We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mountain Park

Stone Mountain Park
1000 Robert E. Lee Blvd, Stone Mountain, GA 30083
800-401-2407
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing, Hiking, Camping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stone Mountain Park is Georgia's most visited attraction, drawing nearly 4 million guests each year. With over 3,200 acres of natural beauty, the Park is a unique and fun destination where families and friends can enjoy the outdoors together, while experiencing an exciting variety of attractions, entertainment and recreation. It's home to the worlds largest LaserShow Spectacular, tons of attractions, two championship golf courses, a campground and two Mariott hotels.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Atlanta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

So, growing up in Atlanta, I have been more times than I can count. This is honestly a very unique place. They have added so many attractions over the past decade. It is a little pricey, but worth the visit. There is something for all ages and some of my favorite memories are watching the laser show. The view from the top of the mountain is just amazing. Many places seem to decline over time, but Stone Mountain remains great in my opinion.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    546
    172
    56
    51
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice but way over-priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The park is very nice but also way over-priced. They do offer discounts online as well as at Kroger - but even counting those it is extremely over-priced.

They charge you a $4 "handling" fee online too....for what? That's just a rip-off; you're not dealing with an operator or anything...they aren't mailing it.....it's online! Stop the $4 handing fee.

The price for the park is really expensive for what it offers. Should be about $15 LESS than it is.

They'll also charge you to park your car.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tn
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The kids loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

The park was wonderful. If you are looking for the thrill rides and carnival type rides don't go to Stone Mountain. You will not find any of that stuff there. You will find a Sky tram ride, a river boat, peddle boats, a train and putt-putt golf. A 4-D movie that is very fun for the kids and my teenager even loved. 1 day passes can be purchased at a local grocery store at a discount count price. The lazer light show at the end of the day is fantastic!!! Put down a blanket or chairs on the lawn early to reserve your spot. Trolley rides will get you a round to the river boat, sky tram etc or you can walk. Love it, but I'm not into the carnival ride attractions.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
“It was not what i expected !!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Ok so i went to stone mountain over 10 times and it was so much fun. until i went today.. We rode the ducks for the first time and it was a WASTE of $9. you didnt even get wet.. or "SPLASH" into the water. The barn , WHAT HAPPENED TO THE WRISTBANDS ?? there used to be wristbands you wear to keep up with your points . but i guess they dont do them anymore .. There used to be bouncy things and maybe my child doesnt know how to slide down a slide but he hit his head and he said he turned all the way around and he came out with a knot on his head. The Yogi bear 4d movie was cool.. Ms . Katie's has VERY poor quality of food . so over all the trip was a WASTEEEEEE ! try sixflags ..

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The new "Lasershow Spectacular" is Pitifully Horrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I grew up going to Stone Mountain with my family, and brought my wife this year to share one of my fondest childhood memories with her. I am dumbfounded by how horrible the new "improved" laser show is.

First of all, there are no longer any complete songs in the show, unless you count the painful rendition of the Star Spangled Banner at the end of the show. It was so bad I just wanted it to be over, and was glad the fireworks finally downed out the "singing". The remaining 30 or so song clips are like listening to iTunes song samples. In fact, some of the projected images seem sort of like watching the iTunes visualizer, except on acid.

Second, there are fireworks throughout the show now, which means that after about 2 minutes into the show you will be unable to see the entire scene. I'm not sure that this is as big a problem in the new show, however, as there is no plot or any sort of continuity to the images.

Third, they butchered what used to be the ending of the show, with Lee Greenwood's "God Bless the USA" removed completely, along with the sentimental visuals that used to accompany it. And the reanimation of the carving on the mountain has been chopped up into a meaningless, unintelligible series of images and video that no longer tell a story of a nation being reconciled, but rather just the south being defeated. The civil war is not something to be celebrated, but the reconciliation of our nation is, so it is a shame that this was downplayed in favor of shaming the south.

If you have never seen the laser show, this is probably a tolerable experience. But if you have been before and enjoyed the show last year or any prior year, then you will be utterly and completely disappointed by this laser show "spectacular".

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Mountain Park also viewed

 

Been to Stone Mountain Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone Mountain Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.