We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Refuge de Pre-Verel

Refuge de Pre-Verel
Route du Col de l'Aulp, 74210 Montmin, France
+33 6 07 13 50 72
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Montmin
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Great meat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

we had a lovely evening, great food! beautiful decor!
For 10 euros you can sleep and wake up to an incredible place

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Evan & Gwen create a really special atmosphere unique to this mountain environment. Quality of food and attention to detail (sometimes quirky detail) makes for an amazing evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muir Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A World class restaurant in a tiny mountain chalet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have had consistently great meals by this inspired chef in a cosy setting. We have eaten in a lot of restaurants in Annecy and Talloires; none match this. We don't seek out the formality of Michelin starred restaurants but if we did this would get the highest rating. The food is the highest quality exuding fresh, regional produce and cooked with care and sophistication. A memorable experience every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talloires, France
1 review
“"Exceptional cuisine, worth a special journey"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

"Exceptional cuisine, worth a special journey" ("Une des meilleures tables, vaut le voyage"). This is what the Michelin guide states for those restaurants which have the rare accolade of 3 Michelin stars. The same applies to the Pré Verel. This restaurant, albeit without 3 Michelin stars - and why not one star one day -, is simply the ultimate mountain gastronomic dining experience.The cuisine is out of this world, the service/ reception very attentive and friendly, and price wise, given the quality and preparation (locally sourced ingredients) of the food, it is very reasonable. All in all perfect. The atmosphere is wonderful; even if its raining as there will invariably be a log fire burning. Evan and Gwen and their team are able to make a meal in the mountains something utterly unforgettable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Where do I start? A friend who lives in Talloires brought two of us to dinner here. She knew the chef, Evan, who was completely charming and obviously loves what he does. He recommended the cote du boeuf--which he brought out and showed us and explained to me (the American) why it was not "red". The standout for me was "La Roblochonette", a dish he and his fromager created: boiled potato onto which you poured the local Roblochon cheese and a bit of jambon. Truly one of the best things I have ever eaten in my life. Had a beautiful Cotes du Rhone to drink and topped off the meal with a creamy lemon dessert which had the consistency of creme brulee.
And a word about the atmosphere: it's in the mountains, remote, surrounded by nature, cows and goats grazing...it was an awesome experience I will never forget.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Refuge de Pre-Verel also viewed

 
Veyrier-Du-Lac, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Refuge de Pre-Verel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Refuge de Pre-Verel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.