We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better version of a pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCray's West Village Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McCray's West Village Tavern
4500 West Village Place Suite 2009, Smyrna, GA 30080
6783709112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCray's West Village Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 176 Restaurants in Smyrna
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: South Atlanta Road
Description: Redefining the concept of the American neighborhood bar and grill McCray's Tavern brings Smyrna upscale pub grub in an exciting atmosphere. Our restaurant features 45 beers on tap, daily specials, free poker games for house cash, a private dining room, outdoor patio dining, game day menus, brunch, and more!
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“A better version of a pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The place has an Irish pub theme as a background, lots of beer, a bar, dark wooden furniture, TVs on the wall and all that stuff. But the food was amazingly good. They serve modern fancy stuff with colors, seasoning, great presentation - really nice. The service was great and because they have bar and tables separated, you can choose to have a nice diner or hang out with the crowd.

I guess there are louder places to drink a beer or too, but if you want some fine food along with your drink - this is the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Try the Nachos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went for a late dinner one night and had a great time. Its a typical bar menu but the nachos were exceptional. I could have shared that plate with my entire table!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Glad I Found This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

While on a two-week business trip to the Atlanta area, I found myself staying in Smyrna and wanting to enjoy some NFL preseason football and fine ales. I used my "Around Me" app on my iPhone and luckily, McCray's Tavern popped up under "Bars". Although the map directions were a bit off and initially took a co-worker and me to a residence in the West Village development, I drove around a bit and found this little oasis. If you don't find a parking spot on the street adjacent to the shops and restaurants, there's a handy parking garage right behind the restaurant.

After opting for a seat at the bar, I was happy to see a wide variety of microbrewed craft ales on tap. The bartender, Dallen, was friendly and very helpful with menu items, even recommending what not to order, which is rare. Since I was staying about 3 minutes away, this became my post-work "go-to" spot and I was able to sample quite a bit of the variety of menu items. One of my regular, really good server/bartenders, Tony, suggested a special seared Ahi Tuna dish one night and it was delicious. Subsequent visits included the Calamari, Gumbo, Cobb Salad, and Grilled Salmon. All were very tasty and quite filling. The only negative aspect was the last night in town when we drew a very surly, unfriendly girl as a server, but it appeared that her other tables weren't pleased with her, either. Luckily, she was the only server I encountered that lacked knowledge regarding beer styles and menu specials. That being "Said-a", everyone else we encountered was full of southern charm and hospitality...

The bar area was usually very lively, particularly on Friday and Saturday nights, with plenty of TVs for sports viewing. There's also a back bar with a dining area that's much quieter on those loud, busy, full weekend nights. If my travels take me back to Smyrna, I'll be "headquartering" out of McCray's again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fun pub to sit outside and chill with a beer (when the weather is cool enough that is), love their reuben sandwich, soups, and burgers. Nice atmosphere in a protected spot surrounded by condo's. It's a little loud inside if you want to talk so try outside.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cool Smyrna Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I frequent McCray's and enjoy the menu which has a variety of items to suit any taste and a very solid selection of beers.

Apps have all been very good. The steaks were just ok and would suggest passing on these, but everything else is very good. I recently had the pork chops with the mac and cheese and it was really excellent.

Service is pretty good. We have a young baby and we sit in a booth and go early evening... going a little later and the bar noise gets louds and energetic, but it depends what you're looking for.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCray's West Village Tavern also viewed

 

Been to McCray's West Village Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCray's West Village Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.