We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chain is still holding up....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q

Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
1103 Old Peachtree Road, Suwanee, GA
770-255-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 149 Restaurants in Suwanee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: 770.255.1717
Restaurant details
Description: 770.255.1717
Easley, South Carolina
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
456 helpful votes 456 helpful votes
“Chain is still holding up....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were leaving Atlanta heading home to Greenville, SC. We have dined at Jim 'N Nick's in Charlotte and Bluffton, SC several times. When we saw the sign on the interstate for this location we decided to try this location.

Arrived on a Sunday around 2:00pm, party of 5 was seated immediately. This location seemed a tad smaller than ones we had visited previously. Service started out sort of slow but picked up. Wife had bbq quesadillas w/a side salad. I had 1/4 chicken dark w/creamed spinach and baked beans. Oldest son ordered loaded bbq pork nachos. 2 younger boys had 2 pork sliders w/mashed potatoes and a cheeseburger w/mac 'n cheese, respectively.

We received a basket of their delicious muffins and they were piping hot with 2 for each of us. Server brought out another basket later and we took most of those home. Drinks were 4 sweet teas and 1 lemonade. The teas were great. Everybody in our family loves their crushed ice.

Our food came out prepared to order and was piping hot. Again, the server was fine after a slow start. This chain is more pricey than our local bbq spots but we like to visit a location about twice a year when traveling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Service, Staff, and oh yeah, the Ribs wil Knock your Socks Off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

There are many phony bbq joints out there: This isn't one of them. Food is very well done and the staff loves working their because they know the product they serve is top notch. I'm going back for my b-day and plenty of times after that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome cheese biscuits, friendly staff and fast service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with my wife for a late lunch. Pulled pork sandwich with the fresh cut fries was great. Waitress was very friendly and food was brought out pretty quick. Parking is rough sometimes since they are usually busy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Pulled Pork and Cheese Biscuits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped at Jim 'N Nicks for a late lunch after seeing a roadside sign on I85 outside of Atlanta. We missed the location the first time and had to make 2 U-turns on Peachtree Road to get into the parking lot. In fact it was difficult to see any businesses from Peachtree road as none of them had signs visible from the road.
Service was excellent via our server Sharon and we received generous portions of pulled pork. The cheese bread biscuits that were served with the meal were "melt in your mouth". We left with enough food for another lunch and thankfully Sharon added a few of those great biscuits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is one of our favorite places although the location is kind of odd, squeezed between a bank and the interstate. You'll drive right by if your not careful. The bar-b-que and sides great and you get a lot. The hidden gem is the ONION RINGS, reminds me of the rings you could get when I was a kid. Caution though, they are greasy. The rolls are to kill for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.