We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and sophisticated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Amlapura | Tejakula, Sembiran, Sembiran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simple and sophisticated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stopped at Villa Boreh on our way from Seririt to Amed and stayed there 2 nights. We found everything to be outstanding.
Different types of bungalows, with great taste.The luxuriant garden with peacocks and a friendly toucan. The staff are just wonderful. All is thought to be as eco-friendly as possible. The spa is so relaxing, with home-made products only. The food is simple and sophisticated, and the swimming pools are just a delight by the sea.
No doubt we'll stay longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
23
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful days relaxing at the Villa Boreh this January and we are so glad that we did. The wildlife is unique and the surroundings are picturesque. This resort is home to a cheeky family of Toucans that were just as fascinated by us as we were of them! The food was simple but amazing and I can not praise the staff highly enough, brilliant service and genuinely friendly. Being the rainy season, the weather was very hot and muggy and I made the mistake of booking a room without aircon and although the room was beautiful, it was just too muggy to sleep. Sanur, the manager was very accommodating and moved us to an air conditioned room at no extra charge. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay. My teenager loved the Archery lessons and although we did not partake in the Yoga that the retreat offers, other guests we spoke to said it was amazing. All in all, this was an amazing place and the best value of all the places we visited. Be sure to take a trip to the waterfalls, Sanur is a brilliant guide.

Room Tip: I would recommend an air conditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you're looking for a place to kick back and relax while birdsong and the sound of the sea envelop you, Villa Boreh is the place to be. This magical piece of paradise sits in beautifully manicured gardens, each villa is perfectly designed, the restaurant serves mouthwatering food and the staff is incredibly friendly. I loved every moment and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Villa Boreh is a hidden jewel on the north east coast of Bali. Lovely accommodation, so relaxing, good food at very reasonable prices. If you just want to chill and admire the beautiful hornbill birds, sit by the ocean and enjoy breakfast, or swim in one of the pools this is the place. Staff are outstanding and accommodation varied according to taste and budget. Well worth the effort to go there.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have fans and no aircon. It was very warm when we were there so grateful for the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were here in 2011 and had the most unexpected and relaxing vacation. The only downside is that we try to match all other vacation spots to this now, which is extremely difficult to do. I actually found this place looking for off the trail hotels where we would not be disturbed with people trying to sell us stuff. We only booked 4 nights out of fear it would be a dump but we were shocked upon arrival. We were greeted by the friendliest staff, we ate the most delicious meals and really realized what a relaxing vacation should be. I only hope one day we can return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was part of Jan Earl's Yoga Retreat and was so impressed with Villa Boreh - the words fabulous, magnificent, marvellous, peaceful and wonderful spring to mind when thinking of this Resort. This is one place you should place on your "bucket list" . Danielle (our host) and the Resort staff treated us like we were family - nothing was too much trouble. We had so much fun with all of the staff. You can see that they really do care and love their job. Danielle's husband, Kadek, was so knowledgable, taking us to a waterfall, local village and temple and telling us all about the local flora and fauna - a delightful gentleman. The accommodation, food and massages were incredible, easily the best I have ever experienced. Our villa was open on three sides and you felt like you were camping in a tropical forest without having to worry about mosquitoes, bugs, etc! Danielle and her staff even gently "relocated" a very loud frog who was disturbing my sleep. He went to another pond away from the sleeping areas! We loved the extra touches like flowers on the beds and throughout the villa. The villas were very throroughly and beautifully cleaned every day - something that I have not experienced before! The dining areas and pool areas were always so clean and adorned with flowers every day. They make their own soap, shampoo, conditioner and gels - they are absolutely beautiful - glorious perfume and really do the job! I have only a few suggestions - could they provide hand towels, and top sheets in the villas. Some of the villas have bedrooms upstairs and I feel handrails on the stairs would make it safer, particularly if you need to use the stairs at night. Also may I suggest that a photo board of staff and names be supplied maybe near the bar area). They knew our names from day one (courtesy of passport photo's) and we would like to have been able to use theirs. I understand that this resort is No.2 in the region - it certainly should be No.1 in my opinion as we did stay in the No.1 after leaving Villa Boreh. I thoroughly recommend this Resort to anyone, whether you are in a group, as I was, or with family, friends or even solo - you would be treated the same! Will certainly be back in the future!

Room Tip: Loved the 2 bedroom Beach Alang Alang - open to the beautiful gardens, pools and a fabulous view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaxland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I found Villa Boreh resort to be a very special retreat, perfect for a variety of purposes. My experience was as part of a yoga group and for this purpose the resort is excellent. especially the beautiful seminar area where we did our yoga sessions. The mats were laid out by staff before each session and the area decorated with beautiful flower arrangements. The yoga area is cooled by fans and set amongst lush tropical vegetation. The layout of the resort is very good as it provides different styles of accommodation, all clean and comfortable, with the two pools that provide areas of shade and sun according to the time of day, and a choice of places to play or rest. We were spoilt with the resort offering alternate eating areas with some dinners by the sea, another dinner in the balinese style restaurant area, and breakfasts near the pool; at all meals the food variety, quality and taste was excellent. Staff are very friendly and happy, and the massage and beauty treatments are outstanding. Villa Boreh offers a variety of activities and nothing is too much trouble. The travel to the north of Bali from the airport provides a good overview of the island as you go through traditional villages, over hills, and through valleys, a good Balinese experience. I highly recommend this resort. Linda T

Room Tip: check with Danielle, there are a variety of room choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sembiran
28.7 mi away
The Samaya Bali
The Samaya Bali
#2 of 144 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
17.2 mi away
Damai
Damai
#1 of 19 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
39.9 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 14 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.3 mi away
The Legian Bali – a GHM hotel
42.5 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 66 in Legian
4.5 of 5 stars 3,406 reviews
23.8 mi away
Villa Alba Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel

Address: Jalan Amlapura | Tejakula, Sembiran, Sembiran, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sembiran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sembiran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa is located on the north east coast of Bali, in the village of Sembiran, between Singaraja and Amed. There are no discotheques, trendy cafes or crowds of tourists, but this area boasts some fantastic hidden gems not written about in any guidebooks. Villa Boreh Beach Resort & Spa has a total of 14 rooms and offers a wide range of on-site activities, from yoga and archery to diving and sport fishing – or get out and explore the island with Villa Boreh’s excursions and tours, off the beaten track. Tucked away in a remote village, surrounded by tropical gardens, right on the sea, Villa Boreh is a true 'retreat' destination – a sanctuary of serenity.The full service restaurant serves a fantastic mix of Balinese fusion cuisine. You can indulge yourself in the Boreh Spa treatment centre, which offers a range of massages, facials and body scrubs, using their own line of Boreh Spa products, manufactured on-site, made with only 100% natural ingredients.Want to see the real Bali in eco-luxe style? Come and discover Villa Boreh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.