We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardens, Gurus and Volcanoes.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel
Jalan Amlapura | Tejakula, Sembiran, Sembiran, Bali, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Gardens, Gurus and Volcanoes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I spent a month on Bali and stayed at several hotels. The Villa Boreh was the jewel of our trip! The resort was not in our original plans, but we moved there from a noisier resort that had much construction. The Villa Boreh gave us the peace we needed, and more! The staff was outstanding and waited on our every desire.

It is located on the shore, a few Km West of Bondalem. There are five rooms with outdoor baths and six bungalows of various sizes and prices. The hotel offers day trips and excursions around the area, we went up to Mt. Batur which was interesting but a long day on winding roads. If you a prone to motion sickness, take a pill a few hours before the trip. Mt. Batur is an interesting volcano of huge proportions with two lakes in the crater that you can drive thru.

The facility offers several stone pathways that can serve as a labyrinth for a meditation walk thru the extensive and well tended gardens, including two toucans. There are beautiful surprises at every turn. If you are interested in yoga stretches or meditation, there is a large meditation pavilion that we found useful. This pavilion was near our room and just above the plunge pool that was at our doorstep. In front of the plunge pool was our veranda with comfortable lounge chairs. How could it get any better? If you are looking for a place to take a break from the cares of the world, my husband and I would strongly recommend the Villa Boreh! Great surroundings, a carrying staff, and tasty food (try the chocolate banana pancakes) . . . The Villa is the best!

Room Tip: Take a look at the villas if you have a large group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
13
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

In my opinion, the measure of a hotel is how well they receive and resolve guest issues. Villa Boreh is excellent at this and is what I would say makes it a worthwhile stay. There will be issues wherever we stay, and at Villa Boreh they resolved our issues with good humour and reasonable solutions. Our 4 night stay was very pleasant and we would highly recommend the Villa.

Be prepared: 

1. Villa Boreh is an eco friendly resort and so expect to commune with nature. This means no a/c for most rooms and bugs. We stayed in the Big Master so we had a/c but it was a small unit for a large area (~1,000sq ft) and only just sufficed. We are acclimatized to the heat of Indonesia so the a/c may well not be adequate for those who like a room temp below 22 deg C. Our bathroom was outdoors, around the corner from our room and included mosquitos, wasps, and general bug life. Just be prepared for that.

2. Our bathroom was open to the hallway with a 4 foot tall door (easy to see over) and our room wall to wall windows all around. The bedroom had complete curtain coverage but the bathroom was pretty open. If you are sensitive to being glimpsed by housekeeping staff or the next door neighbor, book a different room or shower in the dark.

3. Our room looked like a Calvin Klein advert; clean and beautiful but sparse. There are no chairs (floor pillows instead), no drawers to put our clothes, no garbage can, fridge, coffee maker or phone to the front desk.

4. The dolphin and squid fishing are two hours sitting on a foot long, six inch wide plank with your knees scrunched up. The excursions are on a traditional Bali outrigger which is super cool but not comfortable.

5. If you are driven by a local staff member, be prepared for Indonesian exuberant driving, meaning you may spend most of it with your hands over your eyes.

6. The drive to the Villa from the airport is about 3.5 hours and about 45 minutes of it is very steep and windy. If you are even remotely sensitive to car sickness, take Dramamine or some measure to not get sick.

7. Besides the excursions put on by the Villa, there is nothing to do. I mean, nothing. No restaurants, places to shop, walks down the beach, nada. For us this was great- all we need is a pool and french fries, but just be prepared. Bring books! (No internet to download them so download before you go!)

Pros:

1. Danielle and the owner join guests for meals. This is a really nice touch and gives guests the opportunity to interact, be introduced to other guests and learn about their pretty awesome experiences.

2. Dinner is buffet style of fresh daily seafood. It is very well presented and tasty. The dinner is a great value.

3. The grounds are well laid out for maximum privacy of each room and we felt like we were on our own private property. The foliage is lush and varied. The grounds, pool and public areas are very well cared for and feel like a 5 star resort.

4. The Breakfast and Lunch menu is kid friendly and has a good selection. The lunch curries and pastas are good, with french fries and fried chicken for the kids. Pancakes (bring your own syrup!) for breakfast.

Cons

1. Lost opportunity for cultural exchange. Of the four excursions we took, two were given by folks who didn't speak English. This really limited the value of the experience since we couldn't ask questions about where we were or what was going on. Almost always chatting with taxi drivers, housekeepers and front desk staff is how I learn about a cultures everyday life. The majority of the Villa staff do not speak English and this opportunity was lost.

2. Internet connection is poor. Our connectivity to the wireless network was intermittent and slow when it was connected. 3G is not available and we spent most of the time on Telkomsel edge network.

