We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wakatobi Dive Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakatobi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wakatobi Dive Resort
Save
You added Wakatobi Dive Resort to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Wakatobi Resort, Pulau Onemobaa, Tomia - Wakatobi, Wakatobi Island S06 E124, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Headley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Out of this World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am currently sitting in the Laguna resort Bali relaxing after 7 nights at Wakatobi to say the place is fantastic is an understatement.

The staff and service is excellent better than many 5,6 * resorts I have stayed at.
food brilliant all freshly prepared with multiple meat/fish and vegetables choices the desserts are really good.
The main event diving you are allocated a boat upon your arrival and that is where you dive from for your stay unless you are shore diving as well, personally the 3 dives a day from the boat were enough for me.

You then have your dive experience managers who will take care of everything for you Muji and Sonia on our boat with 7 guests you dive as 2 groups so never more than 4 people on a reef how different to the Red Sea.

I would like to say a massive thank you to all of the staff especially on boat V (5) where else in the world do you get Mint wet towels straight after a dive with a selection of drinks,cakes,sandwiches this is real diving some of the best marine life in the world and pure luxury with a very safe and controlled environment.

I have never seen so many soft and hard corals, reef fish in my life every dive was around 70 mins and just mind blowing.

You were guaranteed to see something new on every dive would it be a different pigmy seahorse variety of shrimp, maybe a new crab,Octopus,turtle or cuttlefish. How Muji spotted some of these critters I don't know, years of experience.

Although not known for the larger pelagic fish we did see large shoals of Barracuda and big eye Trevally also seeing huge pods of false killer whales and bottle nose dolphins on our way to the dive site known as Blade all very special.

My wife is a non diver and she was more than happy at the resort snorkelling and relaxing with the odd snack/cocktail and several books.

Not much else to say apart from if you are thinking of going stop thinking and book it, should of done it years ago.

A very special place and the memories will last a very long time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    25
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
122
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
penticton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I went to wakatobi with a friend who is in a wheelchair. the resort isn't accessible but they did make an effort to accommodate the needs of someone in a chair. the staff and i mean everyone from maintenance, gardeners, boat crew and the rest where amazing. the stand out for us was Marco our dive experience manager. the man is truly amazing. he made the trip for my friend the best he has ever had. from his world class drawings of dive sites, fashion tips, (he is from milan) sense of humour, and of course an excellent diver and guide.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have now visited Wakatobi 4 times and it is one of the places where it gets better every time. The location is very remote but with their air transfer it is one of the easier ones to reach - probably almost faster than going to North Bali from Denpasar. The rooms are wonderful and large - the bathrooms in the villa can easily compare with very good ones in city resorts. The restaurant mostly serves buffet style, but with a huge variety. The deserts are my personal highlight, but the bakery (because of the location everything is done in the resort!) is also highly recommended.

But you probably go there for diving. It is very professional with small groups (or a private guide, if you want one) and all locations are close by (a few minutes to max. 1 hour of boat time). The house reef is the best I've ever been at (with >1500 dives of experience).

There are only four reasons to not go there:
- you prefer muck diving, not corals. Yes, wrong place for you.
- you want to see large pelagics. You will probably see some dolphins from the boat and maybe a reef shark or two, but no mantas, etc. during diving.
- Cost. But the price for the trip already includes food and diving and combined it is not more expensive than a higher-end resort in the Caribbean - plus the flight to Bali, of course.
- Travel time. Yes, that is significant: from the USA west coast you probably fly via Taipei, Hong Kong, Seoul or Singapore with at least one stop on your way to Bali. Then you have to stay one night in Bali to catch your morning flight to Wakatobi. With the right flight you can return directly after the Wakatobi trip home. But plan for well >20h of travel time. I would plan for at least two nights in Bali, because if you miss the Wakatobi flight, you need 2 days of air/water/land travel to get there - we had our flight via Hong Kong canceled by Cathay on the _day_ of the departure because of a typhoon hitting them. Thank got I got us on Eva Air.

This is the place to go to relax from he world and enjoy easy diving with fantastic corals. We'll be there again this summer...

