We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R J's Seafood & Steaks

R J's Seafood & Steaks
434 S Main St, Statesboro, GA 30458-1418
+1 912-489-8658
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Statesboro
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Statesboro, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

RJ's serves some of the best steaks in town... but that's not all! The Sunday lunch buffet is awesome! The food here is always good and the service follows suit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    7
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Lunch and dinner at R.J.'s are good in a very honest way. The food is traditional, with no crazy names or exotic trimmings, but just good and honest quality. The steak and seafood here are quite good, and the prices have always been reasonable. Breakfast leaves a bit to be desired, but then again there is a different crew cooking breakfast. When "Snooky's" closed, their kitchen staff simply took over R.J.'s kitchen for the local good ol' boys' breakfast club, and it does not reflect what R.J.'s is known for otherwise.

The Sunday lunch buffet here is the best ever, and the crowd at Thanksgiving is something to behold. The wait staff are always very friendly and on-the-ball.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“In my opinion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've eaten at RJ's for many many years. I tend to go for their Sunday lunch buffet which is far and beyond the best country style buffet I've ever had; not normally a big fan of Buffets. I love their soups (they usually have 4 types; a chili, oyster stew, a chicken noodle style and another.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Snooky's Breakfast now being served at RJ's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We went for breakfast to enjoy the Snooky's breakfast menu after Snooky's closed last year. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the food was just as good. On weekends, the breakfast is a buffet, but we were there on a weekday. Nice local place - large restaurant with friendly staff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food at an awesome price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The food was freshly prepared. Ate there for lunch and had a meat and two veggies for $5.95. It was excellent food and me and the family enjoyed everything we had! Great fried chicken!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R J's Seafood & Steaks also viewed

 

Been to R J's Seafood & Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R J's Seafood & Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.