We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lynn S Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel
Jalan Amlapura | Tejakula, Sembiran, Sembiran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Retreat Offer
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lynn S Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was part of Jan Earl's Yoga Retreat and was so impressed with Villa Boreh - the words fabulous, magnificent, marvellous, peaceful and wonderful spring to mind when thinking of this Resort. This is one place you should place on your "bucket list" . Danielle (our host) and the Resort staff treated us like we were family - nothing was too much trouble. We had so much fun with all of the staff. You can see that they really do care and love their job. Danielle's husband, Kadek, was so knowledgable, taking us to a waterfall, local village and temple and telling us all about the local flora and fauna - a delightful gentleman. The accommodation, food and massages were incredible, easily the best I have ever experienced. Our villa was open on three sides and you felt like you were camping in a tropical forest without having to worry about mosquitoes, bugs, etc! Danielle and her staff even gently "relocated" a very loud frog who was disturbing my sleep. He went to another pond away from the sleeping areas! We loved the extra touches like flowers on the beds and throughout the villa. The villas were very throroughly and beautifully cleaned every day - something that I have not experienced before! The dining areas and pool areas were always so clean and adorned with flowers every day. They make their own soap, shampoo, conditioner and gels - they are absolutely beautiful - glorious perfume and really do the job! I have only a few suggestions - could they provide hand towels, and top sheets in the villas. Some of the villas have bedrooms upstairs and I feel handrails on the stairs would make it safer, particularly if you need to use the stairs at night. Also may I suggest that a photo board of staff and names be supplied maybe near the bar area). They knew our names from day one (courtesy of passport photo's) and we would like to have been able to use theirs. I understand that this resort is No.2 in the region - it certainly should be No.1 in my opinion as we did stay in the No.1 after leaving Villa Boreh. I thoroughly recommend this Resort to anyone, whether you are in a group, as I was, or with family, friends or even solo - you would be treated the same! Will certainly be back in the future!

Room Tip: Loved the 2 bedroom Beach Alang Alang - open to the beautiful gardens, pools and a fabulous view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
16
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blaxland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I found Villa Boreh resort to be a very special retreat, perfect for a variety of purposes. My experience was as part of a yoga group and for this purpose the resort is excellent. especially the beautiful seminar area where we did our yoga sessions. The mats were laid out by staff before each session and the area decorated with beautiful flower arrangements. The yoga area is cooled by fans and set amongst lush tropical vegetation. The layout of the resort is very good as it provides different styles of accommodation, all clean and comfortable, with the two pools that provide areas of shade and sun according to the time of day, and a choice of places to play or rest. We were spoilt with the resort offering alternate eating areas with some dinners by the sea, another dinner in the balinese style restaurant area, and breakfasts near the pool; at all meals the food variety, quality and taste was excellent. Staff are very friendly and happy, and the massage and beauty treatments are outstanding. Villa Boreh offers a variety of activities and nothing is too much trouble. The travel to the north of Bali from the airport provides a good overview of the island as you go through traditional villages, over hills, and through valleys, a good Balinese experience. I highly recommend this resort. Linda T

Room Tip: check with Danielle, there are a variety of room choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just left villa boreh where we spent 4 wonderful days. Our family and friends enjoyed the location very much. First, it is great to have a bungalow that you can share with your kids. Second, the bungalow are open (no windows) so you are in total immersion with the nature, animals, noises ...
It feels simply terrific to wake up early in the morning before sunrise, sit at the pool, watch the sun rise in the sea and see the animals coming by!
The garden is wonderful and our kids loved to play and hide all around the place. We enjoyed the 2 swimming pools, the excursion to the nearby waterfall, diving in Tulamben just one hour drive away and our friends went fishing. The fish was then grilled for lunch, what a great experience!
The only minus would be that it is really a long drive from the airport. Most of us did not mind but if you get easily sick in the car, consider it is a long drive, about 5 hours with a lunch break, and it goes up and down high mountains of about 1700 m high with lots of curves in it!
Thanks to the whole team for making this stay so wonderful. We will miss you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Have just returned from a truely wonderful experience, in such an idyllic place at Villa Boreh. Located north of Bali and nestled amongst the local villages, there are no tourists, and no hassles. We were treated so well by the staff, and hosted by Danielle, all our requests were met, nothing was too much trouble. We were able to visit the local attractions, experience the rising sun off the Bali Sea as well the the early evening tranquility. All accomodation villas and rooms were different, in particular the Grand Master! You can book a different type of spa or massage every day, and they are the best I've ever experienced. Would definately recommend a visit to Villa Boreh for anyone wanting to experince the real Bali.

Room Tip: Villa's close to the beach which you can hear, if you don't mind open living.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I recently ran a Yoga Retreat at Villa Boreh for the first time and it exceeded all my expectations. Villa Boreh is situation in an idyllic location right on the beach on the north coast of Bali - away from tourists. Danielle who was our host and is a wonderful communicator before and during the Retreat, which made the Retreat run very smoothly. The staff were simply delightful and looked after us in every way. The food was amazing, massages and treatments were some of the best I've ever had. The yoga pavillion is ideal and we even did yoga at sunrise right by the sea. I brought a group of 15 to Villa Boreh and everyone had a wonderful time and they were the best group!! The villas are all unique and set in a beautiful tropical garden with 2 swimming pools. I have booked another Yoga Retreat for next year and am looking forward to it already!! I would highly recommend Villa Boreh.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week at Villa Boreh. We were on a yoga retreat there. Wow, Villa Boreh is truly Amazing! If you want to experience the real Bali, uneffected by the tourists of Bali's south and probably what the people and the land were like years ago, beautiful, luxurious villas, all unique, comfortable and clean, with outside bathrooms, beautiful, tropical gardens, looking out at the ocean...then this is for you! The staff really make the experience special. They are so loving and proud of the work they do and the food is just delicious! We were really, really happy and couldn't fault our experience! We experienced the local culture with a village tour, a waterfall swim, village musicians and dancers and set sail at sunrise in local fishermen's boats! We would thoroughly recommend Villa Boreh to the astute traveller who enjoys excellent food, great service, beautiful, unique accommodation, being made feel special, all surrounded by the true Beaty of Bali and its people!

Room Tip: They were all very different and all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosman, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Villa Boreh is a piece of paradise tucked away on the quiet, tranquil north coast of Bali. The staff are super friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We were well looked after, the food was great and, having brought a group of 13 to Villa Boreh, I was delighted that every single member of the group had a wonderful time. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the White House or, if you want al fresco, go the Beach Alang
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel

Address: Jalan Amlapura | Tejakula, Sembiran, Sembiran, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sembiran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sembiran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa is located on the north east coast of Bali, in the village of Sembiran, between Singaraja and Amed. There are no discotheques, trendy cafes or crowds of tourists, but this area boasts some fantastic hidden gems not written about in any guidebooks. Villa Boreh Beach Resort & Spa has a total of 14 rooms and offers a wide range of on-site activities, from yoga and archery to diving and sport fishing – or get out and explore the island with Villa Boreh’s excursions and tours, off the beaten track. Tucked away in a remote village, surrounded by tropical gardens, right on the sea, Villa Boreh is a true 'retreat' destination – a sanctuary of serenity.The full service restaurant serves a fantastic mix of Balinese fusion cuisine. You can indulge yourself in the Boreh Spa treatment centre, which offers a range of massages, facials and body scrubs, using their own line of Boreh Spa products, manufactured on-site, made with only 100% natural ingredients.Want to see the real Bali in eco-luxe style? Come and discover Villa Boreh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.