We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms comfortable beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Statesboro South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Statesboro South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Statesboro South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Commerce Drive, Statesboro, GA 30458   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great rooms comfortable beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for one night before a visit to GSU, especially liked the very comfortable queen beds. The hotel is located a short distance from the school but just across the street from several places to eat - Olive Garden and Panera Bread were some options. I'll stay again -very nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
10
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilmer, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok first off, very nice hotel. But 3 things that bugged me. First, I kept losing wifi about every 15mins. Then I had to log back in with a password and all that. Second, they had one of those single cup coffee pots in the room that only accepted that tiny, hotel brand coffee, which was nasty. And holiday inn doesn't have good "downstairs" coffee either. I had to buy a coffee pot. Third, the side doors will let you out, but you can't get back in, even with a card. So not ideal for a long stay. Other than that, pretty nice. Good breakfast, nice bar and resturaunt. Plus close distance to Walmart and good resturaunts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro South, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear jeremy g,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased that you liked our breakfast and our convenient location.

However, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort our internet service has caused you. I am also sorry if you didn't find our coffee to your liking.

Thank you very much for your feedback and rest assured it will be used to improve our guest services. We are looking forward to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were not staying at the hotel, but were taken here by relatives. We were completely shocked at Emma's Restaurant in the Hotel. This is high quality cuisine and sensational food. The scallops in green foam and fried kale was outrageous. I had the roasted salmon. There were eight of us and every meal selected was fabulous. This is the quality of food you might find in Atlanta or Savannah. The service was also great, as were the prices. By all means try this fine establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

First and foremost, I felt the staff did a good job for a busy weekend (Ga Southern spring commencement Sat, Mother's Day Sun).
That said, I was decidedly unhappy with the reservation terms. This hotel required a 2-night minimum for the weekend, the prices were nearly double the normal rate AND it was pre-pay with no cancellation options. Completely unacceptable business practices in this modern day and age.
Again, this was not the fault of the staff who were professional and polite.
Shame on the management of this hotel for allowing such unsavory business tactics to happen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ashley_Sr,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are sorry you found our reservation restrictions less than satisfactory. We are pleased our staff was able to off set this dissatisfaction with great service. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is very well maintained, clean. I had a problem with key to my room. The young lady at the desk went above and beyond to resolve the problem and upgraded my room. Food at both breakfast and dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Room location was fairly close to the elevator. That was the only positive point. The shower lacked the proper ADA specified fixtures and there was not even an attempt to provide alternatives. The rate charged was totally out of line for the product provided.
If you are staying in Statesboro, and you need a handicap room DO NOT SELECT THIS PROPERTY. Personally I would not stay there again regardless of room type. There are too many alternative properties nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Statesboro South, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear gulftane,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn for 3 nights on business. For a very long time, I avoided Holiday Inns as they seemed rather tired and in need of renovation. However, I have had to stay in a couple of HI properties recently and have noticed that they have improved greatly. This one is no exception. The facilities were clean and comfortable. I had a nice-sized room in the corner and the bed was very comfortable. The desk staff I encountered were very friendly and did everything possible to accomodate whatever I needed. Our meetings were catered by Emma's, the hotel restaurant, and were very, very good. I think the only thing that I would change is that even with the shades and curtains drawn, the room was still too bright for sleeping (but I think that is true in many hotels). I enjoyed my stay there, and I would stay there again if my journeys ever took me back to the "Boro".

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Statesboro South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Statesboro South

Address: 455 Commerce Drive, Statesboro, GA 30458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Statesboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Statesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Statesboro South 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Statesboro - University Area Ideally situated near the Statesboro Municipal Airport, Georgia Southern University and Ogeechee Technical College, the Holiday Inn Statesboro University Area Hotel offers comfortable, deluxe accommodations near Statesboro, Georgia's popular attractions and prominent businesses. We're located just off the 301 Bypass(Veterans Memorial Pky). At Holiday Inn Statesboro near Georgia Southern University GSU our guests enjoy shopping at the Statesboro Mall and cooling off at Splash in the Boro Waterpark. Dining and entertainment on Main Street Statesboro and special events at the Averitt Center for the Arts can be found less than three miles away. Business travelers appreciate our Statesboro lodgings near the Gateway Regional Industrial Park, the Airport Industrial Park and corporations such as Coca-Cola and Briggs & Stratton. Over 2,250 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access are provided to accommodate our guests' professional needs. During your visit to our hotel in Statesboro, we invite you to dine with us in our full-service restaurant, Emma's Restaurant & Lounge, Emma's features a weekday breakfast and lunch buffet, Sunday brunch, and mouth-watering dinner menu. In the evening, join us in the lobby for excellent conversation and complimentary hors d'oeuvre. Each of our hotel rooms are equipped with modern amenities including mini-refrigerators, coffee makers, flat screen TVs, and more. For your convenience, an outdoor pool, Jacuzzi whirlpool and a well-equipped fitness center are available. As you plan your trip, explore our exceptional Statesboro, GA hotel rates and make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Statesboro South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Statesboro South Hotel Statesboro
Statesboro Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Statesboro South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.