We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was better than we expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mountain Park

Stone Mountain Park
1000 Robert E. Lee Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA 30083
800-401-2407
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing, Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stone Mountain Park is Georgia's most visited attraction, drawing nearly 4 million guests each year. With over 3,200 acres of natural beauty, the Park is a unique and fun destination where families and friends can enjoy the outdoors together, while experiencing an exciting variety of attractions, entertainment and recreation. It's home to the worlds largest LaserShow Spectacular, tons of attractions, two championship golf courses, a campground and two Mariott hotels.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Mississippi
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Was better than we expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband & I visited this park for the first time on Mar. 19th. We paid $10.00 to get in to park our car. We drove around the whole park & then parked & took a walk at the covered bridge & the gristmill. It was so Beautiful there with the spring flowers in bloom, & we had it to ourselves. The big mountain was breathtaking with 3 of the Greatest men carved into it. We left the park to get food for a picnic at the gristmill. We spent the whole day there & visited the museum. Looking forward to returning with our daughter's & grandkids.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    546
    172
    56
    51
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Must see but make sure you allow enough time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Arrived first thing but only had time to do the sky lift as we had to be on the road but would love to have spent more time here as there seemed to be plenty to see and do. The view from the top of the stone was breathtaking and the carvings in the rock were amazing. Would definitely return and spend more time here

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to Stone Mountain over spring break. We have two children ages 6 and 11. We purchased the Family Value Passes. This included everything plus one meal for each of us. This can only be purchased online. We purchased them at the gate on my IPhone and picked them up at the will call area. The meals included unlimited drinks, but the cups were just plastic instead of paper. I was hoping for a souvenir type cup. Overall the park is worth paying the money if you have younger kids.

You can also just pay for parking and walk up and down the mountain for free.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegrass state
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Go for the stone carving & sky ride.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Went on spring break. Not too busy. We went around 4:00. Adult & child pass was $35. We ride the train which goes in a circle around the park. Lasts about 30 min. Not too scenery. You will get a good look of the carving if you sit on the left side of the train.
Next was the sky ride. The ride itself was about 4 min. Once on top you can walk around get a snack , potty break. The top of stone mountain looks like the moon. Interesting. The only bad was they do pack the trams pretty tight. So beware if you don't like closed spaces. The laser show started @ 8:30 a long time for kids when most attractions close @7:00. We did buy the VIP pass with one small bottle of pop or water and a small tray of unlimited popcorn. Guess it would be worth it not to bring your own chair and snacks. Laser show was ok.
The only bad was that the bathrooms are far away and the parking lots are not lighted very well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville ky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went to Stone Mountain during a short spring break get away. My kids are ages 10 and 12 and they loved it. It is a nice park. Clean and easy to get around.
We paid for the adventure pass $28 for adults and $22 for kids. If we had to paid for each attraction we would have spent over this, so it was worth the price for the pass. You have to pay $10 just to get in the park. Each attraction has a fee (train ride, tram ride, sky hike, mini golf....)
The SkyHike is fun --kids liked it, mom not so much. Stood in line for over an hour to do this.
The train ride is ok--it is loud and you cannot hear the guide.
Mini golf--always a fav for our family.
Tram ride to the top--You can either walk up (pretty easy) the mountain or ride the tram--either way you MUST go to the top of the mountain! The view is great and is just really awesome up there. Kids loved being up there!
We did not stay for the laser show, but if you do go this would be my tip--take a cooler and blankets or chairs, go find a spot & park your stuff on the lawn. Many people would leave their stuff on/near the lawn for the laser show which starts at dark. It gets pretty crowded for the show and I can only imagine the traffic to get out after the show.
My only negative is that they should give you more history on the tram ride up or on the train ride. We all wanted to know more about the mountain.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Mountain Park also viewed

 

Been to Stone Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mountain Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.