We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockin' at the Swan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Swan Inn to your Saves list
The Swan Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2, Main Road, Wybunbury CW5 7NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wybunbury B&B and Inns
Alsager, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rockin' at the Swan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Four of us called at The Swan Saturday night (23/11), for a pint and found the place full to the rafters. Despite being full we were met with the warmest of welcomes and served almost immediately.
The landlady was hosting a meal and party for 50 to 60 models to celebrate finishing a calendar photo shoot for the Anthony Nolan Trust.
As we arrived the The Scorpion Cheese Band - all local highly experienced musicians, were just getting ready to start. The landlord, stage name Mike Fabulous, was playing guitar and living up to his name. We were treated to a night of dancing to rock and roll from the 50's onwards. The beer, welcome and atmosphere couldn't be bettered. A totally un-expected brilliant evening, everyone having a great time. Congratulations Team Swan on a night to remember. Can't wait to go back!
P.S. When's the next party night?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swaninn2012, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
what a great night for a great cause, every one involved gets a big thankyou, glad you were part of it & enjoyed the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I purchased a steak meal for 2 on a groupon offer & decided to take up the offer last Saturday after a stressful day Xmas shopping.
After receiving directions to the Swan having managed to get lost trying to find the place, we arrived for our meal about 30 minutes late.

On arrival We were greeted wiith a very warm welcome from what appeared to be the landlady ,her daughter & the kind chap who provided directions over the phone.

after a little banter we were shown to our pre booked table, a comfy little spot in the window of this lovely country inn.We were promptly offered drinks & our orders taken.

It was not long before our steaks arrived at the table & well presented they were & cooked to perfection ( 1 x rare & 1 x medium rare )

We tucked in & both enjoyed our meals very much.

The only thing we feel would of improved the meal would of been old fashion home made, hand cut rustic chips instead of normal chips but hey we still ate the lot anyway..

We would of loved to have stayed for longer & maybe even stayed over for the night but we had other arrangements.

We look forward to visiting the swan again soon & may even think about trying out the accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swaninn2012, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
how good are you christmas shopping done !!, happy you had a nice meal with us (homemade chips are on the menu this week), we would love you to stay over the breakie is fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Myself,my partner and our dog stayed here for the weekend on a groupon deal B&B.
we arrived to a warm welcome from the staff and was shown to our room.
The room was well presented and clean with comfortable beds.
We had the full english breakfast which was great with good coffee.
We also had our evening meals here in the pub which again was great.
Wynbunbury is a beautiful quaint little village with bags of charm and history and we would stay here again without doubt.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swaninn2012, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
thankyou glad you enjoyed the swan inn, look forward to seeing you next time & your lovely dog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

we visited the Swan on a Thursday night using a groupon voucher for the steak and glass of wine or beer, I decided to have a starter noticing the whitebait on the menu bad mistake! we eat whitebait often and have always had this very hot and crisp, these were served soft and practically raw as though they had been boiled, very unusual and not at all nice. taking into account that we were coming for the steak there was not a lot that could go wrong, unfortunately the waitress managed to write down the wrong cooking instructions and my rare steak came out medium as my wife's steak was already on the table i decided to plod on. The steak was tasteless and bland to the point where we left most of the meal as there was no point to it. However the beer and the wine were both lovely, the staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swaninn2012, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hi im so very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the swan, I would like to offer you a free vist with the same deal you had any time, just give me a call to book, Lesley, 01270841280
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me and my wife love to go to the Swan for the welcoming atmosphere, I think it is a true " local" pub, we always feel valued as customers and there is always a warm welcome from the staff. The bad review someone has written does not reflect the Swan. Mike and Lesley work hard to provide the village with a comfortable hostelry to visit on these autumn /winter nights, and the entertainment provided is usually free ! The hog roasts are always a great occasion, to sum up, a great English pub
Phil S.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swaninn2012, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are happy you enjoy the Swan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wybunbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

after hearing bad reports about bonfire night there the year before we still gave the swan a chance, even after a couple of bad experiences with poor food on previous visits we thought it would be good to go to our local pub for fireworks, bonfire, food and drinks rather than drive out to somewhere else.
Greeted by a sign stating a "warm welcome" you'd be lucky to find it, i assume it was referencing that bonfire and not the pub! snubbed by bar staff and watching as people who walked up 10 minutes after us got served their drinks was the first issue, rest assured with the staff behind the bar outnumbering the Q on the other side it was hard to believe the time it took, rest assured you'd never get drunk in this place as the human body doesn't retain the alcohol as long as it takes to get served a drink from the bar.
Half of the pub, the nicer half with an open fire and sofas, was apparently "closed for people dining" , which was pointed out to us rather rudely by the staff after we'd gone in there to sit down (because it was empty )
Its a shame that a village pub has such a bad atmosphere and little facilities for the large number of families that live in the village. Its in a prime location and with the right management could be a cracking place, no surprise its struggling and most nights is empty baring a few die hard regulars. Imagine a hospice and you're not far off....

we won't be going back, nor our neighbours that accompanied us that night, the red lion is only another 30 seconds walk and has a warm welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swaninn2012, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
What a shame that opinionated people like you, who do not use the pub have not got the guts to say anything to the managment face to face,You have missed the whole thing which is the swan & a lot of very nice people giving something back to our locals (not you) with a free bonfire & fireworks, perhaps the word FREE is what brought you out. The only true thing in your review is you will not be useing the swan again.If you had any idea what goes on in the village you would know how popular the swan is. Lesley (i can put my name)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When you find yourself away from home for a few days and you see a sign above your bed saying "Arrive as strangers but leave as friends" I normally tut or sniff but this is true in the case of The Swan.

They went the extra mile for us, held the restaurant open for us despite no one being in the pub and above all, handled us well knowing we were working hard and were quite tiddly pomm at points.

Great location and a really good menu. Good beers and Champagnes too.

the staff really made it for us and wins a straight and easy 5 star both thumbs up

Room Tip: Slightly creeky bed and the church bells to ring but hey that just reminds you that you are in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swaninn2012, Owner at The Swan Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your time with us, however next time are you shareing the champagne !seeyou soon Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: 2, Main Road, Wybunbury CW5 7NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wybunbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wybunbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Inn is a traditional country inn, in a delightful setting, offering great beers a wide selection of spirits & a wine menu that covers all tastes. All our food is locally sourced and prepared fresh, daily. Our bedrooms are all unique and offer the comforts of home with beautiful surroundings of Wybunbury, including Wybunbury Moss and the church tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.