We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great attraction for any age"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeland Motor Museum

Lakeland Motor Museum
Old Blue Mill, Backbarrow LA12 8TA, England
015395 30400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in Backbarrow
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lakeland Motor Museum nestles in the picturesque Leven Valley, at Backbarrow, close to the southern tip of Lake Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District.This thought-provoking attraction provides a perfect 'whatever the weather', all year venue, which entertains and enthrals all ages.Our free educational quiz helps pass on knowledge and understanding.We offer combined ticketing with Windermere Lake Cruises and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Steam Railway.The museum's adjacent Cafe Ambio has a beautiful riverside setting and our welcoming gift shop is among the best of places to find the perfect present for any occasion.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“"Great attraction for any age"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you are a car enthusiast or not, this museum is definitely a "must see" stop for any age. There are lots of exhibits most of which are presented in an attractive way. The main building of the museum could be a bit larger so as to avoid that some of the cars presented are squeezed in little spaces.

All in all, this attraction can be highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review, 5 stars & high recommendation. We do hope you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    103
    28
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great visitor experience on a wet day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

the museum itself is excellent and lets you get up close to the exhibits. A good mix of cars from across the ages including some I had driven! The cafe was also superb, very good price and extrenely pleasant staff. British tourism at its best.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review & 5 star rating of our attraction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“petrolhead heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a second visit due to the fact we are extreme petrolheads and our last visit was a few years ago. we were not disappointed. The Bluebird exhibit was very informative. We even spotted exhibits in the museum that we actually still own!!! A must see museum for children so they can keep in touch with our motoring heritage, but if your still a big kid at heart there is so much to see.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review & five star rating of our attraction. So many of our visitors are delighted to find their first car or an exhibit that brings back personal memories. We hope children(of all ages- big & small!) learn & enjoy their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a quick visit turned into a 4 hr day out... BRILLIANT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

£23 for a family ticket , the quiz for the kids was really good and informative , we took great delight in exploring this vast and diverse collection of fascinating things . there is too much to mention only that if you did not enjoy this attraction then you just were not looking , every nook and cranny is filled with little detailed items and information . loved the tt section , and the bluebird exhibit was lovely , fabulous to learn more about the amazing british pioneer that he was . we found the cafe food delicious £28 for 4 meals 4 drinks a good price .. scones are scrummy !! all the staff we encountered were plesant and polite .. and more than happy to help /chat . gift shop had some nice items also ... A MUST SEE ATTRACTION !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your "brilliant" review of our attraction. We're so pleased the whole family, little ones included, enjoyed the day & that you found our prices for your family good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lakeland Motor Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had seen some of the collection before think at Holker Hall but over 5 years ago and on our recent stay in the lakes I found a leaflet in a drawer so off we went and what a great few hours a great collection and the fact that you can take pictures made it even better. Loved the way it had been themed with different displays and the Campbell Museum was really interesting and on the way over to that you can pop into one or two older caravans and take a look at how different they were back then. Make it a must if you visit the lakes it is at Newby Bridge.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluebirdC, administrator at Lakeland Motor Museum, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, five star rating & recommendation of our attraction. I hope its not another five years, but much sooner when you come to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Motor Museum also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Motor Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeland Motor Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.