We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Pleasant Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whashton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Pleasant Farm
Save
You added Mount Pleasant Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Whashton, Richmond Dl11 7JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Whashton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Anglia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A real home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Have just returned home after spending three nights here with a group of friends and wish I could go straight back! I will really miss Alison's wonderful breakfasts. When we arrived (14 of us) we were met with a lovely log fire and tea and coffee and biscuits. The rooms are lovely, all are spotlessly clean, cosy and comfortable. I was lucky enough to be in the Bull Pen with the lovely 4-poster bed and jacuzzi bath but everyone was very happy with the accomodation. There is also a comfortable lounge for visitors use with a log fire. Breakfast is just fantastic - bone china cups and saucers, home-made jam, manuka honey and of course a delicious full English. We were lucky enough to have fresh English strawberries as well. Outside there is a lovely garden and of course you are welcome to wander round the farm and see the cows and sheep. If I could give 10 stars I would! Thank you Alison.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Quite simply one of the best establishments we have ever stayed in. If only all other B&Bs could meet this standard! Beautiful location; spacious, spotlessly clean rooms; comfortable beds; excellent breakfast- all topped by a standard of hospitality that is rarely encountered and could not be bettered. We were only able to stay one night but wished we had booked more. Many thanks for such a pleasant stay! Hope to book for longer next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful weekend away at Mount Pleasant farm. Arrived in the dark on Friday night to a friendly and warm welcome from Mrs Pittaway, who showed us to our accomodation which was absolutely fantastic. When we woke up on Saturday morning, after a wonderful nights sleep, we realised that the setting was just as beautiful as the room. Things just got even better as the weekend went on, with an excellent breakfast each morning served in a warm and homely atmosphere created by the friendly staff. We cannot wait to go back and share their delightful home again, as that's just how everyone at Mount Pleasant makes you feel, at home.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A party of ten members of the Cuneo Society spent five days at the Farm and considered it excellent in every way. Hospitality, rooms, food and environment were perfect. A great welcome from Mr & Mrs Pittaway made all feel at home.Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zommerzet
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Three night B&B break in such great accomodation and with such a homely hostess. As for the breakfasts, unbeatable, and with service to match.
Needed somewhere central for some family visiting in Northumberland and Yorkshire and this must have been the best around.... by the proverbial 'country mile!'
Will have to return.

Room Tip: Lovely views from our room in main farmhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Mount Pleasant farm in late April 2012 whilst enjoying a weekend in the Yorkshire dales.
We were originally booked to stay on a bed and breakfast basis in The Bullpen but a family with a disabled relative requested larger accomodation than they had originally asked for so Alison asked us if we would mind using High Barn, the luxury self catering house. Mind? wow not one bit!! We have stayed in some great places over the years but I reckon this one tops the lot. It is beautifully restored, very spacious and the views and surroundings are awesome.
As its name implies, High Barn is on high ground overlooking the surrounding countryside with views as far as the east coast and as far as the eye can see in near enough every other direction.
I can imagine staying here at any time of year and will make it a definite place to visit again to get to know Alison and Dirk better and spend some time on the farm which, I must also say, is the neatest best managed farm I have ever seen.

Room Tip: If you chose High Barn for self catering, you will do well to find anywhere better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

To be honest, not stayed here recently, last time was seven years ago, (The night Liverpool were in the Champions league cup final..., 25th May 2005) but we definitely will stay again when in the area. The welcome was first class, the room very cozy, and breakfast excellent. As you can see the farm made a lasting memory.......:-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Pleasant Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Farm

Address: Whashton, Richmond Dl11 7JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Whashton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whashton
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Pleasant Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Pleasant Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.