We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vibe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavola

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tavola
Cloister, Sea Island, GA
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 restaurants in Sea Island
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Vibe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice bar and setting. The food was very good and service was adequate. Wine list seemed difficult to interpret. The pizzas were tasty. This may be a strange comment, but the food did not seem to have a lot of Italian qualities to it. I expected something more authentic. Otherwise, Travola is a good, safe choice for a nice night out with friends and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    12
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very warm, cozy and welcoming. Great bar. Nice wine list. Loved Chef Paolas wood oven pizza! Fresh, simple authentic italian food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We love Italian food and this was a great find. I had the homemade ravioli and my husband the fish of the day. The warm bread with olive oil was a great start. Enjoyed drinks at the bar first and had great service. Will be back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We waited forever for our food and it was not particularly spectacular. The beet salad should have been called 'Tons of Arugula with Beet Bits' and my eggplant dish was mediocre. I expect more from a high-priced hotel.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

All of the people in our group were well satisfied with their meals, which ranged from pizza to scallops over pasta.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavola also viewed

Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.