We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel
Jalan Amlapura | Tejakula, Sembiran, Sembiran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A trip to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you're looking for a place to kick back and relax while birdsong and the sound of the sea envelop you, Villa Boreh is the place to be. This magical piece of paradise sits in beautifully manicured gardens, each villa is perfectly designed, the restaurant serves mouthwatering food and the staff is incredibly friendly. I loved every moment and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
14
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Villa Boreh is a hidden jewel on the north east coast of Bali. Lovely accommodation, so relaxing, good food at very reasonable prices. If you just want to chill and admire the beautiful hornbill birds, sit by the ocean and enjoy breakfast, or swim in one of the pools this is the place. Staff are outstanding and accommodation varied according to taste and budget. Well worth the effort to go there.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have fans and no aircon. It was very warm when we were there so grateful for the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were here in 2011 and had the most unexpected and relaxing vacation. The only downside is that we try to match all other vacation spots to this now, which is extremely difficult to do. I actually found this place looking for off the trail hotels where we would not be disturbed with people trying to sell us stuff. We only booked 4 nights out of fear it would be a dump but we were shocked upon arrival. We were greeted by the friendliest staff, we ate the most delicious meals and really realized what a relaxing vacation should be. I only hope one day we can return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was part of Jan Earl's Yoga Retreat and was so impressed with Villa Boreh - the words fabulous, magnificent, marvellous, peaceful and wonderful spring to mind when thinking of this Resort. This is one place you should place on your "bucket list" . Danielle (our host) and the Resort staff treated us like we were family - nothing was too much trouble. We had so much fun with all of the staff. You can see that they really do care and love their job. Danielle's husband, Kadek, was so knowledgable, taking us to a waterfall, local village and temple and telling us all about the local flora and fauna - a delightful gentleman. The accommodation, food and massages were incredible, easily the best I have ever experienced. Our villa was open on three sides and you felt like you were camping in a tropical forest without having to worry about mosquitoes, bugs, etc! Danielle and her staff even gently "relocated" a very loud frog who was disturbing my sleep. He went to another pond away from the sleeping areas! We loved the extra touches like flowers on the beds and throughout the villa. The villas were very throroughly and beautifully cleaned every day - something that I have not experienced before! The dining areas and pool areas were always so clean and adorned with flowers every day. They make their own soap, shampoo, conditioner and gels - they are absolutely beautiful - glorious perfume and really do the job! I have only a few suggestions - could they provide hand towels, and top sheets in the villas. Some of the villas have bedrooms upstairs and I feel handrails on the stairs would make it safer, particularly if you need to use the stairs at night. Also may I suggest that a photo board of staff and names be supplied maybe near the bar area). They knew our names from day one (courtesy of passport photo's) and we would like to have been able to use theirs. I understand that this resort is No.2 in the region - it certainly should be No.1 in my opinion as we did stay in the No.1 after leaving Villa Boreh. I thoroughly recommend this Resort to anyone, whether you are in a group, as I was, or with family, friends or even solo - you would be treated the same! Will certainly be back in the future!

Room Tip: Loved the 2 bedroom Beach Alang Alang - open to the beautiful gardens, pools and a fabulous view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaxland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I found Villa Boreh resort to be a very special retreat, perfect for a variety of purposes. My experience was as part of a yoga group and for this purpose the resort is excellent. especially the beautiful seminar area where we did our yoga sessions. The mats were laid out by staff before each session and the area decorated with beautiful flower arrangements. The yoga area is cooled by fans and set amongst lush tropical vegetation. The layout of the resort is very good as it provides different styles of accommodation, all clean and comfortable, with the two pools that provide areas of shade and sun according to the time of day, and a choice of places to play or rest. We were spoilt with the resort offering alternate eating areas with some dinners by the sea, another dinner in the balinese style restaurant area, and breakfasts near the pool; at all meals the food variety, quality and taste was excellent. Staff are very friendly and happy, and the massage and beauty treatments are outstanding. Villa Boreh offers a variety of activities and nothing is too much trouble. The travel to the north of Bali from the airport provides a good overview of the island as you go through traditional villages, over hills, and through valleys, a good Balinese experience. I highly recommend this resort. Linda T

Room Tip: check with Danielle, there are a variety of room choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just left villa boreh where we spent 4 wonderful days. Our family and friends enjoyed the location very much. First, it is great to have a bungalow that you can share with your kids. Second, the bungalow are open (no windows) so you are in total immersion with the nature, animals, noises ...
It feels simply terrific to wake up early in the morning before sunrise, sit at the pool, watch the sun rise in the sea and see the animals coming by!
The garden is wonderful and our kids loved to play and hide all around the place. We enjoyed the 2 swimming pools, the excursion to the nearby waterfall, diving in Tulamben just one hour drive away and our friends went fishing. The fish was then grilled for lunch, what a great experience!
The only minus would be that it is really a long drive from the airport. Most of us did not mind but if you get easily sick in the car, consider it is a long drive, about 5 hours with a lunch break, and it goes up and down high mountains of about 1700 m high with lots of curves in it!
Thanks to the whole team for making this stay so wonderful. We will miss you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Have just returned from a truely wonderful experience, in such an idyllic place at Villa Boreh. Located north of Bali and nestled amongst the local villages, there are no tourists, and no hassles. We were treated so well by the staff, and hosted by Danielle, all our requests were met, nothing was too much trouble. We were able to visit the local attractions, experience the rising sun off the Bali Sea as well the the early evening tranquility. All accomodation villas and rooms were different, in particular the Grand Master! You can book a different type of spa or massage every day, and they are the best I've ever experienced. Would definately recommend a visit to Villa Boreh for anyone wanting to experince the real Bali.

Room Tip: Villa's close to the beach which you can hear, if you don't mind open living.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel

Address: Jalan Amlapura | Tejakula, Sembiran, Sembiran, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sembiran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Sembiran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa is located on the north east coast of Bali, in the village of Sembiran, between Singaraja and Amed. There are no discotheques, trendy cafes or crowds of tourists, but this area boasts some fantastic hidden gems not written about in any guidebooks. Villa Boreh Beach Resort & Spa has a total of 14 rooms and offers a wide range of on-site activities, from yoga and archery to diving and sport fishing – or get out and explore the island with Villa Boreh’s excursions and tours, off the beaten track. Tucked away in a remote village, surrounded by tropical gardens, right on the sea, Villa Boreh is a true 'retreat' destination – a sanctuary of serenity.The full service restaurant serves a fantastic mix of Balinese fusion cuisine. You can indulge yourself in the Boreh Spa treatment centre, which offers a range of massages, facials and body scrubs, using their own line of Boreh Spa products, manufactured on-site, made with only 100% natural ingredients.Want to see the real Bali in eco-luxe style? Come and discover Villa Boreh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.