Room Tip: Let the resort know in advance if you have special needs, they try to accommodate whenever possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Wakatobi with a dive group of 27, one of whom is confined to a wheel chair (except when he's diving and then he isn't confined by anything). I've never dived with a resort that not only doesn't expect me to carry and set up my own gear, they won't allow it. They wash/rinse everything for you, they provide personalized mugs which they keep and wash every day and which they keep filled with whatever you want from water to hot chocolate. They had just laid fresh sand on the paths before we arrived, but when they realized it was a severe hindrance for the wheelchair, it was immediately and graciously swept aside. Our bungalow, #7, was perfect with a fantastic outdoor shower, beautiful front porch with day-bed couches, plus a pair of lounge chairs and a shaded hammock. The food was amazing and fresh, the chef continually outdid himself, everything from the freshest tuna sashimi to lamb to breakfast omeletts made to order. Within 24 hours some of the wait staff (Adhi and Owen) knew everyone's name, the people in the dive shop and in the Longhouse always used my name. I treated myself to 2 massages while I was there, best massages I've ever had in my life! The Ultimate Indulgence massage (afternoon I arrived), lasted THREE hours and immediately eliminated all travel stress, the other was the hot stone massage and it was simply nirvana. Now the diving - there was so much to see and the colors were so spectacular that I'm a little afraid all other dive sites will fall very short. Our guide Shelly was absolute tops, she found everything she wanted to show us, and more, and her excitement was contagious, we were all doing underwater happy-dances! Bottom line, absolutely everyone on the staff went out of their way to ensure each individuals needs were met and surpassed. They are more than just a five star resort. The Wakatobi resort provides electricity to the village on the island and they subsidize the island community by paying $25/day/guest. Plus they hire island widows with no means os personal support to weave the beautiful and water-tight roof panels, local artisans build all the furniture and woodwork for the resort, through reverse osmosis they make their own fresh water. They hire local people to maintain all aspects of the inner functioning of the resort and provide training where needed. In return the villagers on the island don't fish the waters where the dive sites have been identified, and run off any fishermen who try. Il definitely be going here again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Everything in this place is a unique experience... from the private plane boarding in Bali (already an excellent start), to the reception in the island, the surprises keep getting better and better.
One of the 1st things they tell you when you are about to arrive by boat from the airport is, that they suggest that you spend your 7 days without any shoes ..... uau !! you cannot imagine how good it feel ! you probably never experienced this liberating experience in your entire life, so take it !
The 5 stars restaurant was just amazing, with fresh sea food and amazing variety.
The service is incomparable, all workers will know your name when you get there and I believe they have a rate of 2 to 3 employees/ guest.
All that could not be any better, BUT, yes it is, because the diving is amazing ...probably the best dive reef in the world and my macro pictures were "magazine level" and they'll give you a chance to show them in the last dinner...
Next time I go back, I'll schedule a 1 week in their diving boat, The Pelagic, that is consider to be as good as the resort.
Highly recommended for divers.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, Dive as much as you can in the house reef, the small creatures are there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had one week at Wakatobi and was spoilt every minute. This is a 5 star diving resort and the staff just kept on asking us "what can we do to make your day better?" Everything was perfect. The diving was absolutely breathtakingly beautiful, Ben, our dive guide was very knowledgeable and found and named all the little critters for us to photo. The reefs are in pristine condition. The dive boat crew always had a smile, gave us hot drinks and food between dives and nothing was too hard for them. For a resort far away from anywhere, civilization has not been left behind. The bungalows are just beautiful, with aircon and fan and great views of the sea and then we come to the meals. All meals are buffet style cooked by a chef trained in France and we were beginning to get a bit worried that we wouldn't fit our wetsuits!! Will definitely be making a return trip to this wonderful piece of paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Unbelievable attention to detail on the logistics of getting you to this remote location and aligning service to you. From Bali to the room it was very easy and everything was smooth.

The staff was incredible. Everyone knew our names from the first day, and treated us so well. Wonderful staff. Responsive and committed to taking care of your needs - they were all so nice.

Diving was the best reef diving we've ever seen. Incredibly healthy reefs, teaming with fish, and dive masters making sure you got the dive you wanted. Yono was the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wakatobi Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakatobi Dive Resort

Address: Wakatobi Resort, Pulau Onemobaa, Tomia - Wakatobi, Wakatobi Island S06 E124, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > Central Sulawesi > Wakatobi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wakatobi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wakatobi Dive Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wakatobi is inspired by the realization that great people are prepared to travel far to experience the most beautiful reefs left on the planet. It goes further than any other dive resort to be deserving of the most precious time of the year of its guests. Wakatobi is about maximizing value not minimizing cost for its clientele. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wakatobi Dive Hotel Sulawesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakatobi Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.