We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Theeeeeee Most Terrible Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Statesboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Statesboro to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Statesboro
316 South Main Street, Statesboro, GA 30458   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
“The Most Theeeeeee Most Terrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The most disgusting customer service i ever had in my life. They need to change their staff or to teach them how to smile. Also they need to learn the basic glossary of Hotels as they have some different meaning of weekly rate. Fortunately we did not get chance to stay there coz we had reservation and they told me higher price during check in than my reservation price. Though the reservation was done by Manager and he gave me the good deal. I tried to reach him so many times but coudn't ... plz dont go there.......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    1
    12
See reviews for
4
1
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here on a weekly rate while working in town.After my first night here I woke up with approximately 25 to 30 Bed Bug bites on my arm and back. After going to the front desk to advise them of the situation, they quickly apologized without sincerity. I was moved to a different room. My roommate awoke the next morning with bed bug bites on his arm. The housekeepers are non existent at this place and the only thing guaranteed is that you will experience terrible customer service, a loud mouth, disrespectful front desk crew and possibly some bed bug visitors to suffer with. The owner/manager was not willing to listen to customer complaints or concerns, instead she asked us to leave. I would rate this a 0 especially considering that I work on the road and consistently stay at motels, this is definitely my worst experience in over 8 years of relying on the hospitality industry to keep my comfortable while on the road working. Two thumbs down..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family and was appalled at how dirty it was. They still use the bedspreads that aren't regularly laundered, and the sheets in the first room we were given showed definite signs of being used but not laundered. There was a small bug in the corner, one large water-cockroach thing writhing in the floor. It also smelled really musty and unclean. The second room we were given smelled better but was dirty also. The towels and washcloths looked suspect. There was a stovetop and microwave in our room but we didn't dare use it. It looked quite unsafe. I think the rundown quality of the place is acceptable if it is clean, and this just wasn't. The staff are aware of this and act quite unconcerned about repairs or cleaning up the place. This was not what we expected from a HoJo. We will pay the extra money next time and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Bring your own linen. Avoid the "hot tub suites", the hot tubs are filthy and ancient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel story will be talked about for years! A co worker and I were put in rooms in the back with windows that anyone could have easily gotten into. We slept with 911 speed dialed. It was dirty! I slept on top of bed with my hoodie on and couldn't bear to even use the bathroom! It was awful!
I'm from a small town so I wasn't expecting much but this was the worst motel I've ever seen.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

At $40 a nite, it was fine. Didn't expect luxury, only comfortable accommodation and it is what we expected. The room was clean, service was pleasant, and would stay again. Didn't see or experience any of the issues listed by the other reviewers. There is some construction going on but it did not cause any problems or noise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

The filthiest most disgusting place I have ever seen. Towels were gray with black stains, it looks like a good place to commit a murder or a place where a murder has already taken place. Rats in the parking lot, doors that dont open or close properly and you can hear everything going on anywhere in the hotel as if it were happening in your room. I would sleep in my car or on the street rather than enter this hellish pit again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinsville, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed in this motel july 22,23 2011 to go to Splash in the boro it was horrible the coffee pot had mildew in it the fridge had rotten milk in it,the bathroom had a really big nasty bath tub that looked like it could use some bleach.The roof in our room leaked the floors had stains on them.My 3 year old fell every time we went out because there was water coming out of the AC on a slick floor .The breakfest was ok but we were scared to eat it after the fridge and coffee maker !Uhhh pay a little more and get what you want at the holiday Inn never will we stay there ever again!And if your only staying one night you want get to swim the next day because the pool doesn't open until 11am and that's check out time

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Statesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Statesboro

Address: 316 South Main Street, Statesboro, GA 30458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Statesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Statesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statesboro Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Statesboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.