We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent return visit. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Prince Noir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Prince Noir to your Saves list
Le Prince Noir
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 route de Menjoulan | Serignac-sur-Garonne, 47310 Serignac-sur-Garonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Excellent return visit. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here four years ago and were delighted with the restaurant and the accommodation. This small chateau had just been taken over by a young couple and since then, they have renovated many of the rooms. Ours was tastefully decorated, with marble floor (cool during the heat wave) and a door on to a terrace near the swimming pool. There was a very comfortable large bed, a sitting area inside and out, and high ceilings. There are gardens with deck chairs dotted around and, although next to a road, this did not spoil the tranquility of the place. The pool is a decent size with plenty of seating. The restaurant was superb, (something that attracted us to return here) offering a range of menus and cuisine with flair. The location is ideal for cycling alongside the Canal Lateral a La Garonne which joins the Canal du Midi. The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
31
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed for a night on our way through to Spain. We were in a ground floor courtyard room, which was a bit tight, but adequate. The room was reasonably furnished and bathroom OK. The rest of the property was interesting - gardens outside were very calm and peaceful (however, this was before the school holidays!)
Best thing for me was the restaurant though. Good food and great service.

Overall, not cheap but a lovely atmosphere - would definitely come again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Our second visit, staying in premium room. Just as perfect as 2013 visit. Very comfortable room and cool with fan supplied. Shower operation was lacking instructions, and provided us with an unexpected surprise. Overall everything was fine, and restaurant was again outstanding. We have already booked for our return journey from Spain in August.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We wanted to bike a little of the Canal La Garonne and decided Le Prince Noir would be the perfect place to stay for two nights. Amandine welcomed us like family members, helped us with hiring bicycles for 2 days (we don't speak French) and because the hotel was fully booked for our second night she organised us accommodation in a nearby B&B which was wonderful too. Having arrived at Le Prince Noir not having had breakfast, coffee and croissants were served in the garden, delicious. After our bike ride a welcome swim in the pool prepared us for a delicious dinner served in the garden dining area on a balmy evening. Amandine recommended we bike to Buzet-de-Baise for lunch on our second day, she made a reservation for us, again a great experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Le Prince Noir and will be back to explore more of the area. Thanks again Amandine for making our stay with you so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

clean and well run hotel, our room was terribly small and probably not used often but otherwise very clean and quiet.
we ate in the restaurant which was good but we felt the chef tried a little too hard to be original when the food of the region is very good without having to overprepare it or make it more original than it is. breakfast was very fresh, simple and very good.
we enjoyed our experience overall.
the owners could not have been more helpful and kind

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is a little off the beaten track but it is well worth a detour just to stay here. Magnificent old builings, spacious rooms, spotlessly clean - faultless. We arrived late on a Sunday but the owners had thoughtfully prepared a cold meal for us to have - along with a bottle of excellent wine. The food was stunning, as is the ambiance of the place. There are many things to do in the area so if you are coming anywhere near this hotel then stay a night or two to really enjoy the true French experience.
With the windows wide open the fresh country air will ensure you sleep well in a very comfortable bed and huge room.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the road, a minor road D119 and even with the windows wide open there was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandine et Mar... D, Propriétaire at Le Prince Noir, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Mr David,

We would like to thank you a lot for your time to post nice comments on Tripadvisor.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you during this spring weekend. We are happy to read you apreciate the atmosphere of our establishment.

We hope you wil be back soon to relax more time.

Kind regards,
Amandine et Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It was 9pm, hot and we were tired and hungry. We needed comfort and a really great meal. Le Prince Noir met all our hopes. A lovely welcome and a perfect table in the courtyard under the stars, perfect service and exquisite food & wine. The rooms were cool and stylish. Slept like logs. Run by a delightful young couple who have renovated this old building personally, and who have plans to do even more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcamandine, Propriétaire at Le Prince Noir, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear sir and madam, We would like to thank you for your very nice comments regarding your stay in our property. It is important for us to know if our guest are satisfied and refresh during their stay.
It will be a plaesure to wellcome you agin.
With our kind regards,
Marc Duverneuil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Prince Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prince Noir

Address: 6 route de Menjoulan | Serignac-sur-Garonne, 47310 Serignac-sur-Garonne, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Serignac-sur-Garonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Serignac-sur-Garonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Prince Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Prince Noir !In the heart of southwestern France, between Toulouse and Bordeaux, le Prince Noir is a hotel restaurant set in a former 17th Century convent which offers a charming atmosphere in an authentic setting.Our 19 rooms decorated in country style are waiting for you, for a stay that will remain in your memory. Some can accommodate up to four people.Overlooking the cloister or with park views, each room exudes a unique atmosphere.Standard rooms, De luxe rooms and Junior suites - all rooms have TV with Canal Plus.The WiFi connection is made freely available.We are waiting for you to share a great time with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Prince Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Prince Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.