We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still A Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liam's Restaurant

Liam's Restaurant
113 E Jackson St, Thomasville, GA 31792-5136
+1 229-226-9944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 74 Restaurants in Thomasville
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Honest, fresh ingredients that are scrutinized in order to bring you great meals without fluff. It is our goal to let the food shine through. We offer knowledgeable & happy servers, an amazing selection of cheese, craft cocktails, craft beer & interesting wines, garden dining, specialty events, catering services & a cozy, friendly atmosphere. We love food, but we are not pretentious about it, we just want you to love it too!
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Still A Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had another great dinner at Liam's during the Victorian Christmas Festival. Between the four of us, we ordered two sea scallops entrees, the hangar steak, and the pork tenderloin. All three dishes were prepared as ordered and were simply delicious. Even on a crowded night, our server was courteous and promptly responded to our requests. We shared a cheese tray appetizer chosen by the owner after discussing with us our likes and dislikes. She put together a great selection that was thoroughly enjoyed by all. When compared to similar restaurants in Tallahassee or Atlanta, the cost of our meal was very much in line and a great value for the quality of the food we enjoyed. This is a keeper for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    17
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant - Incredibly knowledgeable owner - Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I visited Liam's today for what was our second trip there. Liam's is over an hour from where we live and is well worth the drive. The first time we went was over the summer for dinner and we have been excited about returning. Today we went for brunch, armed with a Groupon (We would have come without it and been just as satisfied.)

First of all, when you're inside this place you feel like you are far from the deep south. The place is cozy and the owner, Rhonda, is omnipresent. You see her in the kitchen, behind the register, serving and shmoozing, and most notably she is some kind of master fromager. The cheese selection is out of this world and if you leave it in Rhonda's hands, you will not be disappointed.

After our cheese board, which came with Spanish almonds and some kind of blueberry (Maine?) honey, we had the Croque Madame (Ham, eggs, cheesy sauce and some other surprises) which came with a salad or fruit. We also got the Pain Perdu (Lost French Toast) which was delicious bread coated in nuts and granola type stuff and served like french toast.

We told the server that we would be sharing each dish and she took the liberty of splitting each menu item into two plates for us, so that the sauces and flavors wouldn't run together. Much appreciated!

As if this wasn't enough, my wife had a mimosa (which she really enjoyed) and I had the "Rude Awakening" - 3 shots of espresso, 2 sugars and steamed/frothy milk. It is served in a huge bowl essentially. We wanted to try the beignets but were too stuffed to order the huge portion we saw served to someone else. The server put four tiny ones on a plate for us to sample (at no charge!).

This is how a small business is supposed to be; Friendly, welcoming, inviting, delicious, attention to details, great customer service. Anything other than a 5 star review of this place is either a complete fluke or someone with grudge. (Check the number of contributions someone has when a reviewer posts extremely negative reviews.)

Our total was around $45 + tip.

We will DEFINITELY be back. Make a reservation in plenty of advance - this place fills up quickly and there is a reason it does.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda F, Owner at Liam's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Too often, owners tend to concentrate on the bad reviews, so I just wanted to take a minute out to say thank you. We do really care about what we serve and I will definitely pass your comments onto the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Pricey Restaurant With An Attention Deficit Problem”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I recently had a dinner at Liam's on a Saturday night. We were seated promptly and our server handed us menus. The two of us were first given three tiny pieces of room temperature bread with butter while we peered over the limited selections in the very pricey menu.
We both opted for the sea scallops and risotto with a tomato bisque and crab appetizer. The food was good (it should be, for the price). However, it is appeared to us that this restaurdant has several "regulars" who command virtually all the attention of the servers. If you are "unknowns" like we were, the servers rarely attend to you. We had to ask for more bread even though our bread plate had been empty for over 15 minutes, we waited some time to have our dinner plates cleared from our table (both the bisque and entree), and we then sat for quite some time after all the table dishes had been cleared, waiting for our check. When it was finally delivered--after I asked for it from the water boy since we could never get the eye of our distracted server-- we waited another 20 minutes for payment to be collected while we twiddled our thumbs watching our server flit about a table of "regulars," doing all she could to pump up her tip from the obviously intoxicated large group of diners.
I honestly think we could have walked out without paying and not have been noticed, but we would never do that. However, our tip dropped with each passing waiting minute.
Ironically, we came to Liam's by reason of a Groupon offered in Tallahassee (35 miles away), presumably for the purpose of expanding the restaurant's customer base. They knew we were using the Groupon and you'd think they'd try to get to know us a bit and invite us to return. This was not the case, however. Instead of being felt welcome and appreciated, we felt like we were an annoying interruption to entertaining the "regulars."
A meal for two will easily push $100 or more. If you spend that much, you deserve better service than Liam's provided . Thankfully, our Groupon reduced the cost of this trip to Liam's. We will not return. We can find food just as good coupled with friendly and attentive service in Tallahssee and avoid the 70 mile round trip drive. My wife and I will skip this pricey restaurant with an attention deficit problem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wish we could have tried it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

With such a long line at the spectacular Jonah's next door, we decided to give this place a shot. When the hostess told us they could seat our party immediately, we cancelled our reservation at Jonah's and proceeded to our table - only to be informed by a different staff member that the table in question was unfortunately reserved but they would be happy to add us to their list. No apology, no admission of having made what was likely just an honest mistake. Instead - a lecture on how busy they were. Get it together folks - no second chances in hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Incredibly delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

In Thomasville for The Plantation Wildlife Arts Festival and stopped in Liam's at closing time (2:00). They graciously let us in anyway. We were so impressed with the service that we made reservations for dinner that evening. What an incredible meal! By far one of the best restaurants we have had the pleasure of dining at. Started with a beet salad (pickled in-house) then, quail with a gnocci, smoked duck and black garlic cream sauce that was one of the best dinners I have ever had. Excellent wine and finished off with bananas foster with a dark chocolate gelato! The service was excellent. The entire wait staff checked on us. We could not be more pleased with a restaurant and it's staff and will come back to Thomasville just to have dinner at Liam's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liam's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Liam's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liam's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.