3. Skip the Laundry service. While it is cheap (Rp25,000 for pants), ours took three days, arrived damp, smelly and we had to ask for it many times. This issue badly affected the next 4 days of our trip so I'm still upset about it! :(
4. We would order our breakfast and lunch an hour before we wanted to eat. The food is great but it takes a long time to get it. It was fine once we understood this but it took us a few meals to figure it out.
Again, overall we loved this place and people, and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get specifics on where your bathroom is in relation to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We intended to stay a few days, and stayed two weeks at Villa Boreh in March 2011. It was beyond all of our expectations!

Away from the rush and bustle of tourist traps, Villa Boreh is an oasis of peace and quite situated right on the ocean in Northern Bali. The property is a veritable botanical garden inhabited by exotic birds, beautifully landscaped and expertly groomed. Beautiful Balinese sculptures can be admired throughout the property.

Our aircon private villa was very clean, spacious and comfortable and had a private patio. Shampoos, soaps, etc., are made on site from natural, organic ingredients.

Service was excellent, and friendly; we were treated like VIPs. The pools, fed by natural springs, are a welcomed relief from the Bali heat. Food is freshly prepared and delicious. Escargos and lobsters are farmed right on the property. The resort offers expert spa services and a variety of tour packages.

An expert guide/driver took us to various points of interest in Northern Bali and then to Southern Bali on 2 day tour on the way back to the airport.

It was the best holiday experience. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed at Villa Boreh for a Life Alignment Course. Wonderful Staff, no problems with anything you need or want, always happy to go out of their way to make your experience at the Villa an experience of comfort and pleasure.

The Transfer and little side trips were great. The room I was in was beautiful and the treatments were amazing (recomend the creme hair bath treatment ! awesome)

Shiobhan

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I was totally surprised after a very long trip to get to Villa Boreh (the scenery on the way was captivating though). The accomodation was traditional Balinese Losmon (2 storey). Open verandah's with bed's surrounded by mossie nets. Rock garden bathroom. Not your average touristly accomodation. A real Balinese feel. Danielle and her staff are at your disposal with a smile and generous care. I had a massage every morning and loved them. Ask for an Aromatherapy massage if you dont like too much pressure. Im a Massage Therapist and it was a pleasure to be pampered with such professionalism. The setting is gorgeous too. Surrounded by stunning greenery, and the ocean right there. The staff that produced the food prepared it with love. Yummy, a delight each meal. If you are wanting a group, retreat get away I strongly recommend staying here. Deb Turner

Room Tip: There is different types of accomodation available. To truly enjoy a traditional Balinese stay, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PErth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I Stayed at Villa Boreh during a 2 week Life Alignment Course and it was the most perfect place to be. Staff are wonderful, the accomodation is amazing and the food is fantastic.

Villa Boreh is a sanctuary, a peaceful retreat from the world. You are surrounded by nature and peace. Don't forget to check out the black rainbow over the pool near the villas.

Room Tip: They are all good, each unique and special. I stayed in the hugest room in the hugest bed!!! You cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We just ran a 13 day retreat at Villa Boreh for Life Alignment (see.www.life-alignment.com) and we were thrilled with the level of care that we received. The venue is just beautiful. Attention to details and high level of care was my experience. Nothing was an issue for them. They have a great co ordinator called Danielle, who is fantastic. She made it all so easy to organise an event like this overseas. They organised all the airport and hotel transfers for us. They took us on amazing tourist trips, and the food was fantastic. They make their own spa products and the treatments werre heaven! Its a fantastic place and one we will definately use again!! Thank you to all the wonderful staff there for a very special event!!!
Arleen Hanks

Room Tip: There is a wide range to choose from - all very high qualitity - from fairly open - to closed in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel

Address: Jalan Amlapura | Tejakula, Sembiran, Sembiran, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sembiran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Sembiran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa is located on the north east coast of Bali, in the village of Sembiran, between Singaraja and Amed. There are no discotheques, trendy cafes or crowds of tourists, but this area boasts some fantastic hidden gems not written about in any guidebooks. Villa Boreh Beach Resort & Spa has a total of 14 rooms and offers a wide range of on-site activities, from yoga and archery to diving and sport fishing – or get out and explore the island with Villa Boreh’s excursions and tours, off the beaten track. Tucked away in a remote village, surrounded by tropical gardens, right on the sea, Villa Boreh is a true 'retreat' destination – a sanctuary of serenity.The full service restaurant serves a fantastic mix of Balinese fusion cuisine. You can indulge yourself in the Boreh Spa treatment centre, which offers a range of massages, facials and body scrubs, using their own line of Boreh Spa products, manufactured on-site, made with only 100% natural ingredients.Want to see the real Bali in eco-luxe style? Come and discover Villa Boreh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Boreh Beach Resort and Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.