel is right off the interstate so it should have been easy to find, but the main sign must have been broken because the posts were there with nothing between them! The room (339) was clean, had two sinks (one in the bathroom and another in a little alcove where the hair dryer was located), an iron, ironing board, refrig, microwave, cable TV.
They advertise wifi, but when I couldn't get a connection I called the front desk. The clerk said, "You're too far away. Sorry about that." If you want to get on the internet, get a room in the first building.
I tried to set the alarm for 5:30 but couldn't because the minute button on the alarm clock was broken.
There is a pool, washer and dryer, and fitness room. A hot breakfast, included with the room, is available at 6 am. I was there two mornings and there were at least a dozen truckers there before me each morning when I arrived at 6:00 am.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 100 (main) building if you need a wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at White Columns Inn in Thomson, Ga. We strive to offer a clean room, great rate and good breakfast all combined with a helpful and caring staff.
We are in the process of upgrading our internet services to a deluxe package our provider is in the process of replacing equipment and updating it with newer versions our scheduled completion date is July 1, 2014. Once this is complete our wifi will be stronger and provide faster service for the entire property!
We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
We just Love company,
Christi Munns and The White Columns Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Dog friendly and Maggie, our 17 year old , 4 pound Yorki gave it a paws up ! Very nice places to walk her.

This reminds me of a place where a lovely older Aunt of mine might have lived. It really is not outdated as in needs to be renovated, just not as chic as some may like.

Great bathroom, ladies listen up. You can shower, change, do make-up, dress (full length mirror) and iron in the bathroom. What I am saying is you really have some privacy here. Unlike most places that have the shower and commode in one room and the mirror and sink in another.

The restaurant was closed. If this is important to you call ahead. The bar was also closed as our stay was a Sunday night. Breakfast was great, things were piping hot and a very nice variety.
More than most places.

This is a place that we plan to stay at again. I will build in time to rock.

Good choice.

Room Tip: no elevators. We asked for and got a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Magfl,
Thank you for your recent stay at White Columns Inn in Thomson, Georgia. We are pleased that you and Maggie enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to offer a great rate, clean rooms and good breakfast all combined with a helpful and caring staff. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future!
We just Love company,
Christi Munns and The White Columns Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location was perfect for our plans for the weekend. The room was outdated but seemed to be clean. The mattress was very firm (hard!). After getting settled we discovered that our shower didn't work. They offered another room or they would try to fix it. We didn't want to gather everything up so we decided to take our chances on their fixing it or just take baths. When we returned from dinner (we went out because they were not serving dinner that Friday evening), it seemed that the shower was working. The next morning, the toilet overflowed into the room. They provided another room for us to take a shower a good distance away from us. Upon check-out I asked for some compensation. They gave us $10.00 off the cost of the room. We thought at least half of the cost of the room would have been fair for our inconvenience. We will not stay at this hotel again. What a shame...we had heard good reviews and were very disapointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at White Columns Inn we apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. I am glad that you were able to work your shower and that it was not broken. We apologize about the toilet overflowing. Things like this happen and are beyond our control. Our front desk associate did offer to move you several times so that we could quickly remedy the issue however, you declined. We did not honor your request for half off since our staff made several attempts to accommodate you during your stay and all were declined.
We hope that you will give us another try in the future!
Christi Munns and The White Columns Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My 5th stay for Masters week at this hotel. I plan on returning for as long as I can. The staff is professional, friendly and accommodating. Short commute to Augusta. In house bar, which is very convenient if one doesn't want to travel some distance to have a cocktail, at a friendly place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your recent stay and past stays with us at White Columns Inn in Thomson, Ga!
We look forward to seeing you next year!
We just Love company,
Christi Munns and The White Columns Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san marcos, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great people and great service. The location was great for the Master Golf Tournament.

You could get back and forth with no traffic at all.

There was a great country club about 4 miles from the hotel to have dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at White Columns Inn in Thomson, Ga. we at White Columns Inn strive to offer a clean room, good rate and great breakfast all combined with a helpful and caring staff!
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future!
We just Love company,
Christi Munns and The White Columns Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at start of Masters week. Good location only a few hundred yards from I-20 junction and less than 30 miles to Augusta (however, as I suspect is the case for all the hotels in the area, such convenience comes at a hefty price). Staff friendly enough, decent breakfast, bar area was great although dinner menu was a bit limited and didn't change either night we were there (plus some entrees weren't available on the 2nd night). Rooms are old fashioned but functional, ours was on the back and very quiet although the air conditioning unit was loud. Plenty of parking space right outside door. Will probably check prices of other Thomson hotels or look further afield next year.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at White Columns Inn in Thomson, Ga. We appreciate your business and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope to see you again soon!
We just love company,
Christi Munns and The White Columns Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Columns Inn

Address: 1890 Washington Road, Thomson, GA 30824
Location: United States > Georgia > Thomson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Thomson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Columns Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to call Thomson, Georgia our home and are delighted to be a part of your visit. We just love to have company...and what a treat you have ahead of you in Thomson, GA!Whether it is work or play that brings you to our city, we're ready to help make your time here pleasantly memorable. We offer banquet rooms for your business and social needs as well as great getaway packages including historic tours, golf outings, or romantic escapes.The White Columns Inn hotel in Thomson, Georgia boasts amenities including: Onsite Lounge, whirlpool rooms and suites, gazebo with sundeck at our outdoor swimming pool, plenty of parking for all vehicle types, and over 100 boat hookups. We look forward to serving you during your stay with us!The area around Thomson GA is quite often referred to as a playground, with a wide variety of outdoor fun awaiting you. Stay awhile, browse around and learn about our paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Columns Hotel Thomson
Best Western Thomson
Thomson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Columns Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.