We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy little motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Columns Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Columns Inn to your Saves list
White Columns Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1890 Washington Road, Thomson, GA 30824   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Busy little motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

stayed here weekend of 12/7. Outside looked clean and landscaped with a beautiful christmas wreath hanging from lobby. Motel had angels out front which is rare these days that motels display religion but we appreciated it. check in was quick and easy in a large lobby decorated for Christmas. Motel was busy with a large group I guess in a banquet hall, staffed were busy. First Room was nice and clean we moved rooms due to a large football team that were loud. Lady in lobby apologized and moved us quickly. Second room was nice and clean as well. Lounge was busy. Breakfast was wonderful hot breakfast with eggs, bacon, grits and homemade biscuits. Suprisingly it was served on linen table clothes and real plates no plastic. All staff were nice and courteous. Will stay again if in the area. Many restaurant within walking distance. Will stay again! Thank you for displaying your religion and for flying the american flag!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near a football team. Make sure you get breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your recent stay with us! We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our team! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn in Thomson, Ga. We at BEST WESTERN Strive to lead the industry in superior customer care with each guests. I do apologize for the noise next door to you during your stay and glad that our front desk associate was able to accomodate you quickly!
We hope to see you again in the near future!
Thanks,
Christi Munns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
26
18
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am from Germany and I stayed there for about a week to visit friends. The hotel looks nice and the location is good. The rooms are ok and clean. The dining room looks very nice but the service is bad. The breakfast is less than the Best Western standart.
I payed $55 per night. So over all it was worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you had a wonderful time in Thomson, Ga. We appreciate your constructive critism on staffing in the restaurant and we will address that quickly with that department. I apologize that you were not pleased with breakfast please feel free to contact me directly by telephone at 706-595-8000 or by email at bestwest@whitecolumnsinn.com to share your comments on breakfast. Our team at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn take pride in our property we appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.
Thanks,
Christi Munns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkburnett, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here overnight on the way to Myrtle Beach from Texas. Our room was very clean. Air conditioner worked almost too well! We were poolside behind the rest of the motel. The pool area was very clean. The gazebo was really neat. A two story one with a ceiling fan on upper level. Tables, chairs and grills were available to enjoy the outside. Also had a outdoor shower to rinse off before and after swimming. Room was comfortable. Very quiet and peaceful. Yes, it is older and outdated. But for someone like me, who enjoys the old things, I liked the place and will stay there again. Also had hookups for boat battery charging if you are there to fish the area lakes. Nice main building with dining room, lounge and bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Traveler,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn in Thomson, Ga. We at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the industry with superior customer care. Our team members take pride in our property and your comments are appreciated and will be shared with our team! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Thanks,
Christi Munns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I, like most people stay with White Columns Best Western for work and I also know there are people saying for Masters and just visiting. Each of my two different stays have been equally fun and enjoyable. From Christie, GM, all the front desk people (I do mean all), the cleaning folks, and Sarah too in the Stirup Cup Bar & Lounge the customer service is exceptional. They go to great lengths knowing who you are and in some cases by name. The rooms are clean and comfortable. This is a 30 year old treasure of the South. It has charm and class to it. You will have a great memory of your time here unlike other chain hotels where there is nothing special.

Room Tip: Any room on the front of the hotel are ones I recommend. Also, go to the Stirup Cup for a nice rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, Guest Relations Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you have had such a pleasant stay with us. Our team at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the industry in superior customer care with each guest we come in contact with everyday. We will be sure to share your comments with our team and do hope to see you again in the future.
Thanks,
BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel needs to be updated. The room furnishings were from the 80's and the beds were uncomfortable. We had to switch rooms because our first room had mold in the bathroom tub and a cigarette burn in the bed cover and the room was supposed to be non-smoking?!?! It also had a musty smell. One big plus was the breakfast offered the next morning! It was quite tasty!

I wouldn't stay here again! :(

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, Guest Relations Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Traveler,
We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the industry in superior customer care. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast as we believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. We hope that in the future you choose to stay with us again.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stay here whenever I'm in Georgia and I'm never disappointed! The staff is courteous and helpful. The cleaning ladies made sure I was never lacking in clean linens or amenities. The breakfast is great! Probably the best I've ever had at a Hotel. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for yor recent stay at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn in Thomson, Ga. We appreciate your patronage and continued support. We at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the industry in superior customer care. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Thanks,
BEST WESTER White Columns Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is an older hotel but the rooms are clean and you wont be afaid to stay there. The buffet breakfast in the morning is very good with fresh scrambled eggs (not powered) and bacon and grits. The staff is very nice and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel3M, General Manager at White Columns Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us we at BEST WESTERN White Columns Inn strive to lead the industry in superior customer care! We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast as we believe that it is the most important meal of the day! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Thanks,
Christi Munns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Columns Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Columns Inn

Address: 1890 Washington Road, Thomson, GA 30824
Location: United States > Georgia > Thomson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Columns Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to call Thomson, Georgia our home and are delighted to be a part of your visit. We just love to have company...and what a treat you have ahead of you in Thomson, GA!Whether it is work or play that brings you to our city, we're ready to help make your time here pleasantly memorable. We offer banquet rooms for your business and social needs as well as great getaway packages including historic tours, golf outings, or romantic escapes.The White Columns Inn hotel in Thomson, Georgia boasts amenities including: Onsite Lounge, whirlpool rooms and suites, gazebo with sundeck at our outdoor swimming pool, plenty of parking for all vehicle types, and over 100 boat hookups. We look forward to serving you during your stay with us!The area around Thomson GA is quite often referred to as a playground, with a wide variety of outdoor fun awaiting you. Stay awhile, browse around and learn about our paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your White Columns Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Columns Hotel Thomson
Best Western Thomson
Thomson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Columns Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.