We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Stone Mountain Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1058 Robert E. Lee Drive, Stone Mountain, GA 30083   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Stone Mountain
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    103
    53
    25
    13
See reviews for
119
64
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is DATED. The front is beautiful upon arriving, but as soon as you enter into the lobby, you realize that the hotel is really a motel and the only place you can get from the lobby is to the restaurant. You have to go outside and head up the outside stairway to get to your room. I haven't seen too many Marriott properties with this feel. We were one of about 4 cars in the parking lot, so the hotel was practically empty.
The rooms themselves were clean and very large, which is a plus, but the carpet, wallpaper, furniture and bathroom were all so dated that it looks like the last renovated in 1984. The housekeeping room was wide open and you could see how things were stored.
I would give the property another shot only because of the size of the room, and it's proximity to Stone Mountain. Not many choices in this area.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the front of the building. Parking lot is large and a little scary in the dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice hotel, loved the stair case up to the dinning area. The hotel was very clean however, could do with a bit of upgrading as the furnishings were a bit shabby and the cabinet door for the fridge was hanging off. Our grandson enjoyed playing the outdoor chess and checkers which are located beside the pool. The staff were excellent all were very helpful and friendly. Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a big room the biggest room I have ever had in a hotel, next time we would ask for the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

fun and unexpected find for our first trip to Atlanta. The property had a very nice colonial style. The meals were fine and also nice in terms of getting a sense of southern cuisine. The inn plus park admission deal for staying 2 nights was worth it. Breakfast package is helpful to start the day off. Children under 5 eating free also a helpful perk! The park is fun for the kids. The only slight downfall was the timing of the housekeeping. The staff were very friendly and pleasant but it was awkward to be in the room in the late afternoon when the poor housekeeping staff were trying to get their work done. Very friendly and amicable staff and housekeeping very accomodating ! Rooms clean and well kept. Liked the neat touch of the rocking chairs for the private balconies and also at the front of the inn itself.

Room Tip: It can be a bit of a hike between the room and the park if not on the front side or immediate adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglas, alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The only draw back we had was our room was on the back side of the inn. It made for a long walk after being in the park all day. Next time we will request a room closer to the front. The pool was great! Our package included breakfast, but it would not be worth the price if you had to pay out of pocket for it. Well worth it to stay here. We didn't have to fight the traffic after the laser show. Room was huge and comfy. Staff was awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to front of building and on lower level for easy pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mountain Inn

Address: 1058 Robert E. Lee Drive, Stone Mountain, GA 30083
Location: United States > Georgia > Stone Mountain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stone Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stone Mountain Hotel Stone Mountain
Stone Mountain Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.