We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here under any circumstances.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Inn Thomson

Scottish Inn Thomson
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Scottish Inn Thomson to your Saves list
Scottish Inn Thomson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1847 Washington Road, Hwy 78 & I-20, Thomson, GA 30824   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Rancho Mirage, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Do not stay here under any circumstances.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This place is awful. I was booked for 5 nights and left after one night. I paid the extra night penalty for leaving early.Very dirty, the place is being used by many as an apartment. Many of the rooms are being used by very large families who cannot afford anything better.
Avoid this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpatel1111, Manager at Scottish Inn Thomson, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
This guest booked for 5 days on Expedia, after the first night she comes and tell us there is an emergency and she has to leave early, i tell her that our cancellation policy states that you will be charged for one night penalty and she got upset, i asked her if every thing was ok with the room and she told me, every thing is ok and have to check out because of an emergency, she gave us a bad review because of the fact that we charged her a penalty charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
2
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Booked this hotel through Expedia. I had just booked airfare into Augusta and available rooms popped up. I saw this hotel and booked it because of the Washington Rd address. I was looking for a room in Augusta for the Masters and Washington Rd is right by Augusta National....IF YOU'RE IN AUGUSTA!!! Unfortunately, I didn't notice THIS Washington Rd was in Thomson, Ga.... 30 miles away!

Well, the extra 30 minute drive each day was a pain and the hotel is not much to write home about, but my room was clean, roomy enough, and they had a decent free breakfast in the morning

This hotel was serviceable but if I wanted to stay in Thomson, Ga again there are several nicer hotels close by that would be worth paying a little more. But that isn't going to happen since I will find a place in Augusta next time!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed in this hotel - the hotel was very clean, nice, and comfortable. The beds were very good and plush and we had a good nights sleep. The staff was very polite and efficient. Worth every penny I paid for! Also nearby Augusta - only 15 minutes away!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We had the opportunity to stay here while visiting some family in Thomson, GA. It is a simple and clean hotel. Nearby many restaurants and right off I-20. We went to Augusta which is a 20 min drive daily for shopping and meeting friends and family. This is a good hotel in a safe area. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

There is too much to relate about the bad side of this motel. The first indication of what might be to come was a large, handwritten sign that said, "No refunds after ten minutes in your room." It wouldn't take ten minutes to know how awful it was! The clerk was surley and virtually non-communicative. I was nervous at first when they photo-copied both my drivers license and my visa card. Simply said, it is dumpy, dirty, the service is awful and it goes down from there. The only good thing was it was cheap, and the sheets appeared freshly washed. The TV only gets one channel, and there is no remote in the room- you have to go beg the office for one. And then it only works with a few channels, and will not turn on and off except manually. The bathroom was obviously not mopped recently. A hole in the wall in the bathroom was stuffed closed with a wad of toilet paper. The safety lock on the door was busted and pulled out of the wall. The furniture was old, scarred and partially broken. Large screws in the walls where something must have hung some time back. No amenities in the bathroom except soap. The advertised a continental breakfast and complimentary coffee. When I left at 8:15 they were just turning the coffee urn on, and no sign of any breakfast. I wouldn't have eaten it in there even if there were something to eat. I am so glad my wife was not with me: she would not have stayed one second in that place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thomson hotels

Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

I had the opportunity to go to the Masters tournament for a few of the practice rounds. Originally I was going to stay in Atlanta and drive each morning........I am so glad that I didn't. The ride from Atlanta was approximately 2hrs while the drive from Thomson is only 30 mins. While I did my research to stay in Augusta the prices were really high for the quality of the hotel. While the Scottish Inns are not the Marriott, they were very nice and helpful. They provided free breakfast starting early in the morning (coffee, bagels, fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc.). The staff was very friendly which comes in handy at 6 am to have a smiling face to greet you.

We were not looking for anything fancy and if you are the same this hotel will do just fine. I am hoping to be lucky enough to attend the Masters again next year and I will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

This place is a dump.

Maybe OK if you're with a bunch of guys who don't give a darn, but otherwise stay away. I don't mind modest accomodations, but I at least want them clean.

The non-smoking room reeked of smoke.
Taco sauce stains on the walls.
Bloody fingerprints in the bathrooom.
Graffiti on the mirror.
A box spring that had sprung.

We went to Wallmart and picked up Fabreeze and a Glade plug-in so that we could stomach the place---that and we made sure we came back very late.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpatel1111, Manager at Scottish Inn Thomson, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Its under new management, and we took over the property in April 2007, we have been making changes, why don't you give us a try again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottish Inn Thomson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Inn Thomson

Address: 1847 Washington Road, Hwy 78 & I-20, Thomson, GA 30824
Location: United States > Georgia > Thomson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Thomson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Scottish Inn Thomson 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
56 rooms, inside corridor, provide a safe environment for our guest. Restaurant nearby within walking distance. Local and long distance phone calls free. WIFI free in the rooms. Free ice. Parking free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scottish Inn Thomson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Inn Thomson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.