We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mountain

Stone Mountain
2055 West Park Place Boulevard, Stone Mountain, GA 30087
770-498-5690
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed visiting stone mountain. The sky ride was fun. We went an hour before it was closed and had fabulous views of Atlanta before the sun set. Train ride is a little long for little ones. Miniature golf is crowded before the train comes back. Wait until just after it leaves. Missed the ropes course due to 1 hour wait plus 1 hour ride. Enjoyed the bbq restaurant. The barn was fun but got a little old. Everyone had a great time shooting each other with the foam balls. Go early if possible as it gets really crowded.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A GREAT day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Visited for the day and really enjoyed the mountain. The ride to the top was nice and once there the view was awesome. the laser and fireworks was a GREAT way to end the daY

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A fun place for a day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited the park for the first time and it as very nice. Not too crowded, and the weather was good, not too hot. It rained a little in the afternoon but it was while we were on the obstacle course so we enjoyed the rain. However, it seemed that there were more stores than activities. Loved the skylift ride. We watched the 4D movie and rode the train around the park. Lots of interesting history throughout. We bought the tickets at the hotel so we only paid $25.00 per person.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fun family outing ! Never miss a moment to teach your kid something new about America !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have not been to this park in 17 years and a lot has changed since then. We went on a Sunday which turned out to be a great idea because the crowd was small and weather was perfect for it to be July, it sprinkled on us a little, but didn't slow us down, we rode the train, played mini golf, watched a 4d movie, fed butterflies, walked around the plantation, explored the museum, rode the sky lift, and whatever you do don't forget to let your kids play in the Crazy Barn , it was SO FUN even for adults, there is 4 levels of FUN and the only way out is to go down the slides, although they do have a parent trap door. We rarely waited in line for any of the attractions. However Sunday is one of their slower days so a lot of the venders were closed until later in the afternoon when the crowd picks up for the laser and fireworks show which we did not stay for. I love how Stone Mountain preserves the history of the carving and how it came about in addition to how many years and eras of history the mountain has been around from the early settlers (Indians) through the civil war, up until using the area for the 1996 Olympics. There is plenty to do you almost need two days to capture everything. I can't wait to go again. Next time I will pack a lunch and snacks. My daughter got a little hungry and grumpy at one point and none of the venders were open yet, but we found chips in a gift shop, and snacks at the top of the mountain, but watch out for the sticker shock I paid $15.00 for to ices and a pretzel !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milton, Ohio
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lots to do/see for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited with family. For $22-28 per person you can do ropes course, mini- waterpark (closed the day we were there), play mini golf, ride the skylift, ride the train,and watch a 4d movie. There are trails to hike (even to the top of the mountain) and bike trails to ride . There is also a little replica town with glassblowing demonstrations and gift shops. There is also a laser/fireworks display at 9:30pm Fri-Sun during summer that is well worth waiting for. Food is expensive and average but they allow coolers so bring your own; souveneirs are expensive as well, esp at the laser show. There is a hotel but we just stayed for the day so can't comment on that. The other patrons were pleasant and friendly as is the staff; unlike some summer help they did not appear jaded. They day we went it wasn't very busy; a lot of the cafes and kiosks were closed. though it was a Sunday we were told management decides by the expected crowd what to open . The upside is there was almost no wait for any attractions (waited 1 hour for ropes course). Our kids age range 5-13 loved it; the moms did the ropes course and loved it! All in all well worth the price of admission. The kids are already asking when we can return to do it again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Stone Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.